We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasant experience”
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #34 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a pleasant experience”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before and have always enjoyed the experience. The location cannot be beat and the staff is friendly and the food in the lounge and in the restaurant is always good. We had a bonus this time with the live jazz music that was played in the lounge the night we stayed there. There is always a bit of a question whether the elevator will arrive or not when the button is pushed but usually it does come eventually and it is a good reason to use the stairs.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite small and have very small bathrooms that you must step up into and out of. Mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Welcome back and thank-you for continuing to book with us. Remember to always call the hotel directly to get the best rooms and rates. I was happy to read that you enjoyed the food and service in the lounge. The live jazz was well received by all guests that weekend, we do offer live music every Wednesday and Thursday nights in the lounge between 8-10pm. I hope that you will return soon so we can serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    588
    139
    51
    36
See reviews for
297
629
126
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great location, nice rooms with windows that open to let in a breeze, but the bathroom is terribly small. For someone on a last minute getaway before knee replacement surgery the proximity of the toilet to the counter is a big problem. It's impossible for me to squeeze into the space and bend my knee enough to make it work. I usually don't ask for handicapped rooms, but when I saw it - and tried it - I asked about getting a handicapped room and was told the hotel doesn't have those types of rooms. When I asked about being transferred to a different room with a different bathroom set up I was informed the hotel was fully booked for the night. The only solution is for me to use the restroom off the lobby. It's not such a big deal during the day as we've been sitting on a bench across the street most of the afternoon but I do worry about tonight. Trips downstairs in my nightgown every time I have to use the restroom will be quite embarrassing and isn't what I would have expected when I'm paying for a room. If you're handicapped, make sure you check with the hotel about the bathroom setup so you don't wind up like me.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DebzDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank-you for taking time to write your comments about your experience at the Sylvia Hotel. We are a heritage site and the hotel is over 102 years old so the bathrooms are small and very clean, not all bathrooms are as small as the room you stayed in and if we were sold out we could have moved you to a room with a larger space to make it more comfortable for you. I might mention in the future if you have special needs or requirements always call the hotel directly when making your reservation to make that requests and in most cases we would be able to meet those requests. Plus if you call the hotel directly you would be offered the best rooms at the best rates vs booking on line. I sorry for your inconvenience with your injury. Please book with us again and mention your experience so that we can better serve you and your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We love the Sylvia
We stay often!
It's right on English Bay!
Best international food is a block away!
Granville island a nice walk and ferry ride.
My hair dresser is in VC!
Live in WA!
Sylvia is perfect for me, clean, helpful staff. Location plus!
Enjoy!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Iwamisea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Welcome back and I enjoyed reading your review, you covered all the main points that most readers find interesting, great location, clean rooms and helpful staff. I hope you will return again this summer as the city of Vancouver has so many great events going on all summer and the weather is forecasted to be good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Wonderful old hotel. Staff were friendly, location is terrific, cost is very reasonable, and the retro feel is priceless. I can't imagine staying anywhere else when in Vancouver. Walking distance to the best of Vancouver.

Room Tip: The one I had was great, don't know about others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
A great review, thank-you, I am so happy that we have earned your loyalty and that you enjoy the service and location. We will always be true to our heritage and keep offering a different style of accommodation that is offered by the chain hotels. Hurry back so we can serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We only stayed 1 night here but wow. Staff is really nice. The hotel is amazingly situated: water front with an amazing view, near many shops restaurants and bars. The room was clean and very nice. I'd come back and stay here again for sure.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Quan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
WOW, I love the fact that WOW says it all in your review. I was happy to read that you will be back and that you found the Hotel friendly and clean. Our location is popular and with the beach steps away it is easy to relax while staying at the Sylvia Hotel. Please remember to always call the hotel directly to get the best rate and room types. Thanks for writing your comments and hurry back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

First impressions are of a rather dull interior but DONT be put off- the Sylvia is quaint and retro and extremely quiet and comfortable- ask for a room on the west side so you get a breeze in the thoughtfully netted windows and very little, if any, street noise. Down side street to one of best Italian restaurants we have been to- Adesso on Haro St where you can eat in the garden. Close to Stanley Park- try the Fish House in the park even if you don't eat fish as they do everything- fab setting and nice food. We swam for ages in the Second Beach open air pool which is close to the Sylvia. Great breakfast so no need to go out and nice bar in evening, inside or on terrace. It was perfect for us and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for side street room so you get a breeze and no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katetkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
It sounds like you had a great time while in Vancouver, thank-you for staying with us. The closeness to Stanley Park and the pool and the beach is always a popular reason to stay that the Sylvia Hotel. I was happy to read that you mentioned the food and beverage department and how much you enjoyed the food and service. Relaxing and taking advantage of everything we have to offer is the best way to have a great time while being in Vancouver. We hope to see you soon and remember to always call the hotel directly to get the best price and room type available for the nights to you need to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I love the Sylvia Hotel. The ivy covered exterior gives it a charm like no other hotel in Vancouver. The rooms are lovely and the beds are wonderful. All the staff are friendly, courteous and helpful. Room service is great and the food tasty and well-priced. One of the best features of the hotel is the location. It is right across the street from English Bay park with a beach, a pedestrian walk and a bike path. Stroll up the street a block or so and you are in Stanley Park! Stroll the other way and you are at the famous Laughing People statues and the great restaurants and liveliness of Denman Street. I love the old fashioned aspects of this hotel and I always feel comfortable when I stay there. It's my home away from home in Vancouver.

Room Tip: The queen suite I stayed in was great... with a small kitchen, a table, a sitting area, a wide scree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
I enjoyed reading your review, Charming and comfortable....says a lot. the restaurant has great views of English Bay and the hotel location with the beach right across the street is a favorite of most guests. We hope that you will return soon and remember to always book directly with the Sylvia Hotel to get the best rates and room types as we do not put all rooms on third party web sites. Thank-you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#47 of 90 in Vancouver
1,344 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 90 in Vancouver
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 90 in Vancouver
1,401 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,481 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 90 in Vancouver
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Property: Sylvia Hotel
Address: 1154 Gilford St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing