We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Sylvia is a comfortable old hotel right on English Bay and a block from Stanley Park. It's the perfect place to stay in Vancouver, because of its warm welcome, its price, and above all, its location, which is in a neighborhood full of house and apartments, not the hustle and noise of, say, Robson or Burrard Streets, and not down where all the cruise ships leave. Yet it's easy to walk anywhere from here in greater Vancouver, or you can use the direct phone in the lobby to have a cab arrive in a minute. The rooms are large with comfortable beds; the bar is great; the restaurant bright and airy. We were there during the hot summer of 2013, and though the rooms lack AC, we stayed cool because the building dates from the early part of the last century and the thick walls kept the heat out. No place in Vancouver is inexpensive, but the Sylvia delivers first class comfort and service at a reasonable price. It's lovely and definitely a keeper.

Room Tip: See if you can get to the higher floors with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank-you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Your kind words about the staff will be posted in the lunch room. Thank-you for mentioning the great beds we have because I believe that we sell "sleep" so the beds have to be very good. I hope that we will be able to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    606
    143
    52
    36
See reviews for
300
648
126
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

my wife and I stayed here for one night in late July with a large dog. The location could not be better if you have a dog , plenty of walks and grass around.The staff were very welcoming and the lady on reception clearly loved dogs , the room was at the back with no view but a good size and quite cool since there is no air conditioning , rooms at the front although with a view must have been quite warm .It was another hot sunny day in Vancouver as it was for most of July.
We had to keep the windows open but since the room was on the second floor there was considerable noise from people walking past , talking loudly until around midnight or later so took some time to get to sleep. We ate in the restaurant and although the prices were average for the area the food was very average as well, not worth the price. We had room service bring breakfast to our room in the morning since we were leaving fairly early and it was very poor, it was only lukewarm and had clearly being standing for some time before being brought up to our room. If the food had been better then I would have given 4 stars . Location and staff were great , rest was average or poor. Would only stay again if we were travelling with a dog but would not eat here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilson015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank-you for mentioning that we are a pet friendly hotel, in fact I think that we are the only hotel in Vancouver that does not charge for pets. You are correct that we do not AC in the rooms but like other have said they like the fresh air. I would be interested in hearing back from you about your comments on the food or you could get in touch with the Food and Beverage Manager as I know she would be very interested in hearing your comments. Please also mention your experience with room service. We look forward to seeing you again on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This hotel is in the ideal location to explore Vancouver, the West End, Stanley Park, Robson Street and is located near to many exquisite restaurants and bars. The lounge at the Sylvia is situated right across the street from the beach and is a great place to 'people watch' for hours. The restaurant is pleasant and has some good standards like the braised shortribs. The only drawback to the hotel is some of the rooms are a little outdated but work in continueing to bring them all up to date.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
I also enjoy people watching from the Restaurant and Lounge as people walk and run along the beach on their way to Stanley Park. The food is great thanks for mentioning it; I will pass along your comments to the Food and Beverage Manager and Chef. The rooms in the hotel are not all the standard size as we have so many room types that if you require a curtain size or have special needs always ask the staff and they will looking what is available to try and match your needs to the available room inventory. We hope you will return for another visit and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We loved our stay at Sylvia Hotel! The location on English Bay is great for watching sunset, taking walks and relaxing after a day of touring Vancouver. This was our second stay & the "family room" in corner of 7th floor was roomy (separate bedroom with double bed) with beds for couple and 2 adult kids. Lots of windows and no air conditioning, just fresh air. 1 block off Denman St. where there are lots of small restaurants, bars and even Safeway. We used bus, taxi, and walking to get around town. Great stay for reasonable rate in big city!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as it's nice to open windows, but can get a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucklulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank-you for writing a view about your stay with us. I was happy to read that you were able to get around the city and come back to enjoy the food and beverage in the hotel and night and see the beautiful sunsets of English Bay. I have noticed more and more commenting how much they love the fact that they can open the windows for fresh air instead of the forced air from an AC unit. We all hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

love this hotel, quaint charm with modern day amenities. Service was very courteous and all of our needs were accommodated The location is the best for all of your needs, including the fireworks and the Pride parade, My only request would be to clean the carpet in our room but other than that this will be the hotel of choice when staying in Vancouver ..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank-you for taking time to write a review. I see you were here for fire works and the pride parade. What a great time to be in Vancouver, and to be at the Sylvia so close to all the action is a bonus. I will look into your concern about the carpet? Thanks for mentioning it. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We booked at the Sylvia in December for the fireworks night on August 3rd. I received an email confirmation the day before. Imagine our shock when we arrived a bit early to learn that the hotel had overbooked and did not have a room for us! They even had a manager of another, much less quality hotel, at the desk, waiting to walk me over to his hotel. The front desk person kept saying, "It's $100.00 cheaper there.." as if that made up for being bumped. Because it was the night of the fireworks, many hotels were fully booked, but I was told to "go ahead and start shopping around if I wanted." The hotel we were bumped to was a 2*, and we both slept in our clothes (but that's another review)... Not quite the romantic holiday that I planned many months ago.

The desk manager of the Sylvia was willing to offer us a mere 20% discount on our next stay, which I thought was inadequate and patronizing. Appropriate compensation should be provided for the disruption, time, and stress it caused. High calibre hotels with solid reputations generally pay for the night's stay and at least find a hotel of the same or higher quality for the dislaced guests. Neither was offered.

I expected way more from the management and staff at the Sylvia. Next time I will not rely on an email confirmation and will call personally. Very disappointing and certainly not welcoming or apologetic staff -- I heard more excuses than apologies.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CDCVictoria_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel across the street, but like you mentioned there were very few hotel rooms available in the city on fireworks nights. First, I have to say that you were "bumped" because you did not provide a current active credit card to secure your room. The credit card you gave us was denied and therefore not valid to secure your reservation on the busiest night of the year because of the fire works. The offer of 20% discount was to show good faith as the hotel can not be responsible for your error in not providing a valid credit card. All hotels cancel reservations that are not secure and resell the rooms to ensure all rooms are sold. If this was in anyway the fault of the hotel we would have handled this differently. Should you have any other comments or questions I would encourage you to call me directly to discuss further. A note to all guests when booking a room in a hotel you must ensure that the credit card you give to secure your room is valid for the time that you will arrive in the hotel to avoid what happened to this guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Staff are amazing and courteous. The room is so clean. The updates are beautiful. The view is spectacular. Room service was delighful, the dinner and dessert was fine dining with large portiond. So impressed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franzmane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank-you for your comments about your recent stay with us. I was happy to read that you enjoyed the room service and desserts in the restaurant. The staff I feel work very hard to exceed our guest’s expectations and when a guest writes a review and mentions the crew I know that we are on the right track. We look forward to serving you again on your return visit to the Sylvia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,375 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 92 in Vancouver
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
1,669 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,522 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Property: Sylvia Hotel
Address: 1154 Gilford St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing