We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”
Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victorian Hotel
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We really enjoyed our experience in this unique, historical building that included great interactions with the accommodating staff. Our room was spacious and meticulously clean with a beautifully appointed bathroom, wonderful down pillows and comfortable beds. We preferred the thermostat turned much lower than where we found it, but the room cooled off overnight. Their continental breakfast was very yummy, too. All round a great find!

Room Tip: Loved the corner room with all its windows and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 816 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2011

I stayed at the Victorian Hotel for a special birthday with my boyfriend. It is in a great location for a night out. We were able to walk to walk downtown for dinner and walk through historic Gastown. Lots of great coffee shops closeby the next day. I also really loved the luxurious down bedding and the modern touches in the room. It felt like great care was taken in the decor and in the comfort of the room with the nice white towels and lots of big pillows. I will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Corner room with big windows was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

High ceilings, large corridors, windows, very Victorian. Rooms renovated, facade not yet. Clean , practical hotel to stay at reasonable price, very light continental breakfast incl and a few parking spots at $10. Back rooms are very quiet. Best Check-in service we had in a long time. King bed but a bit too soft.

Room Tip: Front rooms are deluxe but street noise especially week-ends, back rooms, superior very quiet and fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The Victorian Hotel is conveniently located within easy reach of many of Vancouver's attractions. Approximately 10-15 minutes walk to Canada Place - Vancouver's waterfront - and 20-30 minutes, depending on pace, to Stanley Park. If coming from Vancouver airport (YVR) take the skyTrain to downtown, Waterfront, turn right onto Cordova street - in the direction of gastown (old, lovely cobbled street part of Vancouver) and Homer st is one of the streets off of there on the opposite side of road going up - think like a grid. The Victorian Hotel is where Homer Street and W.Pender street cross. If you continue up Homer street you come to Yale Town - the posh side of Vancouver where all the nice bars and restaurants are. Continue along West Pender street, going to the west side of Vancouver and you'll find Robson Street where all the shopping malls are. My advice is to stay out of the east side where Chinatown is at this area is dodgy!!

The only thing I would say location wise about The Victorian Hotel is when we first arrived, W Pender street, especially victory square looks like you've wandered into the wrong neighbourhood - in fact we nicknamed it 'crack street' as it isn't without a few weirdos - especially at night, although we were never bothered it can be a little scary at times! My advice is to head into Yale Town way after dark and avoid this area.

The Hotel itself is lovely - was undergoing some renovation work when we arrived but still the staff were very friendly and happy to give out tourist information. Our room - deluxe two double beds - was gorgeous - hard wood floors, spacious, very clean, comfortable beds, fab shower and a little sofa area. It was cleaned regularly with fresh towels. There was no air con however and so the room did get quite hot (we went in August) but a standing fan was provided in the room. Also we faced W.Pender street and it did get very noisy at night.

The Breakfast is what is says it is - cereal, croissants, jam, fruit, tea and coffee. The breakfast room is small and many guests overspill into the reception area but it's a good sociable area to chat to other guests and enjoy a light breakfast. The hotel does have a storage room where you can store luggage free of charge for evening flights. There is free internet access which is fantastic and came in really handy. Only down side to the hotel is that there isn't a lift.

All in all The Victorian Hotel is comfortable, friendly and convenient and everything you really need if you've come to Vancouver to explore and you just want a place that's clean and comfortable to sleep. Wherever you stay Vancouver is a great city that mixes city life with the great outdoors and I would recommend a trip to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pip28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We rented a room for a day, post-cruise so we could clean up and stash our bags for the day... Room was on third floor, no elevators! Ended up leaving our bags in the holding room downstairs. Turns out we should have just rented locker space from this establishment as the room was very stuffy, no air-conditionning and barely big enough to move in! Shared bath needs to be taken lightly as there are three bathrooms for the whole floor, not to mention that two of them are for women only which figures as most guests seamed to be playing for the other team!

Room Tip: First floor with cross ventilation in the summer would be a wise bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marquestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed in a room with private bathroom. The room was big enough, plenty of space to put our stuff and the bed was very comfortable. The room was located on the first floor so we were a bit afraid of the street noise but the isolation was good enough. The hotel is also very well located in town. Breakfast was not very big but sufficient with fresh fruits and yoghurt. The only minus was the parking. We had quite a big car and the parking spaces are quite small (especially if other big cars are already parked), we had some problems to get in and out the parking space. Overall a very good hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mobiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I found a gem in the heart of Vancouver. The Victoria Hotel is on the edge of Gastown, and is an old mansion converted to beautiful rooms with lovely furnishings. One would never know from the street that it is such a treasure. The hotel is old, and the furnishings are showing their age, but I loved every moment. It was inexpensive, included a great breakfast, and the staff were each warm and helpful.
I had a room with a shared bathroom outside my door. It was a slight inconvenience, but the room comes with a robe and since it is a small boutique hotel, the halls were empty.
It is my new favourite.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surfergirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
425 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,777 reviews
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,550 reviews
Granville Street
Moda Hotel
Moda Hotel
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
932 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: £60 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing