We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on English Bay”
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great hotel on English Bay”
Reviewed 18 March 2010

I stayed at The Sylvia for a month in February and was very pleased with the hotel. The staff are great and the view of English Bay at sunset is amazing. They really made me feel at home knowing that I would be there for such an extended stay. While I was there they upgraded the bedding and the televisions in the rooms to make it a little more modern. I would suggest asking for a corner suite that wraps around the side of the building, the view is outstanding!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonesm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    611
    146
    54
    37
See reviews for
307
652
126
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
site16
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2010

This hotel is the real thing. Very authentic experience staying here. The staff were wonderful and I just didn't want to leave at the end of my trip.

The location is perfect..close to downtown, but right at the shore of English Bay (stunning views!) and Stanley Park.

I'll make a point to stay here every time I'm in Vancouver. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank site16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

If you are expecting a standard corporate hotel you may be disappointed - a colleague booked at the Sylvia and took one look at the room and left. The corridors in particular look a bit run down but my room on the 3rd floor was clean, bed comfortable and it was quiet. The location is great - a stone's throw from English Bay and close to Stanley Park. As long as you get past the fact it isn't a Holiday Inn there's much to commend it

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSMunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

I have stayed many times at Sylvia Hotel, this time we wanted to train up from Seattle before the Olympic Games, so we were fortunate to finally be able to rent a fully furnished suite, room 622 with kitchen and all five windows overlooking the Pacific.
To the right, 150 meters, Stanley Park, to the left, Davie street and easy walk to downtown or the trail along the shore to catch a mini Seabus to Granville Island.
A very affordable and welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

This is an older brick hotel with GREAT charm. Elevators are small but working and fast. VERY pet friendly with many people bringing their best friends over the Christmas holiday. Staff is friendly and helpful. We hope to go back to this one again. It's walking distance to Stanley Park (southwest end) and is just across the street from the beach walkway. FINE restaurants are closeby -- Raincity Grill -- 1 block (reservations recommended). Also, if you're booking over the holidays and want to eat IN the hotel restaurant at any time, MAKE RESERVATIONS. That was one thing we cannot comment on, because we didn't get in for the brunch. We had a kitchenette suite which was really well stocked with equipment.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tenayaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ca Bay Area
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

I have been staying in the Sylvia for 30 years now. I suppose that slants my review a bit. Yes, it can be a little funky, but the staff and the location (in my humble opinion) more than make up for it. Yes it needs a bit of paint. Yes things are a bit nicked here and there. But in terms of staff friendliness and location it is unbeatable. ...and as a plus (for some of us at least) it has a truly remarkable selection of scotch whiskeys in the bar!

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluesman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We spoke to the front desk about the mattress being uncomfortably soft- they offered to move us and then surprised us with a brand new mattress THAT DAY.

Friendly, fun old hotel, perfect location.

Rent bikes from the place recommended at the front desk- they have discount coupons. We biked to Granville island and it was fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanfranciscoCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#48 of 92 in Vancouver
1,397 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
1,695 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,718 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Property: Sylvia Hotel
Address: 1154 Gilford St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing