We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sylvia Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Sandman Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Opus Hotel(Vancouver)
US$527
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$407
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Granville Island Hotel(Vancouver)
US$392
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$494
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
St. Regis Hotel(Vancouver)
US$473
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$437
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$396
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Burrard(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$398
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$374
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$358
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$403
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$388
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,578)
Filter reviews
1,578 results
Traveller rating
646
677
160
57
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
646
677
160
57
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstanley parkoverlooking english bayhistoric hoteldenman streetwest endthere is no air conditioningsea wallgranville islandan older hotelcan't beat the locationamazing locationlots of restaurantscorner roomvisit vancouverfew blocksloungeseawall
Filter
Updating list...
1,380 - 1,385 of 1,578 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2010

I chose this place on basis of trip advisor reports. Some of the reviews mentioned it was dowdy. I thought funky! Other reviews complained about having to use staircase. Sylvia's staircase runs through middle of hotel, and so wonderfully convenient for those of us who relish use of stairs in hotels.

I was surprised to have a yappying dog in room next door (where I come from it is virtually unheard of to allow dogs in hotels). But management were sympathetic and moved me to swanky suite on upper floor. So can't complain.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxtravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbyGRichmond, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

Thank-you for your kind words about your stay. Yes we are a pet friendly Hotel and hope to see you on your next visit to Vancouver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

STAY AWAY from the Hotel Sylvia! We booked a room before and after our recent Alaskan cruise on a single email, then changed plans and cancelled. They emailed a cancellation confirmation-- AND THEN CHARGED US FOR A NIGHT'S STAY! Why? They say we only cancelled once and we had booked two nights so we needed to send two emails and receive two confirmations. Say what? Of course we are contesting the charge -- first time we have ever had to do that — but, my god, can you believe it?

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
2  Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbyGRichmond, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

Thank-you for booking with the Sylvia hotel, I am sorry that you did not understand the reason why you were charged for the no show on one of your bookings. When you booked at the Sylvia you booked two nights on two different days, I am assuming that you were going to stay with us before and after your cruise. You were given two confirmation numbers, one for each night booked. The reason for that is so that if you need to cancel one of the nights due to a change of plans you would still have your return night booked. People change thier plans often, we try to ensure that you only cancel the room night not required. if you wanted to cancel both nights we ask that you cancel each reservation. This avoids you showing up to the Hotel expecting that you still had a room on the return visit when it was cancelled when you really only wanted to cancel the first room. The Sylvia Hotel runs full during the summer and getting a room booked during the summer is very difficult. this way you are not disapointed if both rooms were cancelled when yu only needed to cancel one of the nights, We have run this system for the past 20 years and have found that this is the best way to keep all the room reservations clearly booked so that nobody is left guessing if you have a reservation or not. I am sorry that you did not understand that you needed to cancel both reservations as we would have no way of knowing if you still wanted the room on your return. I am sure that if you did except a room on your return and we had cancelled it you would have been more upset in not having a room at the sylvia when we would have been sold out. I hope this clears things up for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

My husband and I really enjoyed the one night we spent at the Sylvia Hotel. We received a free upgrade and the room we had, while not spacious by modern hotel standards, was adequate with a comfortable king bed and freshly painted walls. The bathroom seemed a bit outdated, but otherwise the amenities were excellent and we had a view of the quiet inner driveway off the main street.

Service at check-in and check-out was pleasant. Normal check-out time is noon but we were leaving for a cruise and the staff granted our request for a later check-out at 1PM.

The best thing about the hotel is the location! You can walk to Stanley Park and are just steps away from English Bay. You are also just a block away from Denman Street which has lots of great restaurants (highly recommend Acacia Fillo Bar for some stellar Bulgarian food--a highlight of our trip!) While some parts of the hotel (like the slow elevators and shabby hallways) are showing its age, overall this was well worth it price-wise compared to other downtown hotels.

(If you're a cat lover, be sure to check out the darling artwork in the lobby depicting "Mr. Got to Go" the now-famous stray cat who decided to make the hotel his home some years ago. So cute!)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaT95682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

The location was great. The hotel has a lot of charm. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was OK - but it just needed a touch of new - new towels at least, and updated furniture. Good value. Loved sitting in the restaurant and enjoying the English Bay views.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick54R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Third time at the Sylvia. No surprises. Good value for your maney. The staff is always very helpful, the restaurant is good and the bar is great with the big windows facing English Bay.

I would, however, suggest painting the corridors in a lighter shade of yellow and with NO textures. Carpet in some corridors also need changing.

Stayed in one of the newer rooms (over the parking). Great rooms, good space.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews