We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The location is great, the hotel is NOT” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #33 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Bobcaygeon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The location is great, the hotel is NOT”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

We really enjoyed the proximity of Stanley Park, but the hotel was certainly a disapointment. The room was very small, the bathroom very old and I had to stand on the edge of the bathtub to turn on the light fixture over the vanity. We couldn't hook up to the "free" internet service and when I took my laptop down to the reception desk they insisted that the problem was the laptop, yet a few days earlier we had stayed at the Blue Horizon and had no problem at all. While I was there, another guest came by the desk and said that he also was unable to connect and also had stayed at the Blue Horizon and had no trouble connecting. When we went to the restaurant downstairs for breakfast we waited for about 1/2 hour to even get acknowledged and that was after I asked 2 servers if we could order. The beginning of the week we had stayed at the Blue Horizon, which was less money and was far superior.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank nacyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    565
    132
    49
    34
See reviews for
286
595
123
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Ca
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

We really liked this hotel. The kids were taken with the whole cat story as well as it's location close to the beach. Even though it was cold, they played on it every night. We liked how close it was to Denham street where all the restaurants are, as well as Stanley Park. We walked all over Vancouver from here. The only thing I would change if I could change anything is that the rooms are on the small side, but that's to be expected with a historic hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monicarichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

I chose this place on basis of trip advisor reports. Some of the reviews mentioned it was dowdy. I thought funky! Other reviews complained about having to use staircase. Sylvia's staircase runs through middle of hotel, and so wonderfully convenient for those of us who relish use of stairs in hotels.

I was surprised to have a yappying dog in room next door (where I come from it is virtually unheard of to allow dogs in hotels). But management were sympathetic and moved me to swanky suite on upper floor. So can't complain.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxtravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbyGRichmond, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2010
Thank-you for your kind words about your stay. Yes we are a pet friendly Hotel and hope to see you on your next visit to Vancouver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

STAY AWAY from the Hotel Sylvia! We booked a room before and after our recent Alaskan cruise on a single email, then changed plans and cancelled. They emailed a cancellation confirmation-- AND THEN CHARGED US FOR A NIGHT'S STAY! Why? They say we only cancelled once and we had booked two nights so we needed to send two emails and receive two confirmations. Say what? Of course we are contesting the charge -- first time we have ever had to do that — but, my god, can you believe it?

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbyGRichmond, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2010
Thank-you for booking with the Sylvia hotel, I am sorry that you did not understand the reason why you were charged for the no show on one of your bookings. When you booked at the Sylvia you booked two nights on two different days, I am assuming that you were going to stay with us before and after your cruise. You were given two confirmation numbers, one for each night booked. The reason for that is so that if you need to cancel one of the nights due to a change of plans you would still have your return night booked. People change thier plans often, we try to ensure that you only cancel the room night not required. if you wanted to cancel both nights we ask that you cancel each reservation. This avoids you showing up to the Hotel expecting that you still had a room on the return visit when it was cancelled when you really only wanted to cancel the first room. The Sylvia Hotel runs full during the summer and getting a room booked during the summer is very difficult. this way you are not disapointed if both rooms were cancelled when yu only needed to cancel one of the nights, We have run this system for the past 20 years and have found that this is the best way to keep all the room reservations clearly booked so that nobody is left guessing if you have a reservation or not. I am sorry that you did not understand that you needed to cancel both reservations as we would have no way of knowing if you still wanted the room on your return. I am sure that if you did except a room on your return and we had cancelled it you would have been more upset in not having a room at the sylvia when we would have been sold out. I hope this clears things up for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

My husband and I really enjoyed the one night we spent at the Sylvia Hotel. We received a free upgrade and the room we had, while not spacious by modern hotel standards, was adequate with a comfortable king bed and freshly painted walls. The bathroom seemed a bit outdated, but otherwise the amenities were excellent and we had a view of the quiet inner driveway off the main street.

Service at check-in and check-out was pleasant. Normal check-out time is noon but we were leaving for a cruise and the staff granted our request for a later check-out at 1PM.

The best thing about the hotel is the location! You can walk to Stanley Park and are just steps away from English Bay. You are also just a block away from Denman Street which has lots of great restaurants (highly recommend Acacia Fillo Bar for some stellar Bulgarian food--a highlight of our trip!) While some parts of the hotel (like the slow elevators and shabby hallways) are showing its age, overall this was well worth it price-wise compared to other downtown hotels.

(If you're a cat lover, be sure to check out the darling artwork in the lobby depicting "Mr. Got to Go" the now-famous stray cat who decided to make the hotel his home some years ago. So cute!)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaT95682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

The location was great. The hotel has a lot of charm. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was OK - but it just needed a touch of new - new towels at least, and updated furniture. Good value. Loved sitting in the restaurant and enjoying the English Bay views.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick54R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

Third time at the Sylvia. No surprises. Good value for your maney. The staff is always very helpful, the restaurant is good and the bar is great with the big windows facing English Bay.

I would, however, suggest painting the corridors in a lighter shade of yellow and with NO textures. Carpet in some corridors also need changing.

Stayed in one of the newer rooms (over the parking). Great rooms, good space.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
#47 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Times Square Suites Hotel
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,395 reviews
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Property: Sylvia Hotel
Address: 1154 Gilford St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing