We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, affordable hotel for family of five”
Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victorian Hotel
Ranked #40 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We had a good overall experience at the Victorian Hotel. It was absolutely clean, roomy with 3 queen beds and a nice continental breakfast. The bathroom was old and needed some work. It was not as advertised with marble and fashionable hardware but met our needs for a family of five on holiday. The beds were cozy, soft cotton sheets, NO BEDBUGS. The location was perfect, close to Gastown, downtown, access to Granville, Chinatown and Stanley Park. The Salvation Army across the street was a non issue. Our room was on the front of the hotel and the street was quite loud until late, but the fans set up in the room drowned it out - no A/C. Parking in the hotel lot is $20/ day, but we found street parking to be fine instead.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirabelle7430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 622 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

This hotel has a great location, is quiet, clean and updated room, private, and an excellent price.

I regularly recommend it and fear others ruinning our hidden gem!

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank FraserCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Fantastic hotel. Excelent room. Very friendly staff. Very good breakfast. Convenient localion near Grainville Street and Pacific Center. A very nice place to stay in Vancouver.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank engenheirow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Our wedding was on May 22nd and we had many out of town guests. We were looking for a hotel with a decent reputation and reasonable prices close to Gastown where our wedding venue was located. When we called the hotel they said that we would receive a discount for booking our wedding party/friends with them. We advertised this to our guests and family. We were embarrassed to be denied a group discount during check out. Even though we mentioned the name of the hotel manager, they denied the possibility of any discount. What's most unprofessional, is they claimed they could not get in touch with my husband so they decided to charge his bill to his mother's card because she had the same last name. When she called to dispute the charge, they had the nerve to admit to doing this on purpose because for some reason the card would not go through and since his mother had the same name they didn't see any harm in charging it to hers so they could get credit. This caused a lot of initial confusion and unnecessary stress to his mother. The hotel refused to reimburse his mother for overcharging and so my husband paid her what she was overcharged when they should have called my husband. Now I just found out I have 3 charges to my card from the Hotel and I have no idea what they are for. I called to get a break down of the costs and they told me I had to call back during specific hours when the manager was in. I think the front desk clerk or someone else on duty should be competent enough to handle billing enquiries. So now I'm left with an overcharge of $500 and playing phone tag to dispute an overcharge.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GFBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here 4 nights. Upon arrival the receptionist did not ask how our trip to the hotel had been and for the 1st time of all our travels around the world we had to pay the full amount beforehand. Not so much trouble, but a little strange. The room was nice, clean (however we saw a mouse one afternoon under the closet) and with a lot of antiques. If you like a quiet and roomy breakfast, you will not find it here. The space is too small for 45 rooms, however they might rebuild this, as there was some renovation going on. There is small kitchen in this area and about 5 tables, so we ended up eating our breakfast in the small lounge. The hotel is located near Gastown which was nice as there are nice places to have dinner. During our stay and at checking out, no receptionist asked if we liked our stay, which gave us a quite unpersonal feel. Maybe our expectations were too high.

Room Tip: Ask for a quietly located room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanine01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed here for our first night in Vancouver, and it was a lovely place to stay. Full of character, comfortable, and in a convenient location. Also great value. No complaints, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zenzen1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We got a room with two queen beds and a private bathroom and it was a very large and comfortable room with a bathroom that was very beautifully decorated! The beds here are very very comfortable and the bedding is high quality. It's in a true victorian building in a perfect part of town near a lot of restaurants and public transportation.

If I'm ever in Vancouver again this is the hotel for me!

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
Thank Laurenantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,529 reviews
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#57 of 92 in Vancouver
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,758 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,619 reviews
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: £63 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing