We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to describe in a title”
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We just spent four days at the Sylvia. If you are interested in a modest, but character filled experience in an incredible location, this is the place for you. It is an old heritage building that has been preserved and updated, but not so much that you lose the sense of history. At first it feels kind of like an upscale hostel, but the clientele proves that it appeals to a wide range of folks. Our room was quite small, but very clean. English Bay is steps away and Stanley Park is just around the corner. We will most definitely be back :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freeheeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Great scores, thank-you, happy to read that you will be returning. We are 100 years old and very proud of the fact that we are a heritage site and plan to keep the charm and feel of days long past. We hope always provide superior service to keep Guests coming back year over year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,055 - 1,061 of 1,500 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

What is more romantic than a trellis twined around a window of a hotel window built in the
1800's? Add to it the intense autumn colours of red and yellow and you are not transported
back in time but feel at home and at peace with the world. Such is the setting of the Sylvia
Hotel this autumn. It has the best view of English Bay, bar and restaurant with the same
view and a good mixture of locals and travellers. Even when it is busy, it is still the most
relaxing place to stay. A bit disappointinng is that not a the suites have coffee makers, or
hair dryers. However, there are ample restaurants, and some of the best--the Boathouse
Cactus Club and Milestones nearby.And to top it off; it is low season. Treat yourself!

Room Tip: Some suites do have coffee makers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HofCNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. The hotel was built in 1911-12 and had the grand opening in May of 1913. The fall is my favorite time as the rates are lower and you are still in the great location, plus when the leaves start to turn; you could cross the street and when the wind blows, looks like the entire hotel is on fire. We do offer a relaxing environment, thanks for mentioning it. On a side note, (all rooms have hair dryers) and we hope to add coffee markers in the rooms in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We hesitated long and hard before we made our reservation. We knew we wanted a bayside view but were unsure whether the extra cost would be worthwhile.
When we compared prices to the Best Western just a few blocks away, the difference would have bought the evening meal with the wine. But in the end we decided to pay the premium.
We are so glad that we did, at our arrival the receptionist was wonderful, superbly efficient and aslo upgraded us to a suite on the 2nd floor.
And then began 3 fabulous October days in a sunny and warm Vancouver. And the best part was always walking back across the bayside knowing we were staying in the beautiful building in front of of us.
The building is old, the corridors have seen many feet over the hundred years but to us it had more charm at every level than some enormous glass and stainless steel edifice on the other side of town. All the staff we met were truly excellent and we will return.

Room Tip: To get the full experience you really have to splurge for a bayside view and our corner suite was wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Love your title; I am so happy that you did decide to stay with us. By the sounds of your comments you feel that you made a good choice as well. I am always happy to read when guests see the value in the Sylvia Hotel with some of its quirks. You do pay more for rooms with a view and they are not always available but we do our best to give clients what they want. Thank-you for mentioning the staff. They are values by Management and Guests alike for the hard work and service they offer. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Sylvia is a lovely hotel with great service and location. You are right at English Bay and walking distance to Stanley Park. You literally cross the street and you are at the bay. Close to all amenities. The rooms are clean and quiet and they have quite a variety of rooms. They also have a patio to eat/drink and people watch. I have stayed several times and are always pleased we chose this hotel and location. Would stay again.

Room Tip: ask the staff what they offer for your needs. they are very helpful. We took a one and half bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Welcome back, nice review. Good room tip offered to the other readers. We always try to offer guests the room location and type as often as we can; however, being so busy it is sometimes impossible. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

The Sylvia Hotel is a 99-year-old building that was originally a luxurious apartment building on English Bay in Vancouver's West End. Now a very popular hotel, it sits just next to Vancouver's high rise jungle to the east and the world-famous Stanley Park starting just a couple of blocks west. The vine-covered eight-storey hotel has wonderful views of the bay, the beach, and the edge of the high rise condo/apartment district. It is a easy walk to Denman and Davie Streets with their unique shops, cafes, and street life, and not far from the upscale shopping and entertainment attractions of Robson Street.

We paid thirty dollars extra per night for a water view, and what we got was a large corner room with a city view as well. There were four large, double-hung windows which could be opened to let in the sounds of the city as well as fresh air. When closed, the room was extremely quiet. The bed was very comfortable, and there were ample chairs for relaxing in. The bathroom was very basic: sufficient, but if one expects spa-like facilities, one would be disappointed! The room was very clean, and housekeeping did a fine job of making up the room during our stay. One convenience I missed was an in-room coffee maker: a quick trip down to the restaurant for a $3.00 takeout, or a short and refreshing walk to a nearby Starbucks provided my caffeine fix!

We had eaten at Sylvia's Restaurant before, so we were more than ready to enjoy their excellent breakfasts and good service again. The view from the restaurant is great. A late-evening drink in the comfortable lounge was just the way to end a day in the city.

We would recommend the Sylvia for anyone who appreciates an historic building with a great staff in a wonderful city.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and comfortable; suites with kitchenettes are available for long-term stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAL46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

A well written review. I am sure other readers will gain some good information from your comments, Thank-you for posting some of your photos and informing our future guests about the great location and service you enjoyed during your stay at the Sylvia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

A train trip from Seattle to Vancouver, BC with an overnight at the Sylvia Hotel was a perfect tranquilizer for us. The Sylvia's room was large and quiet. The trees across the street in Stanley Park were beautiful autumn golds and reds. We ordered room service and hibernated for 24hrs.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sal206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Thank-you for making the Sylvia Hotel a part of your Romantic weekend away. We love the convenience of Vancouver to the people of Seattle and I agree a perfect place to "hibernate" even if for only 24 hours. We all need a break every once in a while. So happy that we could be a part of your down time. Great scores, hope to see you again when you need more time away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

The Sylvia Hotel is in a good location and within walking distance to the city centre at Vancouver. The staff are not particularly friendly but, alas, we found most people in this rather depressing city rather aloof. The room in the Hotel was very small and the bathroom was tiny. We found Vancouver cold, wet and filled with homeless people wandering the streets. The harbour does not have the beauty nor the sparkle of Sydney Harbour .. in fact, it isn't even in the same class as Sydney (sorry!). Whereas Sydney is an exciting, buzzing multicultural city with a lively harbour full of party boats, yachts and ferries, Vancouver has this "depressing" feel about it and a rather "dead" harbour ... it was very disappointing. Victoria, on the other hand, is gorgeous!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach are OK but can rather noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Thank-you for your review, however most of your comments might be better directed at the City of Vancouver as we do not have any influence on English Bay or the Harbour... Hope to see you again on your next trip to our area. As for the people, I have lived in Vancouver all my life and find my experience with the people in Vancouver has been much more enjoyable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#45 of 92 in Vancouver
1,469 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Robson Street
Times Square Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,515 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,759 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Address: 1154 Gilford St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £86 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing