We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unorganized and unprofessional”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victorian Hotel
Ranked #37 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unorganized and unprofessional”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Our wedding was on May 22nd and we had many out of town guests. We were looking for a hotel with a decent reputation and reasonable prices close to Gastown where our wedding venue was located. When we called the hotel they said that we would receive a discount for booking our wedding party/friends with them. We advertised this to our guests and family. We were embarrassed to be denied a group discount during check out. Even though we mentioned the name of the hotel manager, they denied the possibility of any discount. What's most unprofessional, is they claimed they could not get in touch with my husband so they decided to charge his bill to his mother's card because she had the same last name. When she called to dispute the charge, they had the nerve to admit to doing this on purpose because for some reason the card would not go through and since his mother had the same name they didn't see any harm in charging it to hers so they could get credit. This caused a lot of initial confusion and unnecessary stress to his mother. The hotel refused to reimburse his mother for overcharging and so my husband paid her what she was overcharged when they should have called my husband. Now I just found out I have 3 charges to my card from the Hotel and I have no idea what they are for. I called to get a break down of the costs and they told me I had to call back during specific hours when the manager was in. I think the front desk clerk or someone else on duty should be competent enough to handle billing enquiries. So now I'm left with an overcharge of $500 and playing phone tag to dispute an overcharge.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GFBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    286
    109
    40
    23
See reviews for
100
343
66
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here 4 nights. Upon arrival the receptionist did not ask how our trip to the hotel had been and for the 1st time of all our travels around the world we had to pay the full amount beforehand. Not so much trouble, but a little strange. The room was nice, clean (however we saw a mouse one afternoon under the closet) and with a lot of antiques. If you like a quiet and roomy breakfast, you will not find it here. The space is too small for 45 rooms, however they might rebuild this, as there was some renovation going on. There is small kitchen in this area and about 5 tables, so we ended up eating our breakfast in the small lounge. The hotel is located near Gastown which was nice as there are nice places to have dinner. During our stay and at checking out, no receptionist asked if we liked our stay, which gave us a quite unpersonal feel. Maybe our expectations were too high.

Room Tip: Ask for a quietly located room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed here for our first night in Vancouver, and it was a lovely place to stay. Full of character, comfortable, and in a convenient location. Also great value. No complaints, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zenzen1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We got a room with two queen beds and a private bathroom and it was a very large and comfortable room with a bathroom that was very beautifully decorated! The beds here are very very comfortable and the bedding is high quality. It's in a true victorian building in a perfect part of town near a lot of restaurants and public transportation.

If I'm ever in Vancouver again this is the hotel for me!

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laurenantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

We had a room with a bay window and king size bed, sharing a bathroom. It was just right for us - clean, quiet and well priced. Breakfast was standard continental fare. It is within a five minute walk of the main city street for nightlife, and also very handy for Chinatown, Gastown and many bus routes. We would not hesitate to recommend it.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jaygeeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Very nice hotel; stayed in the King Deluxe Room. Beautifull room with no view, but very nice bathroom. Bed was big en very nice, slept very well. No breakfast because the bed was so good.

Room Tip: Take for a little extra money a King Deluxe Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FdeLint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel on a weekend trip to Vancouver. The hotel from the outside looks quite rundown. The downstairs is boarded up. There is a Salvation Army directly across the street, and while the hotel is well located in the sense that it is close to everything, the immediately surrounding area is a little "sketchy", particularly at night. A few blocks in pretty much any direction, it is much better. The lobby of the hotel is quite tired and it looks like there is renovation work going on.

The positive is that the rooms are quite lovely. We stayed in a king bed room (not renovated) with bath. The rooms are larger than average and attractively furnished. Hardwood floors, cotton bedding (no polyester), radiators... all quite vintage. The bathrooms are modern and large. We had a room to the back, and while it overlooked the secure parking ($15/day), it was quiet at night. (I expect the rooms facing the street probably are not.) We did not have breakfast at the hotel, but it looked to be pretty basic.

Room Tip: I would forego a room with a view to the street a
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#18 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#13 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Property: Victorian Hotel
Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Victorian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing