We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant Experience, but yours doesn’t have to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atrium Inn Vancouver
Ranked #57 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel 2 nights in late May of 2014. We were given a room that faces busy Hastings Street. The traffic noise was so bad that night that we could barely sleep, so if you stay at this hotel, ensure you request a room in the back of the hotel. Also, we had problems with the heating system, but they were fixed for the second night.

When we asked to switch rooms the following morning, we were told they were entirely booked up, but I had checked TripAdvisor before asking and found there were rooms available. When I informed the manager about this, he backtracked and said that any free rooms were facing Hastings Street. We bought earplugs during the day and were OK the 2nd night.

What bothers me is that the manager said this is a common complaint and that they are waiting to remodel to fix the problem. That might be years away for all I know. This is not a good way to have happy customers.

The breakfast buffet was very good. The neighborhood is questionable. The bus service to downtown was good, but took us through parts of town that were supposed to be revitalized as a result of Vancouver hosting the Olympics, but that never happened and I would not want to walk through those neighborhoods.

The price of the hotel was great compared to the hotels downtown. I don’t know if I would stay there again, but hope I’ve given you enough information to decide.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl S, Front Office Manager at Atrium Inn Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

I apologize for the comment "Years away" made by the Manager on Duty that you dealt with in regards to the room change request.

To clarify: we have forwarded a renovation budget to our Corporate office but have not received an approval. The noise from the street concerns is in the budget.

I do understand your frustration with the noise and what appeared to you as refusal to move rooms. During our high season we do run sold out days and on the days that we don have rooms; majority of the time they will be in the same location of the room that you occupied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

577 - 583 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at this HIE for 6 days during our vacation in Vancouver and overall we were satisfied with the service that we received. The location was just right. It was less than 10 minute drive to downtown Vancouver and it had decent restaurants across the street from the hotel's location if you need food on the go. We were checked in and had our room keys in minutes. If you are driving this hotel offers complimentary parking underneath the hotel. It has a gate that requires room key to enter the parking garage for added security. It also requires patrons to swipe their room key to utilize the elevator going up. This hotel also offers excellent complimentary breakfast. The breakfast is great and the service staff ensures that food and drinks are always available to the hotel guests. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a place to stay while in Vancouver. On a side note, if you like Japanese food go across the street from this hotel and go to "Blowfish". The food is great and the price is decent.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor of this hotel and we didn't have any issues with noisy neighbors et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdDory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl S, Front Office Manager at Atrium Inn Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and the nice comments on the staff. We hope that your next stay in Vancouver with be at the Holiday Inn Express - Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel was great, the room was clean but does need renovations and could use new carpets. All the staff were very courteous and has great knowledge of the city. Would definitely recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davecopp359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl S, Front Office Manager at Atrium Inn Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope that your next stay in Vancouver will be at the Holiday Inn Express - Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Excellent service- everyone was polite and respectful. The location made it really easy to access the downtown area by bus, the bus stop was even right in front of the hotel! The only downsides were the decor- which were a little outdated, and the mattresses could be replaced. But overall, the hotel is a great getaway place for a few nights stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl S, Front Office Manager at Atrium Inn Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for the kind comments on the staff, we hope to be doing renovation in the near future and hope that your next stay in Vancouver will be the Holiday Inn Express - Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was a great hotel. It was clean, and in a convenient location - a 6 minute walk from the P&E. It was a perfect stay for me. Staff was friendly and gave excellent choices to restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl S, Front Office Manager at Atrium Inn Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and the nice comments on the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

As a Platinum member I've stayed at many ICH properties, resulting in high expectations. On the positive side; staff was excellent (friendly, attentive, helpful), lobby spacious & well decorated, convenient parking, plentiful breakfast, comfy bed, nice flat screen TV, and clean room. Negatives included; dirty and rippled room carpet, worn furniture, dirty hall carpet, and pealing wall paper. General maintenance needs improvement, for example, frayed cable on fitness center weight machine (safety hazard), abnormally loud air conditioner, and loose handles on sink. Apart from the lobby area, a refurbishment would go a long way toward making it a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Recommend middle north facing rooms to avoid potential street noise and enjoy a lovely mountain view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Away_We_Go54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl S, Front Office Manager at Atrium Inn Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time review our hotel. We are awaiting for approval of the renovation budget to correct the conditions stated in comment. I thank you for the nice comment on the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We make regular weekend trips from Seattle to Vancouver. This time we decided to stay at this hotel. When looking for a room, this hotel came up on the list as a reasonably priced hotel. We have stayed at HI Express hotels in the past so we knew the rooms would be clean and we will get free breakfast.

Overall our stay (2+2 guests) was comfortable. The only issue would be that the breakfast area is cramped and the building itself is dated. Also, we ended up in a handicapped room so the bathroom was not as convenient for us. When the kids took the shower, the water went everywhere. For value and cleanliness I would recommend this hotel. There are plenty of places to eat out in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Make sure it is away from the elevator and possibly near to the stairs from the garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HassanDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl S, Front Office Manager at Atrium Inn Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Vancouver, and hope that your future plan stays in Vancouver you will once again choose us, the holiday Inn Vancouver! I will definitely pass on shower issue to the maintenance department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
1,905 reviews
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#16 of 92 in Vancouver
2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrium Inn Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Inn Vancouver

Address: 2889 Hastings St E, Vancouver, British Columbia V5K 2A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £63 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atrium Inn Vancouver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'You'll Love It In Here' at our Vancouver Hotel. The Atrium Inn Vancouver is located minutes from downtown Vancouver. Our boutique-style hotel is close to everything in Vancouver. Are you searching for a pet friendly hotel near fun and exciting attractions? When you stay at the Atrium Inn Vancouver you can catch an event at the Pacific Coliseum, venture to PNE and Playland, or explore Stanley Park. Guests enjoy staying in our rooms with one king or two queen beds or a king suite. Our location off Trans Canada Highway 1 makes it easy to get to meetings. Rogers Sugar, ECOMM, Metrotown, BCIT and other businesses are nearby. Make your event a success with our meeting rooms and A/V rental equipment. With free high-speed, wireless Internet access, you'll have a productive stay in Vancouver. You can burn calories at our fitness centre, get a good night's rest on our triple-sheeted beds, and start the morning with a free buffet breakfast with hot and cold items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Atrium Inn Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing