We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”
Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victorian Hotel
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Friends recommended the Victorian Hotel to my wife and I. From the moment we walked in until our check out it was simply a fantastic experience. The hotel is in a great location. Close to Gastown, and Coal Harbor. The staff was really friendly and gave us free bikes to tour around Stanley Park. The free breakfast was a treat as we got to chat with other guests and learn about the sights. But the room is what sealed the deal! It was huge with bay windows and comfy furniture, a sitting area and the most inviting bed we have ever slept in. I didn’t want to leave. This hotel is unique, not like a franchise and offers a memorable and wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The one with the bay windows :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexDalMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    312
    115
    44
    24
See reviews for
107
377
70
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, BC, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The Hotel is an old hotel that has been renovated very well. Old style rooms, with antique furniture and the most comfortable beds and pillows I've seen in awhile. The location at Homer and Dunsmuir/Pender in the Vancouver downtown area is extremely convenient to restaurants, theatres, and a short walk to Gastown. Not much for amenities, but the rates were very reasonable and my stay there was excellent. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

I booked this place because we like nice small hotels that has personality. And they do. I like how they keep the old building clean and fill up with nice antique furnitures.

Unfortunately, one receptionist lady was not nice enough to point out a parking spot. The public parking next door she mentioned didn't open the gate (The security guy of the parking through the intercom said they are only for employees of that building, not for customer or public.) so I asked her again if the building is right, or there is a certain system to park there. And she said, "What? What do you mean you can't park? I don't know, pay! I'm not working for a parking lot." with a very irritating looking. (maybe because I was not a native English speaker and that annoyed her, or just because I'm Asian. Wait, that sounds even worse!)

First of all, we do pay for our parking when we need to.
Secondary, you are not working for a parking lot but you are for the hotel. You have to introduce it right, otherwise your customers are not even able to check in!
And you said "you don't know"? We had just arrived there from Seattle, with a cranky 2 year old crying most of the driving, how on earth were we supposed to know better than you?

In an unfamiliar neighborhood, we took over an hour to find a secure public parking that we can park over night, with helps of nice people on a street.

After I mentioned "manager" at checking in, the lady offered us an upgraded room for the night.

You have to know that we didn't want a nicer room, we needed a better service (or even just a right introduction to a parking spot at least.)

The hotel itself has its original mood. I just wish I had a nicer experience with other clerks. I really wanted to like it.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momoconleche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Momoconleche,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your Trip Advisor comment. To start, I wish to offer our sincerest apologies to you and your family. I know only too well how frustrating it must be to finally arrive at your destination, only to hear that you still have to find secure parking. The fact that there were two options within a block of the hotel is of little comfort if one is full and the other has closed for the evening. I have to believe that our front desk agent was caught off guard by that as well. When we learned that our on-site lot was going to be closed, we took every conceivable measure to alert our registered guests, from e-mails and phone calls, to OTA alerts. However, even the best laid plans can be undermined by unforeseen circumstances. Nonetheless, we could have done a much better job of handling this issue and directing you to a suitable parking alternative. In the future, we will have a plan-“C”, at least. If I was your two year old I too would have been cranky. And for that sir, I wish to again extend our sincere apologies. And I know that absent the parking experience, you and your family would have indeed liked the stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This property may grow to be a euro shabby chic favourite. I often choose the Sylvia Hotel and therefore can see the potential in this one but...they are under renovation and are at stretched ability staying open at the same time I think. The Sylvia has the sea-wall, this one no real redeaming location but you can walk to Pacific Center, and Harbour Center, Gastown
The awesome:
Nice beds and bedding, skylight in room, lovely furniture, great toiletries, lovely basic remodelled bathrooms, computerr in hallway, wireless, Breakfast has cereal, some pastries, yogurt and fruit, Coffee shop at top of street. Can easily walk from Canada line if you are ambalatory as its a bit uphill. Night staff was friendly.

Not so awesome:
backhoe renovating started outside room at 8 am made doing phone business or sleeping hard, fire alarm went off in the AM, no elevator ..only 2 floors and its not hard but if you are disabled or weak please note. Room was small if you want to stay a while and like to spend some time in the room but I think there are bigger offerings
Breakfast tables not cleaned between guests and I chose a washed coffee cup that was still dirty. Given its a large international city with international guests, table wiping with antiviral or vinegar etc should be important hygene
Its as far east on West Pender as you would want to go if you like to roam around alone at night....definately worth considering the buddy system and chosing streets wisely.
No restaurants very close. One darkly lit one I noted after called Peno. Others are about 4 or 5 blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoinPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This property is probably a solid 3.5, but that wasn't an option. Depending on where you search, The Victorian is described as a hotel and a B&B. I'd agree the feel is a bit of a combination of the 2. They have several room types (some with shared bathrooms), so be sure of what you actually booked when you arrive at the hotel. We were checked into the wrong room at first, until I quickly realized it didn't look like the photos I had seen and I asked to change rooms.

The hotel is located in a fairly decent area that is close walking distance to lots of great shopping, food and other Vancouver attractions. However, it is on the fringe of some sketchy areas, so you should be aware of that if you are a first time visitor.

We were in a Luxury Victorian room facing W. Pender. It happened to be a Canucks game night the first night we were there and the noise was unbearable! The windows barely insulate the street noise and it was pretty chaotic till about 4am...and then at about 5am we heard what sounded like gunshots! Sooooo, second night we made sure we had ear plugs. The good news was the area was a lot quieter (no game), but the noise from the street was still very loud. You can also hear guests in other rooms.

The room we had was a decent size and had a nicely renovated bathroom, and some cool furniture. There wasn't a single bit of info about the Hotel or anything else right in the room, but we did notice they had some brochures in the lobby area. They don't seem to promote the "green" programs that other hotels do...like encouraging guests to hang up their towels if they want to reuse them. We hung ours up, but they had been replaced (minus one) when the room was cleaned. We didn't leave a note though, so fair enough. They may want to consider the towel reuse program.

The continental breakfast was pretty basic and the breakfast area quite crowded. The small, but secure parking area was tight and off a back alley. They had free wireless. There was no A/C. No elevators.

We're not entirely sure if we'd stay again, but the price was pretty good and the location is great if you are familiar with Vancouver, and know where to go and where you may not want to walk past dark. I'm sure the hotel staff would offer assistance in this regard.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you will probably want to avoid rooms facing W. Pender. There is no elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynlouhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here and we were greeted warmly each and every time we came in. We were given a map for what restaurants to eat at and where to visit. The sheets were superb, the complimentary robe was immaculate. It was centrally located within walking distance of everything in Vancouver. The breakfasts filled us and satisfied us
We would recommend this hotel to anyone

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank melkiemor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Best value!
Lovely room with king size bed. Excellent location.
We went to the wine festival and walked back after, no taxi required!
Hotel parking is limited but is secure and for $15, it is worth requesting.

Room Tip: Choose king bed with bathroom. They do have rooms with shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
405 reviews
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
1,703 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,719 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Property: Victorian Hotel
Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Victorian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing