We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our old friend, Sylvia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #33 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our old friend, Sylvia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Another trip to Vancouver and it wouldn't be the same without another visit with our old friend the Sylvia Hotel. The old lady is showing some wrinkles - who wouldn't at that age - but as usual she was warm, welcoming, ultra-clean and nicely familiar. With English Bay, those ships at anchor, that stunning seafront walk all round Stanley Park, gorgeous sunsets, the Aquabus a short stroll away and the bustle of Denman Street right on the doorstep, we just love that location.

Over the years we have taken several tours around the area and the Sylvia has been on the pickup/drop off route every time which is a great bonus since it is not downtown. It's an ideal location to take a car-less vacation and still enjoy everything Vancouver has to offer. If you have a car, there is parking on site though.

The hotel offers free wi-fi in the rooms and a computer at reception - a modern old lady!

There are occasional minor hiccups - like really late housekeeping, cranky elevators - but this hotel has consistently given us good old-fashioned comfort, convenience and value for money during the past 14 years since we paid our first visit to Vancouver.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dzumbino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank-you for such a well written review, I love the fact that you refer to us as a friend, can not get any better than that in my opinion. It always makes me happy when guests write about the service of my crew, the cleanliness of the rooms and hotel and of course the location. Being away but close to downtown is also mentioned a lot by other guests, being on a tree lined street on the beach and close to Stanley park does make our location special. I noticed that you stayed more that 1 night, in these cases the stay rooms are always done last as we need to clean the check out rooms first to get them ready for the next guests, (I think that most hotels do it that way?) if you do require your room to be done early please ask at the front desk and we can make that happen. When booking always remember to call the hotel directly to get the best rates and room types.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    564
    131
    49
    34
See reviews for
286
592
122
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here 35 some odd years ago (before kids), and had a chance to re-visit. Still great. Location is across the street from English Bay beaches, walked to FIsh House in Stanley Park, strolled along Denman at noon - smells of all of the foods from the little restaurants is amazing. Comfortable rooms, bed was very good, nice sleep, Bathroom is a little tight, but otherwise room met our needs nicely (two adults only)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Gene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Welcome back after 35 years, we are still here and going strong, in fact I have staff that have been here since you last stayed with us. You are correct, we do have so many restaurants with in walking distance with so many choices and tastes and smells of great food. Did you try our wonderful new menu in the restaurant and enjoy the views of English Bay? We hope that you will not wait for another 35 years to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

If you are looking for a good location in Vancouver to visit and sight see this is a great Hotel for you, also the beds and pillows, blankets are awesome so comfy! The rooms were very clean and nice! But if you are in a new relationship trip that you're not very intimate yet, be aware that the bathrooms don't have a vent. So it can be a little awkward or you have to wait to be alone to use the bathroom.
The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful.
Good experience overall.

Room Tip: Do not get the smallest room. it is way too small. I upgraded the same night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Like others have written, the locations is a great place to call home base while exploring the city. Thank-you for mentioning the comfortable sleep that you had as we do " sell sleep" and having a great comfy bed and great linen is a must. My staff work so hard to keep the 100 year old building clean to a very high standard so thanks for mentioning it. The bathroom vents are vented to the roof as being a heritage site we could not add vents and fans to every room as in a modern building. So we hope to see you again soon. I will post your comments about the friendly staff in the lunch room for them to read.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Although this hotel looks stuffy, in a vintage sort of way, the staff were more than welcoming of our young family. Since it did not start its life as a hotel, the rooms are often oddly configured. Our 'one and a half room' room gave a little extra space for our family to spread out. If you are able to book a waterfront room, I would recommend it, as the views are gorgeous. A refrigerator was provided at a small charge (one that actually worked!) so that we did not have to eat out every meal. The Sylvia is in a beautiful walking neighborhood, and is very quiet at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Li B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
You are correct, we do have many different sized rooms do to the long heritage of the Hotel and many changes it has gone thru over the 102 years. However with that being said the service has always been the same, my staff work very hard to serve our guests. Some rooms are very large (compared to most hotel rooms in the city) and some are smaller than the others. So depends on how much space you need and if you need a view of English Bay or not or a kitchen unit for those guests wanting to stay for more than a day or two to help off set the costs of eating out every night. Remember to always call the hotel directly top book your rooms for the best rate and room type. Thank-you for taking the time to write a review and offer your scores and rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My whole family has been checking into the Sylvia when we are in Vancouver for many years now. We only live 75 miles north in Whistler, but when any of us have a late night concert or party in Vancouver we check into the Sylvia. The location on English Bay cannot be beaten, the prices are reasonable, and the staff are helpful and personable. The restaurant is also good -- a great place to relax over breakfast and watch the runners around English Bay. Old, but with personality and the best location in Vancouver.

Room Tip: For value request the VIP Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We are a great hotel for families to stay and we have so many people that were introduced to the Sylvia by their grandparents and they introduce the Sylvia to their children, we have had 5 generations of the same family stay with us over the years. The views and location are mentioned a lot by our guests and I love that fact that most guests also mention the cleanliness of the rooms and the service offered by my staff. They all work so hard to please every Guests. As a part of the Sylvia family thank-you and we hope that you will be attending a concert over the summer and we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The Sylvia is the place to stay if one wants to be surrounded by natural beauty and near very walkable and interesting streets with lots of wonderful eateries and shops--the streets in this West End neighborhood are full of life.

The hotel is a few steps away from the amazing Seawall and is situated on English Bay and English Bay Beach, a great urban beach. Stanley Park is very close and other "must see" attractions are nearby.

The hotel is a historic building with lots of character. Breakfast in the multi-level dining room provides a view of the Bay for everyone. Overall,service was very good.

I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. My only complaint: our room was next to the elevator and it could be heard but fortunately it did not keep us awake. Even so, it was a bit of a distraction. I recommend asking for a room away from the elevator and preferably one with a full view of the Bay although I think all the views from this hotel are fine.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wowistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We are so lucky to have such a great location so close to downtown with out all the noise and traffic. The restaurant has been getting some very good reviews since we updated our menu, plus like you mentioned the views are great from the Restaurant, Bistro and lounge. We do only have a few rooms with views of English Bay and with the trees across the street growing over the 100 years in the summer you must be above the 6th floor, however you are only steps away from the beach from any room. We hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great staff, great food, great location.
We live in the Fraser Valley and wanted a night downtown. I felt like a tourist in my own city. We went for many walks on the beach and had a nice quiet evening in their lounge. This is not a typical "North American Hotel" It has charm and History.
I stayed here one other evening as I was out with friends and did not want to drive home. They were staying in the hotel so wanted to do the same. I asked the reception and they do have a single bedroom for those such occasions and it was not as expensive as a regular room. It was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forrbendCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Welcome to the Sylvia, more and more people from the valley are doing the same, "being a tourism in your own town" and I often here how they comment that they should do this more often. I feel the Sylvia Hotel can offer that kind of experience and you would be across from the beach of English Bay. The hotel often gets comments about how clean the hotel is for being over 100 years old, my staff are excellent and work very hard to exceed guests experiences, so thank-you for mentioning it. We are only 100 miles away from the valley so more people should do the same and experience more of our wonderful city. Thank-you for your comments, hurry back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
#47 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Times Square Suites Hotel
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,392 reviews
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#13 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Property: Sylvia Hotel
Address: 1154 Gilford St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing