We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always delightful”
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I've been staying at the Sylvia intermittently since 1986, and always enjoy it. The hotel has a quirky charm, and the location is perfect. Some of the friendly and welcoming staff have been there since my first visit. Since my last stay they've added an in-room coffee maker with branded glass cups. I hope that by my next stay it will be possible to purchase a set of cups as a souvenir of my stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to make the most of the location. Some rooms have kitchen facilities if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Always happy to read about long time guests returning to the Sylvia. Since 1986 I am sure that you have seem many changes and some of my staff have been here for 20-30 years. We just added coffee makers to the rooms this spring, the coffee cups have been very popular and has forced us to order more to sell at the front desk as we have been getting so many requests. So in your next visit please purchase as many as you want. Great tip for other guests to ask for a room with a view but always remember to call the hotel directly to get the best rate and room type. Hurry back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

807 - 813 of 1,538 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Sylvia Hotel. After a long day of traveling from the East Coast of the United States the comfortable, home-like atmosphere was a welcome sight. We stayed in the two room suite on the fifth floor which had two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a living area with a kitchenette. A great value for the price for sure!

The bedrooms are a nice size, and the bathrooms are reasonably sized and comfortable to use. The living room has been a nice place to regroup and relax. We slept with the windows open and noise wasn’t an issue at all.

A close walk to Stanley Park and the English Bay being right across the street were big pluses of this hotel, which is in a residential area.

Although there are a lot of restaurants nearby, we ate dinner at the Sylvia Hotel Restaurant and were pleasantly surprised with quality of the food, nothing like normal hotel fare. We sat in the bar area and the service was excellent!

Personally a great plus of this hotel was the dog friendly policy, we were missing our pups in the States, and enjoyed petting a few of the visiting pets.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank-you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your thoughts about your stay with us. The adjoining rooms are great for large families and people travelling with kids. The restaurant has been getting some great reviews since the menu changes and the views are always great looking at English Bay. Yes we are pet friendly and have been since 1960, we are the only hotel that does not charge extra for pets. We hope that you will return soon to enjoy Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great place to be staying to see Vancouver... English Bay, Granville Island, Stanley Park, downtown all in easy reach. Nice quiet neighbourhood, good restaurants all around. Room rather small and a bit tired. Had a hire car and got stung for parking which I hadn't seen in the small print. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank-you for staying with us. I was happy to read that you appreciated the location and service. Parking charges are normal in Vancouver, we only charge $15.00 per night when the rest of the hotels in the area are $25-36.00 per night so we feel the parking charges are priced fairly for the area. In the future please call the hotel directly when booking so that you get access to all room types and best rates. Being a heritage site we have a number of room sizes as well and if you require more space please requests it when you call and we will see what is available for the nights required. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I knew I was going to like it. One two-lane residential street separates it from the English Bay beach, beautiful at sunset and right next to amazing Stanley Park. The hotel is historic and cozy, uses real keys, and the windows open. Room 416 was basically a suite; it doesn't have an ocean front view but you see a fountain and the edge of the ocean. Wi-fi was iffy, which is the only reason why a businessperson might want the Sheraton. Quiet, yet very close to lively restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: I asked two weeks prior to arrival date for the much in demand beach view and an upper floor, and fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhuberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We are a heritage site and the hotel is over 102 years old. The location on the tree lined street in a residential area of Vancouver right across the street from the beach is ideal for most Guests coming to Vancouver. in regards to your comments about the wifi, we had some work being done to upgrade the system while you were here and that did cause some issues over two days which have all been resolved and improved. I am sorry for the inconvenience that may have caused. Trying to get a room with a view during the summer is tough, so booking as far in advance as possible helps with being able to get a room with a view so please always call the hotel directly to get the best room types and rates as we do not out all room types on line. Thank-you for staying with us and I hope we can serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Everything was enjoyable about our stay. Checked out a lot of hotels in area and this one is definitely a good deal for what you get. We had a spacious room that included a couch, the bathroom was on the small side but it was adequate. The rooms are a bit dated but clean. Nice location just off the water with tons of restaurant options within walking distance. We decided we wanted to try some food trucks while we were in Vancouver and walked downtown from the hotel which was a nice 20 minute walk. You have to pay for parking but that is pretty standard in hotels and there was lots of availability. On a recommendation from a friend we checked out the bar for cocktails which didn't disappoint. Will be back here next time we are in the area!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshleyDawn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Nice review about your stay at the Sylvia Hotel, the location is great for people to experience Vancouver. The Sylvia Hotel is good value and thank-you for mentioning it. I hope you enjoyed the views from the lounge while having your meals and drinks. We will look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Good hotel, clean and a good place, excellent ubication, fair for what you are paying for, good view and close to a good restaurants area.
The restaurant with excellent breakfast thats the only meals that I had

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Julio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thanks for mentioning your experience in the Restaurant. The views are great and so is the food and service. I always appreciate when guests that have a great experience at the Hotel take time to write as it has been my experience that most guests mostly write when they have a bad experience. As you can read, our guests love us and I feel that we have earned there trust. Enjoy your summer where ever you are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I'm not used to tiny rooms and bathrooms like The Sylvia but this place is very quaint. You can't beat the location though! It's right off English Bay and Stanley Park and near all kinds of delicious restaurants.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

At this time of year we are always sold out and so some guests that book on line or book last minute get the smaller rooms as those are the rooms we sell on line thru third party web sites. If you require a larger room please call the hotel directly to get the best room types and rates. We are a heritage site with a feel of days gone by. We hope that you will be back this summer or we will run some specials in the fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#43 of 92 in Vancouver
1,522 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,803 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
Times Square Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Address: 1154 Gilford St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £81 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing