We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best charm, price, and location in Vancouver!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #33 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best charm, price, and location in Vancouver!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

I have stayed here many times, with my husband on romantic getaways, with my daughter and grandchildren for fun on the beach and at the Aquarium, and meeting friends for a sightseeing adventure. The Sylvia is without a doubt the best location at the edge of Stanley Park and across the street from the beach at English Bay. It is a very walkable city, with plenty of buses and small water ferries (Aqua Bus and False Creek Ferries) as well as fantastic markets (Granville Island ) and museums and absolutely amazing choices for eating on Denman St. nearby. The staff is fantastic, there is a lounge and restaraunt right in the hotel with fireplace and sweeping view. Did I mention free wifi?

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stlueymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    570
    135
    49
    35
See reviews for
289
609
125
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

Vancouver is a huge, densely populated city with all of the usual big, luxury hotels you'd find in any other great city. And, that's the reason we loved the Sylvia...old, funky, dark halls, funny little bathrooms. BUT, it's staffed by helpful, friendly people, sits directly across the street from English Beach, is a 5-10 minute walk to Stanley Park - surounded by bike/walk trails, a lovely diverse neighborhood of shops, restaurants, bike rental places etc. Our rooms were joined into a 2 bedroom, 2 bath corner unit with a sitting room and small kitchen...windows opened to the beautiful view across the bay and the city lights. The entire building, built in 1912, is covered with Boston Ivy - scarlet and gold when we were there in February. There is a lack of hedonistic bathrooms, expensive toiletries, flatscreen TVs - NONE of which we came to British Columbia for, but the ambience, staff and especially the location are top-notch. Love a Four Seasons or a Ritz-Carlton, but will stay nowhere but the Sylvia when we return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kauaiinmyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

I stay at the Sylvia every time I'm in Vancouver, which is about every 6-8 weeks. In fact, I was just there last Friday. It's been my primary Vancouver abode when travelling there for over 20 years! For me it has everything, an incredible location on the beach a block away from Stanley Park, innumerable shopping and dining experiences nearby, and an atmosphere you won't find anywhere.

Now for the hard facts. This hotel is in fact an elderly apartment building from the 1910's "renovated" into a hotel a long time ago. What renovated means is that they took the apartments and chopped them up. Some are big, some are small, none (at least in the old section of the hotel) are of standard size, shape or configuration. The furnishings have been upgraded over the last few years (if you think they are funky now, you should have seen them in the 80's) but luxurious is not a word applied at this hotel. Unique, quirky and irresistably charming do apply, but you must be in the right mood. This is not a boutique hotel. The building is old, the rooms of mixed caliber and decor, the plumbing variable(the higher up you go, the more the water pressure varies) and the heat (in winter) inconsistent.

However, the food in the restaurant is excellent, room service prompt, the staff are incredible and the guests range from European hikers to American tourists and everything in between. You don't have to worry about rowdies or low life's, it's not cheap (though there are some deals on the smaller rooms - be warned though, they mean small) and your typical guest is likely to be more boomer than Gen X'er. Lovers of the more typical North American hotel experience would more likely enjoy themselves at the Coast Hotel on Denman, just a block away.

Overall, if you like quirky, can handle some inconsistencies in amenities and don't get freaked by a total lack of Holiday Inn uniformity, then the Sylvia is for you. Reservations are a must, especially in summer. Personally, I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank altacouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

This old hotel has retained all the charm of the past and offers excellent service and friendly staff. It's beachfront location offers walking to Stanley Park and the downtown stores. The food is great and if you want variety there are excellent places to dine within walking distance. Wonderful retreat for a few days away from home

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfyke40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Conner, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

We usually stay 2-3 times a year ...the only place to stay in Vancouver with a dog. The hotel is fabulous, with a wonderful friendly staff, who by the way know our dog, and have treats behind the desk. Easy walking distance to downtown, the beach and the fabulous Stanley park. This is my hotel of choice even without the dog...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judyisflyfishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

I love the Sylvia. I adore the Sylvia. I would happily spend the rest of my life at the Sylvia.

Now for the hard facts: it is in the heart of the West End, perfectly placed and overlooking the ocean and/or mountains, depending on your room: the sea wall walk around Stanley Park is just out the door. Everybody is helpful and friendly and easy: I don't think I've ever met such a comfortable, low-key, yet perfectly efficient team of people as work in the Sylvia, in all my life. Really. The rooms are comfortable (in winter book a room in the new-built section, as some rooms in the old side can be chilly if the wind is wrong), clean, well-designed. The water is always hot. (The bath towels can be a bit thin. But that is the only, and I do mean only, downside.) It's got a great bar and coffee shop, and is a perfect place to meet friends or hang out with your laptop. Breakfasts are good, we had one rather mediocre lunch of sandwiches, but otherwise the food in the restaurant was very good.

This hotel is perfectly charming, not that I can point to any exact reason why; there's a feeling about it, as soon as you walk in the door. It was built a century ago, and its spirit seems to exist in a time capsule. Imagine 1910 courtesy with free wi-fi, and you'll about have it. I hate to leave. May it go on forever.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

yes it really is old by Canadian standards,and the rooms are dilapidated,but it has a charm of its own.The light fittings are probably original,which explains why they are falling off the walls,the standard of decoration in the bedrooms is abysmal,but the setting is magnificent.The bar and restaurant are popular.Unfortunately the bedroom walls are rather thin and the television and talking from adjacent rooms was irritating.There is also a fountain across the road from the main entrance,so a room on this side is subject to the distant whirring sound of the pump and the water.For a taste of olde world charm stay here,and the music in the foyer is vaguely classical,not your usual stuff,which adds to the quaint ambience.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teithiwrNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
#48 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Property: Sylvia Hotel
Address: 1154 Gilford St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing