We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of my best hotels ever”
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of my best hotels ever”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Sylvia is a wonderful hotel - we had a small suite (422) which was excellent value, lovely views, very nice bed and linen, good wifi ... charm with convenient location. Very obliging reception. Only comment was some late night noise but that is the price you pay for fresh air from real windows that open ...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwimiriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
I could not have written a better header for your comments, " one of my best hotels ever" is very high praise. Short and to the point, great value and location plus a friendly staff, looks like you covered all the bases. Remember to always get the best value call the hotel directly for best rates and room types. Hurry back it looks like it will be a great summer on English Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    606
    144
    52
    36
See reviews for
302
648
126
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

After having had wonderful stays at the Sylvia many times in the past, I had a disappointing visit this Spring, during renovations when I was put in a small, musty room with no views out the one uncovered window. However, I just stayed there on July 3, and I again had a wonderful experience again. I was upgraded to a spacious suite with lovely views of the trees and gardens of the adjacent buildings. Staff was friendly, helpful, and professional, the dinner and views during dinner were lovely, the live band provided just the right ambience for our dinner, and, as always, I thoroughly enjoyed the warm shower after my morning seawall run! Although prices seem to be rising, I will definitely come again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelley2Shelley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Welcome back, Thanks for returning even after experiencing the Reno's in the fall last year, we are all happy that the Reno's have been completed and the Guests are enjoying the improvements. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and things are back to normal. The new menu has been very popular with our guests and of course the views from the restaurant or lounge add to every meal. Thank-you for staying with us and book early to get a room with a view on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice location. We really enjoyed the proximity to downtown and the beautiful Stanley park. The rooms are comfortable and great value for the location We enjoyed lunch at Banana Leaf. Great bike ride around Stanley park. There is a bike rental shop close by. Would come back anytime.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We often have guests comment on the location of the Sylvia Hotel. Thank-you for your thoughts and comments about the value and comfort you experienced during your stay with us. We hope that you will return soon and please always call the hotel directly to get the best rates and room types that are not offered on line. Enjoy your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

An excellent central Vancouver location at English Bay. The area is nice for walking. The hotel is cosy and classic. I was pleased with all aspects of the hotel, except for the wifi in my room. The wifi was very weak in my room.

Room Tip: If you need wifi, test it in your room before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2020Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
I was happy to read that you enjoyed the heritage feel of the Sylvia Hotel. Our location suites most peoples needs and access to the Beach and Stanley Park are very popular. I will look into your issue about the wifi as we have not had any complaints for years after we upgraded the entire system. I am sorry that you had a problem as we understand how important the internet is to our Guests. Thanks for writing and remember to always book directly with the Sylvia Hotel to get the best rates and room types.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I can't believe we stayed in the same hotel as these other reviews. I agree the hotel is a lovely building but our room was horrid. Old fashioned, musty smell and the bathroom was so badly decorated, a child might have done it. The ceiling and the door to the cupboard had been boarded up over a hole and just painted The skirting boards didn't fit and the loo was squeezed in behind the door. What ever you do, don't stay in room 229
We stayed in some lovely hotels during our 3 week holiday and this certainly was the worst

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
I am sorry that you did not appreciate the room you stayed in, 229 has a great city view and is one of the smaller rooms in the hotel. If you required more space we do have larger rooms, however the bathrooms in all rooms are smaller than most as we are a heritage site and the design of the hotel was built over 102 years ago. If booking again please call the hotel directly and request the size of hotel room that you enjoy and we will see if we can accommodate your request so that you do enjoy your stay with us. Thank-you for taking the time to write
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

It's very comfortable, and it's in a very good location. It may be a little old and worn out, but it is still a very excellent hotel to stay in. I highly recomment the hotel to anybody looking for a hotel with a good view, location, and is very comfortable. Out of all the hotels I've stayed in, this hotel feels most like home.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
I believe that when Guests compare us to family we are doing something right. Thank-you for the great scores and ratings. We would want all of our Guests to feel at home and wish every guests to have the same experience. Hurry back almost sold out for the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eltham,
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here for 12 nights in June 2014. Our room, on the 8th floor was great. Lovely view of English Bay. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.We loved it. No mini bar but a coffee machine you could make tea with. Old fashioned furnishings that were very nice.The hotel is a classic.Great position,access to all of Vanouver is easy. Buses close by to Downtown, or you can walk.Restaurants just around the corner in Davies St.The hotel bar is lovely

Room Tip: High floor for view and away from any street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryEltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
12 days in June at the Sylvia Hotel, you will be the envy of all your friends. We do sell sleep so the beds are always in great shape (some people prefer soft some hard, I think we are just right) and they are always upgraded to ensure a great nights sleep. We are in a residential area of Vancouver so it is quiet and away from the down town core, but close enough to walk to every thing and the bus loop is across the street. Book early for a chance to get a room on a high floor or one with a view of English Bay. Please always call us direct to get the best prices and room types as we do not offer all room types on line., Hurry back for 1 or 12 nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#48 of 92 in Vancouver
1,377 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
1,670 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,526 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Property: Sylvia Hotel
Address: 1154 Gilford St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing