We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to spend New Years Eve or any Eve”
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #33 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Burnaby, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to spend New Years Eve or any Eve”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

For New Years 2012/13 we stayed at the grand old gal on the beach the Sylvia Hotel , we have stayed there before and we have never been disapointed . This year for new years eve we took in the festivities in the lounge and restarant . The food and service that night were excellent , the music was good everyone danced in the new year and had a great time. We were surprised by the quality of the meal and extras that night for a light $45.00 per person.
We had so much fun and after we did the polar bear swim and got warmed up in the lounge we decided to stay one more night .
You will not be disapointed by the Sylvia she will give you a small feeling of what Vancouvers beach area used to be like , you just cant get that from new concrete and steel .
The staff as always was very welcoming and freindly.

Room Tip: The higher the better for the view of the water but the street view is fun too
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
What a great way to bring in the New Year. I was happy to see that you enjoyed your stay as well as the events planned that night. I have heard so many people say that they had the best time and really enjoyed the meal and service that night. I will post your comments for the staff to read as they all work so hard to ensure that all guests have a wonderful experience. You are a brave person to take part in the polar bear swim, being so close to the beach helps get you warmed after the dip into English Bay. Hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    583
    137
    49
    36
See reviews for
294
624
126
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

My wife and I love to spend a night in Vancouver a few times a year, combining a nice dinner out, an evening concert and then a short trip back to a nice hotel, rather than the hour plus drive home to the 'burbs. The Sylvia Hotel offered a Groupon special, so based on its reputation amongst our friends, it was a no brainer. We parked at the hotel (private underground) on a Saturday afternoon at check-in time and didn't move it again until we checked out the next day near 1100 AM. The Sylvia is located right on English Bay and nicely located because it was very quiet at night, but the center of activity during the sunny day; surrounded by cyclists, joggers and dog walkers. The staff were very friendly efficient. The restaurant, with its views of the bay, provided a terrific breakfast on checkout day. Considering that the building is over 100 years old, it is in great shape. Yes, the rooms might be a bit smaller by modern standards, but there's much to be said for 10 ft plus ceilings, crown mouldings and comfortable beds with clean linens. The #6 bus, a short walk from the front door, takes you to the center of downtown in 13 minutes. Lots of nearby restaurants and entertainment. Get a room facing the bay. Flat screen TV and no additional cost wireless wifi don't let you forget what century you're in. Will be back again...

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
I love it when I read comments from locals that stay with us. We have many guests that do exactly what you and your wife did, come into town, park the car, enjoy the event or city activity and then return to the Hotel for a great meal over looking English Bay and then an after dinner drink in the lounge. Thank-you for your comments about the staff and the service they offer, as I feel that they all work very hard to make sure that every Guest has a great experience at the Sylvia Hotel. We will always stay true to our heritage and hospitality and hope that all guests feel the same you way you did. Summer is coming, hope to see you again, maybe fireworks night?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2013

You can't go wrong with this hotel. I used my groupon to stay for the weekend and had a great experience. Great location , great view, has nostalgic feel to it. I would recommend it to anyone. Thanks Marvin!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Groupon was used for the first time at this hotel and we have noticed a lot of first timers staying with us. By your comments it looks like you will be back. I will tell Marvin you said thanks. Hope to see you again. Thank-you for the great comments and rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2013

First time stay at this historic and quaint hotel in the centre of vancouvers beautiful english bay!!!
Quiet, comfortable room overlooking the Bay looking dwn on joggers, cyclists and beaches. Near stanley park, shopping and restaurants. A real getaway from that cityish feeling, the staff is genuine and friendly with great service in the restaurant and hotel. We want to come back in the summer and do some cycling throughout the city and enjoy the beach and fireworks!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Welcome as a first time guest. Really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Summer is a great time to be at the Sylvia Hotel for all the reasons you mentioned, however there will be a lot more people in the summer. Hope you can come back, book early as we sell out every year from June thru September. THANKS again for your comments and scores.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We purchased a Groupon for the Sylvia to use when staying in Vancouver to attend a concert. My wife and I had both wanted to stay at the Sylvia for some time and this gave us the opportunity. Check-in was friendly and efficient and there was a convenient off-street area to unload luggage. The parking garage was well lit and clean. The lobby was welcoming; and as to be expected in a heritage building - warm wood tones and soft fabrics rather than glass and chrome.
We were given a two bedroom suite on the 7th floor and had ocean glimpses from the large windows. The two queen beds in the main room were very comfortable and we used the second bedroom as a dressing room. The bathroom was funky but functional with what appeared to be original tiling. The whole suite was beautifully clean and quiet. There did not appear to be a thermostat, but the windows opened easily so we could have as much fresh air as we wished.
The corridors although clean, are depressingly dingy and could benefit from lighter coloured paint, new dropped ceilings and lighting. The elevators are at best quirky and a little scary for some.
The bar and restaurant both have fabulous views across English Bay and the Strait of Georgia. Dinner, breakfast and drinks in the bar were all excellent and served by friendly staff who were attentive without being obtrusive. Considering the location and quality, the prices were very reasonable.
The location is spectacular and also convenient. Anywhere in downtown Vancouver including BC Place and the Rogers Arena appears to be accessible by taxi for under $15.
The Sylvia has real charm! We will be staying again.

Room Tip: A sea view room would be great if staying for more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thank-you for the nice description of the hotel. Thanks for mentioning the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff. I love the views of English Bay from the restaurant and lounge at this time of year. I was happy to hear that you also enjoyed the value of Donner and drinks. Looking forward to serving you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosedale BC Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The Sylvia was recommended by family who stay there often. As other reviewers have mentioned, I was surprised that the hallways had not seemed to be upgraded but the room was comfortable with a great bed and lots of windows looking out on to English Bay. Breakfast was good and the restaurant has a terrific view.
I think the Sylvia's strong points are its location and homey atmosphere. Walking through the lobby and overhearing other guests' conversation, it was evident that the Sylvia has many repeat visitors. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Thank-you for staying with us, yes we do have many repeat customers that are almost like family they stay so often, please thank the family members that recommended us. The hallways are in need of some upgrading as they are still the same since 1913, that was a part of the charm, however we feel that it is time to upgrade them and we hope do that some time this year. Happy that you enjoyed the service and view. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again for your comments and rating
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We bought a Groupon for use in the Winter for the Sylvia. We actually live in Langley (approximately 1 hour outside of Vancouver) and hoped to use our Groupon for the Sylvia for a quiet, kid-free night downtown.
We did our research and read the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking and were sadly disappointed when we arrived at the hotel. We knew the hotel was an old building so we had reasonable expectations. The location of the hotel is right on the water at English Bay and is likely quite wonderful in the summer months, but less so in the winter. Due to rain, we had to drive to Robson Street to do our shopping. This forced us to pay for parking not only at the hotel ($15), but also meter parking ($6/hr) while we shopped.

To be honest, when we entered our room we were not impressed. We agree, the hotel rooms are very clean as mentioned by other reviewers. We cannot complain about the cleanliness. The hotel hallways, however, are extremely old and unattractive and in desperate need of updating and repair. Our room did not have a view of the bay. It was simple and plain. It did have a flat screen tv. The bathroom was a decent size, but the toilet in it was directly beside the door in a tiny, dark alcove which left privacy much to be desired. The room was on the small side. It did not have a mini fridge or even drinking glasses in it. Within the first 5 minutes both my husband and I were attempting to book a different hotel using our cell phones. We decided to stay put and make the most our night downtown. After all, the hotel room was only going to be a place to rest our heads that night.

After returning from dinner and a movie, we went to bed and we felt the room got stuffy within 30 minutes and there was no air circulation or AC to control the room temperature. We attempted to go to sleep but were interrupted at 3:00 am by our neighboring room when they got in for the night. They were simply talking at a reasonable level and we could hear their ENTIRE conversation!! It was like we were sharing the same room! The walls must be paper thin in this hotel! You can hear people in neighboring rooms use the bathroom! After an hour of listening to our neighbors talking, my husband and I finally gave up and packed our stuff to drive home at 4:00 am! We didn't feel we could complain about people simply talking in their room. The hotel should be insulated enough to provide more privacy than that!

The staff was understanding enough and kind. They refunded our parking but did not refund our unused $20 food voucher that was part of the Groupon. The fellow at the front desk told us we could move rooms if we liked, but we were already packed up and would rather sleep soundly in our own home.

As I reread the other reviews I am surprised by many of them. We felt we did lots of research before buying this hotel Groupon and we were really surprised and disappointed by the building quality and the room. We are locals and know the area and we think out of town guests deserve a fair, up-to-date and realistic review. This hotel does NOT deserve 4 or 5 stars! I have never written a review on a hotel before, but felt compelled to do so this time. Buyer beware!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingMommy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank-you for your comments about your stay with us. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Thank-you for mentioning the good service and friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms. I am sorry that you felt that the walls were thin and you could hear the people next door at night. I do not get this complaint from other guests however I will look into your concern about the room you booked to see if any changes are needed. Being 100 years old the hotel does not appeal all guests, however if you read the other reviews you will see that we more than satisfy most Guests that stay with us. Sorry you will not be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#48 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,436 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#47 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Property: Sylvia Hotel
Address: 1154 Gilford St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing