We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sylvia Hotel
Nearby Hotels
St. Regis Hotel(Vancouver)
US$294
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel BLU(Vancouver)
US$283
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$244
US$229
Suttonplace.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Blue Horizon Hotel(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Opus Hotel(Vancouver)
US$260
US$239
Opus Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Burrard(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$232
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$271
US$202
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$287
US$250
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sunset Inn and Suites(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$238
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,566)
Filter reviews
1,566 results
Traveller rating
641
671
159
57
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
641
671
159
57
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstanley parkoverlooking english bayhistoric hoteldenman streetwest endthere is no air conditioningsea wallgranville islandan older hotelcan't beat the locationamazing locationlots of restaurantscorner roomvisit vancouverfew blocksloungeseawall
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
877 - 882 of 1,566 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Located right on English Bay next to Stanley Park and walking distance to Granville Island. This is the second time we've stayed at the Sylvia and we will likely stay there next time we are in Vancouver. The desk staff was great. One of our rooms was in the old section and it was huge and the other was in the new section and more than adequate. For a hotel that was built more than 100 years ago, it is in amazing condition. The restaurant is okay and the bar is great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grampafish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

I liked you header, the location is one of the best in the city to be close to everything but far enough away to not feel that you are downtown. The tree lined street and access to the beach is a favorite of our Guests. I hope that you will return again soon. Thank-you for taking the time to write a few comments as most Guests read the reviews before booking a hotel. I appreciate the support. Always call the hotel directly for the best rates and room types as we do not always put all room types on line.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My son and I stayed at the Sylvia Hotel for two nights during a recent visit to Vancouver. This historic hotel is situated directly across the road from the beach in English Bay in an area that allows for easy access to both the city amenities and the natural beauty of Vancouver, including the sea side beaches, walking/running/biking path and Stanley Park. The hotel has retained its historic character, so is going to appeal to those who can appreciate this sort of charm. We were delighted to be given a corner room on the 8th floor with a stunning view toward the beach and ocean in one direction, and the city in the other. It was beautiful both day and night. Our hotel room was small, basic and comfortable. My only complaint about the room is that it was uncomfortably hot unless the windows were wide open (and then I wondered if a seagull would come in :) It's also worth noting how quiet and peaceful it was in our room, with very little apparent city noise. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was lovely. While the food was 'to be expected', the view from the restaurant (try to get a window front table) of the beach and ocean was peaceful and happy. This hotel may not appeal to everyone, but will to those who appreciate a unique and historic hotel with lots of character in an ideal location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coasting2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thanks for spending time with your son at the Sylvia Hotel. We are a heritage site and the building is over 102 years old with the charm of days gone by. The views of English Bay from the Restaurant and lounge are great to watch the sun set. We hope that you will return again soon and stay with us. Thank-you for your comments and scores.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife, 19-year-old daughter and I recently stayed at the Sylvia Hotel for five nights. The location couldn't have been better. Every day we walked the beach in English Bay and from there to downtown or Stanley Park, or Granville Island and Science World via the False Creek ferry. The two of them participated in the 8 km run that is part of the Vancouver Marathon and the start was four blocks from the hotel. The neighbourhood was fantastic. Denman and Davie have great shops and restaurants and a choice of grocery stores with Whole Earth not far away on Robson as well. We loved our suite and prepared many of our meals in the kitchen. The only sour notes were an intermittent Wifi and an (inevitably) uncomfortable sofa bed. The hotel did provide a cot which was an improvement. We would highly recommend the hotel for its location, location, location, charm, convenience, and service.

Room Tip: The suites with a kitchen provide more space and convenience for a family.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDELL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

The location is a favorite for any guests in Vancouver that want to be close to English Bay and Stanley Park. The Kitchen units are very popular with people that are staying more than one night and want to cook a few meals to help off set the costs of eating out every night while in Vancouver. I was happy to read that you had a great time while here and I hope that you will return soon as this is going to be a very busy summer. Remember to always book directly with the Hotel to get the best deals and room types.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at the Sylvia Hotel last month to attend an e vent in downtown Vancouver. We had heard that the Hotel had a "retro-vibe" and an excellent location but both terms do not do the Hotel justice. First of all, in terms of location, if you are able to do ANY degre of walking at all, the Sylvia is the best located hotel in Vancouver proper at ANY price point. The hotel is directly located across the street from English Bay and in close proximity to the much-acclaimed Granville Island with its foodie boutiques and shops. And that "road" is not a near-interstate busy freeway as is so often thte case: rather it is a moderately used avenue with many pedestrian cross walks. Once on the other side of the road, you are right on the Vancouver Seawall which permits you to walk, cycle or just hang out on a wide pedestrian promenade that wraps around STanley Park (Vancouver's answer to NYC's Central Park with the added bonus of stunning sea and mountain scapes (take that Manhatten!!!)). Also, the Sylvia is in the heart of the Davies Street district with incredible dining; everything from genuine chinese to old-world french with prices to suit every budget. Finally, you are about a 15 minute walk to the bustling Robson Street shopping district with its wonderful boutiques. As for the Sylvia, if you ever wondered what it would be like to go back in time and be a character in a Sam Spade detective novel, you'll die for this place!!!! There are two very snug elevators that even come with the old fashioned floor indicators that look like clocks. You may even note the hotel office's with frosted glass and gold stencilling: I have expected to see one that said Spade Detective Services!!!. The on-site restaurant has a fantastic view of English Bay and the food is fine and very affordable. The on-site lounge offers live entertainment most nights and it is not the type of entertainment that attracts "fringe" characters or shakes the Sylvia. On the nights we were there a wonderful jazz singer entertained wonderfully. I almostg forgot, the Sylvia caters to pet owners with no pet surcharge and many areas to walk your four-legged pal immediately around the hotel. The Hotel is in a very upscale locale and walking around with rover is a treat for both pet and owner. As for the rooms, they are very nicely updated with comfortable beds, modern bathrooms and totally spotless. There are all the modern amenities such as Wifi, HD TV etc. In short, unless you are addicted to uber-contemporary digs the Sylvia is an incredible find. For those of us who think of what life was like in the pre-War years, you will think you've been transported back in time (but with all the modern conveniences). The staff are wonderfully helpful and friendly. SO save yourself a few hundred dollars of the upsacle chain hotels and give the Sylvia I try I doubt you will regret it!

Room Tip: Views from the south facing rooms are exquisite but vrooms on the north side are quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank transc0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank-you for writing a great review, I could not have written it better myself. I mentioned the location, pet friendly (and that we do not charge extra) the cleanliness of the hotel and the service you received. I will post your comments in the lunch room for the crew to read as they all work so hard to exceed our guests expectation. We are a heritage site and so some of the rooms and bathrooms may be smaller than most but they are clean as you mentioned. Remember when you book the Sylvia Hotel always call the hotel directly to get the best rates and room types as we do not always post all room types on line. Hurry back and book early as this will be a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

As former Vancouverites back in the day(1960's-1970's) we used to frequent the Boho-style Sylvia Hotel Bar.In the late 80's moved to the Okanagan for careers. Flash-forward to the 2014's(Yikes!!!!), and picking up a young nephew from Switzerland, we needed to stay in Vancouver for 5 days.Knowing the location of the Sylvia--across the street from English Bay--walking distance for your evening stroll to Stanley Park--not to mention just about everywhere else(!), the look of a Cotswold style Hotel with Ivy on the outside and yes!--they take pets--what is there NOT to like? The hotel staff were excellant and the right degree of quirky to make us feel right at home and our room(s) was extremely spacious, comfortable and airy. We live in a heritage house so were delighted by the original feel and authentic touches. Found the restaurant was also really terrific for breakfast--food and price-wise. We'll definitey be back--have travelled around the world and feel for the price, location and atmosphere--this is the best stay in Vancouver!

Room Tip: Corner rooms really airy and comfortable--also old wing.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoffeFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Welcome back, being 102 years old means that a lot of friends of the Sylvia are still out here, coming back after so many years and still enjoying the location and service. Thank-you for a well written review and great scores and rating. I was happy to read that you liked the heritage and style of the Sylvia Hotel with all it's style and quirks. We hope you will not wait another 20-30 years to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews