We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming indeed!”
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Charming indeed!”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed for a weekend at the Sylvia recently, and enjoyed it very much! We had a corner room at the front of the hotel, so there was plenty of light and stunning views of English Bay. Our room had a kitchen and living room area as well, which we really enjoyed. The bed was comfy, and everything was clean and in order. Of course, the hotel is old, but that just adds to the charm in our opinion. And for a truly lovely taste of Vancouver, you can't beat this location! We enjoyed walks along the beach, in Stanley Park, and to Robson Street from the hotel. The breakfast in the restaurant was good, and again, the views of English Bay make for a special dining experience. We would love to come back and enjoy this hotel again!

Room Tip: Our corner room at the front of the hotel was large and bright, with stunning views of English Bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thank-you for your comments, I love the room type you stayed in. The location is also great as most people mention in their comments. I will pass along your comments about you food and Beverage comments to the Chef and post in our lunch room for the crew to read. You said "you will be back" and we will look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    614
    146
    54
    37
See reviews for
308
653
127
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We love staying at the Sylvia Hotel on English Bay in Vancouver, B.C. As is usual for us we were there during February in order to catch a glimpse of Spring in the midst of our Winter. The Sylvia Hotel is welcoming and quaint. This year we upgraded our room to one with a Bayside View. We found it was worth every extra dollar we spent. Not only did we have several windows in our room but looking out over the Bay at any time during the day and night, rain or shine, was absolutely wonderful! The sight of several ships on any given day warmed our hearts. Proximity to the Seawall and Stanley Park is also a plus. We highly recommend staying at the Sylvia Hotel.

Room Tip: As stated above, This year we upgraded our room to one with a Bayside View. We found it was worth e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catharine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Welcome back, I was happy to read that you were able to stay in a room with a view. Vancouver is perfect to get away from winter in areas in BC that are experiencing bad weather. It is important to me that you see the value in your stay with us. Your comments about "worth every dollar" means we are doing things right. We hope to see you again before next winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

I have always admired the Sylvia for its old style and perfect location. We used a Groupon for our stay this weekend and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is 100 years old but is in good shape, we had a corner room on the back side and loved how quiet it was and still had a view of the ocean. The room size was good as was the bathroom, the toilet was a tight squeeze but fine and the walls are thin, we could hear the people beside us talking. The bed was very comfortable and clean, we are used to king size we had a queen with the Groupon, we managed. The elevator was not pleasant, old and a little smelly, but how much time do you spend there? Not any amenities but you certainly cannot beat the location, within walking distance of everything. Breakfast was very nice, could improve your coffee, it was pretty bad. Had a lovely stay and would recommend this hotel to visitors as well as local suburbanites.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank curiousmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank-you for staying with us, I see that you used the Group on special for your stay. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your room; yes some of the bathrooms are small but in a 100 year old building, changes like that hard to make. We will re- modeling the hallways soon and that should make a noticeable difference. Our beds are very comfortable as my view is that "we sell sleep" so we have to have great beds. I will mention to the chef and Food and Beverage Manager your comments about the coffee. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

It is quite old and has not too many amenities but the location is great! I love the large open window in the restaurant/bar looking onto English Bay. They upgraded my room as well that was great!! The bathrooms were small and the shower not so great but all in all in was comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thank-you staying with us, so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay; we are hoping to upgrade the hallways this spring. The restaurant and lounge do have excellent views of English Bay. Hope you will be back soon. Thank-you for the good scores and rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed two nights as part of the Dine-out Vancouver deal. As many people comment about the age of the building, My response would be "really" it is old, but the location and the service and of course being very pet friendly makes up for any other shortcomings. Thanks for the great service and we will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are quite small, we had one with a sofa and the room was just the right size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank-you for joining us for dine out and staying the extra night. We are the only hotel in Vancouver that does not charge extra for pets and have been pet friendly for over 40 years. Thank-you for your kind comments about the service provided by my crew, they really do care about offering the very best in customer service and for that I am very thankful. We hope to see you again soon and please bring your pet...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Stayed here previously and love the great location, though the hotel is starting to show its age, rooms are small but bathrooms are updated. They take pets but at the last minute we left ours with friends.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side, away from the ocean are a lot quieter from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ****
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thanks for staying with us. The location in Vancouver can not be any better if you want to be on the beach and close to downtown with out having to be in the heart of the city. On your next visit please ask to see another room if you require more space. We have rooms that are smaller than others but most are larger than the average sized hotel room. The bathrooms in all room are small due to the age of the Hotel. Thanks for the room tip that others will find useful. Look forward to your next visit to the Sylvia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stayed three nights at the Sylvia and enjoyed it. I would stay here again, in fact, I might bring some friends up to the hotel in the Spring, because it's a good value and the location is superb.

This is an older hotel that has been upgraded. Rooms are adequate, but not deluxe and show a few signs of age, though overall they're quite comfortable and also very quiet. My room was very large, with very comfortable king-size bed and a couch and coffee table. The bathroom was clean and modern. Some parts of the hotel - hallway to rooms, stairway, elevator - simply need to be upgraded, though there's nothing egregious. If you've stayed in an older hotel in San Fran or New York, you'll be fine. If you're used to staying at modern, upscale 4 and 5 star properties, you might be disappointed.

The hotel has a truly nice bar / lounge area that serves drinks and salads / sandwiches, and also a very good restaurant that offers upscale entrees in addition to what is available in the bar. Our group had dinner in the restaurant one evening and both food and service were great, in fact, our server was outstanding.

Service throughout the hotel was good. Nice staff at the check-in counter.

The location of the hotel cannot be beat. It's in a peaceful area perhaps two hundred feet off the water, at the edge of gorgeous Stanley Park. Just walk out the front door and pick up any number of trails into the park, or the main walking path along the beach. It's a three minute walk to Denman street, where you'll find dozens of independent restaurants, a supermarket, pharmacy, etc. A few more blocks away and you're in the heart of downtown Vancouver, which means high-end restaurants and lots of shopping.

If you've never visited Vancouver, you'll be pleasantly surprised. It's a beautiful city that is calm and clean, with quality people.

-DS

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 351C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Thanks for staying with and writing a review. I can tell that you are an experienced traveler by how well you described your stay. I will forward your comments to the Chef and Food and Beverage Manager as they always like to hear comments about how well their crew preformed. In fact I will post your comments in the lunch room as you mentioned all the crew in your comments. Like other guests you also see the value of our location. Thank-you so much for your great scores and comments, hope to see you again on your next visit to Vancouver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#47 of 92 in Vancouver
1,400 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
1,700 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,718 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Property: Sylvia Hotel
Address: 1154 Gilford St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing