We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby but well situated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropicana Suite Hotel
Ranked #81 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shabby but well situated”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

As others note, redecoration is long overdue. Upholstery is dirty and worn; the carpet is horrible; there's this musty odor. But it's spacious, has a small kitchen and is walking distance to Stanley Park in one direction and the Vancouver Art Gallery and Heritage District in the other. The bed is comfortable, the linens are clean, and the bathroom functions. Personnel were kind and accommodating. I can't imagine recommending it to anyone, but it was the cheapest place available Downtown, and free parking was included.

Room Tip: Since there's no A/C, you'll want a room on the north side--away from the street--for both c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank constanttraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    36
    38
    19
    27
See reviews for
23
44
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

Excellent central location on Robson St. Close to lots of shops and restaurants. Hotel and room itself was quite outdated but did have a kitchenette which was useful. I slept on the fold out sofa- good as it was separate from the bedroom. However the mattress felt very lumpy and I was woken by sunlight streaming through the kitchen blind.

Otherwise, reasonably priced for an excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon5487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This is a budget hotel.. a definate 2 star.. decor is circa 1970s motel. but, it was clean, and our room was a very good size . We booked directly with hotel, a one bedroom suite for two adults and one child. The rate was 119 a night. A very good rate for location!
Our room was on the 10th floor and had amazing view to water .. the balcony however is basically nothing more then a ledge with a banister. There were however the large floor to ceiling windows and sliding door,, so a very bright living room and kitchen. This unit did include a small but good enough kitchenette. Apartment size fridge( about 4 1/2 feet tall) small full stove and oven. Microwave and two cup coffee machine. There were dishes, BUT not forks or knives a bit odd. There was coffee, sugar and whitner provided, but no tea.
Bathroom was small, but shower worked well. Bed in room was fine, but sofa bed in the living room was ,,well a sofa bed, fine for kids only .
This hotel is for budget travellers,do not go expecting much, we didn't and were quite happy with what we got. The rate was much lower then most hotels in the area, and the location is absolutely great ,, you can walk and shop along Robson which is lined with shops and places to eat.
We had no noise issues at all( but our room was on the 10th and did face the ocean, not Robson)
I thought staying there for one night was fine, I wouldn't stretch it too long, but honestly, if looking for a cheap clean safe stay, then this place is ok, if you can get over the rather worn shabbiness.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up on higher floors facing the water, not Robson. The view is nice and the noise is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed one night at The Tropicana as booked through the BC tourism centre.
Firstly it's not very close to the Skytrain station (not the hotel's fault, but worth noting)
We were on the 10th floor on the Robson Road side and it was noisy, the windows aren't double glazed nor sealed at all (actually I had to wedge a piece of paper in the bedroom window to stop it rattling) and the street noise was loud, particularly as this was a Saturday night and the drunks started heading home at midnight.
Building and room were very dated (apart from the bathroom)
Linen was clean and bed was comfortable just difficult to get to sleep with the noise.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarinPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Eureka, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I would call The Tropicana "shabby chic". Slightly worn around the edges but, clean and full of character. The suite was comfy, very clean and I couldn't hear the neighbors at all. The kitchen was impeccably clean and supplied with dishes and cookware, all in clean working order. I could walk in my socks on the rug and they stayed clean (a clean room test for me). The price is right for downtown Vancouver. Great restaurants and shopping within walking distance, free off street parking and attentive staff. The lower floors seem to be permanent residents, we met a few and they were very cordial and helpful. Never saw any sign on "children tearing through the lobby" or "surly" staff of any kind. We will definitly be back the next time we travel to Vancouver.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyDragonHumboldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka ca
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This all suite hotel is a mix of residents and guests. We were delighted to find a clean apartment with a wonderful staff who were very helpful. If you are looking for a multi-cultural experience in a multi-cultural city, this is your place. If you are a Holiday Inn type with prefab breakfast of junk food, you may want to look elsewhere. Rooms were recently renovated with a complete apartment (including pots and pans) There are many great dining and shopping opportunities nearby or hop on one of the many tour busses available.Robson St is the fashion area of Vancouver so it's all available for you! Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bouncey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

After a recommendation from a our group made a reservation at this hotel when we were traveling to Vancouver on business and added a personal day on to our trip. We knew that we were staying at a budget hotel but this was so "low-rent" that you couldn't pay me to stay there. The first impression was so deplorable we didn't even check into our room. Upon entering the lobby you are greeted by an odour that can only be described as the great unwashed doused in cheap perfume. Children (elementary school age) tearing through the lobby. We were "greeted" by a surly front desk agent in a faded ratty tshirt. Our reservation was incorrect. We had booked for 4 girls to stay in one room and had been told we would have 2 Queens & a pullout when making the reservation. We were told what was a available was a room with one double and a pull out,that Queens didnt even exist and they were sold out. We then pointed out their website details including the information of bed type - Queens exist). We stepped aside to talk about what we were going to do. It was at this point we opted to check Expedia for alternate accomadation. When he realized what we were doing he YELLED at us to "just leave then". Done!
I cannot comment on rooms, ammenities or anything else other then to say that perhaps they rent their rooms by the hour.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crystal1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Robson Street
Greenbrier Hotel
Greenbrier Hotel
#73 of 92 in Vancouver
296 reviews
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#66 of 92 in Vancouver
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Riviera on Robson Suites Hotel Downtown Vancouver
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,522 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Suite Hotel

Property: Tropicana Suite Hotel
Address: 1361 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C6, Canada (Formerly Tropicana Motor Inn)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropicana Suite Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tropicana Suite Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver and in the middle of the lively Robson Street shopping and entertainment district within walking distance of all Downtown shopping, theatres, many excellent restaurants, cafes, English Bay and Stanley Park. All guest suites are one bedroom units featuring a living room with a sofa bed and kitchenette. Hotel facilities include an indoor heated pool, sauna, laundry facilities and limited complimentary guest parking.• View the majestic North Shore mountains• Ideally located in the heart of downtown Vancouver and the West End• 74 spacious one bedroom suites accommodating up to four adults• Easy walking distance of virtually everything• Heated indoor pool and sauna• Restaurants, shopping, theatres and parks just blocks away from hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tropicana Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Motor Hotel Vancouver
Tropicana Hotel Vancouver
Tropicana Motel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing