We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite surprised!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Victorian Hotel
Ranked #38 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quite surprised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed for 1 night and was quite surprised about this little boutique hotel. I had the deluxe room which was clean and comfortable. I enjoyed my stay and this was a indeed rare find in the heart of downtown vancouver!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bacsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    279
    107
    39
    22
See reviews for
99
332
65
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed in a deluxe king room in August 2011 for 3 nights. The room was on a corner on the second floor overlooking two busy streets. Someone did help us up the stairs with our baggage, which i greatly appreciated, The traffic noise did not bother us, though it might bother some people. There were renovations going on---rebuilding the front steps--but it was not really a problem for us. Our room was spacious and nice and clean, the decor quirky mix of old and new furnishings.

There was a coffee maker but no coffee was provided until the third day, when the houskeeper made a point of letting us know she was giving us some. I had a feeling she did not want to clean the coffeemaker each day, and therefore did not provide coffee. Pure speculation on my part.

Breakfast was not very appetizing, except for a lot of fresh blueberries and a large bowl of yogurt and some rolls. I like to know the fat content of yogurt because of dietary issues, but that was an unknown. Coffee was OK, not great, and as others have pointed out, the conditions for dining are extremely cramped, and totally inadequat for the number of guests.

The location on the edge of Gastown, is great; I am not sure I would stay again unless the price was better than what we paid) (we paid C$175.00 per night and $15. night for parking). We were on vacation.

There were several computers available for guest use, and we appreciated this as we had not brought our own

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theos_leftluggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I enjoyed my stay in the Victorian. It's a beautiful old building and it's centrally located with Gastown, Chinatown and Yaletown within reach. Room was clean and comfortable, as were the shared bathrooms/showers.

There were a few weird quirks, though, probably due to the age of the building. My room had a desk with a coffee maker on it, but no plug nearby. I had to balance the coffeemaker on the (tiny) TV to get close enough to an outlet. Also, I spent 3 nights and my bed was never made/changed and my room was never cleaned. Not a huge deal, as I don't need clean sheets every night, but I ran out of towels and coffee after the 2nd morning. The cleaning staff finally stopped by late on the 3rd afternoon, but I was in the room resting from my busy day and so I just sent them on their way.

Overall, I would recommend the Victorian as long as you don't need anything fancy and aren't expecting turn-down service and chocolates on your pillow.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grampawp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed in a standard double room, which was a great price and we never had any problems when needing the use the shared bathroom, there is a sink in the bedroom too to alleviate any extra demands. The bed was wonderful and we slept brilliantly, despite being somewhat noisy outside our bedroom, and even our small bedroom was equipped with an iron and ironing board, kettle, ipod dock and TV, we were very impressed. Everything was very clean and well maintained, and the breakfast catered well enough for our tastes- coffee and tea available all day as well.

The location is fantastic too, you really can't beat it for what's involved, it's a 5 minute walk to Gastown with some great restaurants and gift shops, 15 minutes to the waterfront and main shopping area and only a 10 minute walk to the Rogers Arena- great to watch the Vancouver Canucks in action!

However, we were staying before Christmas and weren't told of the closing time of the hotel when we made our booking or checked in. All previous reviews said how hospitable the staff were in being able to store luggage for later departures. Whilst we totally understand that they wish to close early on Christmas Eve, we'd have appreciated being told when either booking or checking in, and perhaps in a more polite way than occurred on the day. Other than that we loved our stay!

Room Tip: If you're on a budget, the standard rooms are a great value and the shared bathrooms are kept ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We really enjoyed our experience in this unique, historical building that included great interactions with the accommodating staff. Our room was spacious and meticulously clean with a beautifully appointed bathroom, wonderful down pillows and comfortable beds. We preferred the thermostat turned much lower than where we found it, but the room cooled off overnight. Their continental breakfast was very yummy, too. All round a great find!

Room Tip: Loved the corner room with all its windows and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

I stayed at the Victorian Hotel for a special birthday with my boyfriend. It is in a great location for a night out. We were able to walk to walk downtown for dinner and walk through historic Gastown. Lots of great coffee shops closeby the next day. I also really loved the luxurious down bedding and the modern touches in the room. It felt like great care was taken in the decor and in the comfort of the room with the nice white towels and lots of big pillows. I will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Corner room with big windows was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

High ceilings, large corridors, windows, very Victorian. Rooms renovated, facade not yet. Clean , practical hotel to stay at reasonable price, very light continental breakfast incl and a few parking spots at $10. Back rooms are very quiet. Best Check-in service we had in a long time. King bed but a bit too soft.

Room Tip: Front rooms are deluxe but street noise especially week-ends, back rooms, superior very quiet and fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#18 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Property: Victorian Hotel
Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Victorian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing