We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely little gem so close to the Queen E theatre”
Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victorian Hotel
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Campbell River, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“lovely little gem so close to the Queen E theatre”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed for one night and decided to save $ and do the shared bathroom. The room was small by North American standards, but very clean, fresh paint and the shared bathrooms were plentiful. Bathrooms have been redone and are stylish with lots of tile and plenty of hot water for shower. Front desk staff were an international crowd and very pleasant and friendly and helpful. All in all, a delightful find in Vancouver. Its also very easy to get to from the Horseshoe Bay ferry terminal by bus, a great feature for Vancouver Island visitors.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rvalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear RVALEN, Thanks for submitting your review. It's refreshing to hear your genuine appreciation for our property and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    312
    115
    44
    24
See reviews for
107
377
70
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Great value for a very centrally located hotel. Over the past several years the owners have done a fantastic job of updating the rooms, several at a time. The larger, deluxe king rooms offer lots of space, stylish furnishings, and have excellent beds. The hotel has a very comfortable European pensionne feel to it. The hotel also has a number of very affordable traveler rooms (with shared common bathroom). Have stayed in these before and they are equally well appointed, just smaller and lacking private bath. If you are looking for a unique place to stay, with loads of character, give this a try. Great food options to be had in the immed vicinity, with Finches (directly across the st) offering the finest sandwich to be had in downtown Vanc. Nuba is a great lunch or dinner destination and a bundle of fine cafe's to be tried (revolver, jj bean, 49th parallel).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastvancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Many thanks for your comments Eastvancity. I love your comparison of the Victorian Hotel and a European pensionne, or is that pension? Either way, I think the reference speaks volumes about the look and feel of our property and I thank you for your observations. We all look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel was undergoing some reconstruction during our staying, but it looked promising :) The works should be finished by the end of spring and it'll look very nice :)
Our room (one of the "suites" with bathroom included) was big, clean and comfortable.
Plus, the hotel is in a great position, close to almost everything in Downtown.

Our only problem was the breakfast, we didn't like it, but there's a great restaurant right in front of the hotel (Finch's) that served amazing breakfasts.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MightyMel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear MightyMe182, I must say your personal traveler photo has a trend-setting dash of sartorial, Victorian-style splendor. Many thanks for your review and we're glad you found true value with us, sans breakie. Please look us up again for your next visit to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deroche, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

After being unable to book a room at my regular hotel, I searched and came across the Victorian Hotel.
Reservations were made and my request for a room with en suite bath was easily made with the assistance of staff.

The hotel is currently undergoing renovations, but was extremely clean.
Our room was very clean, comfortable and reasonably priced for such a large, comfortable suite.
My only issue was the parking, or lack thereof.

But the staff were helpful with providing locations to park and we found that Easy Park lot (3) at 535 Richards was the best value - $9.35 for hours.

All in all, it was a great place to stay and I look forward to coming back again to stay when time and finances allow.

Room Tip: room 207 is awesome as it is at the end of the hall with no noise or disturbances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Brandis, we're sure glad you found us and thank you for the review. We are very close to finishing the renovations which means we'll soon get our full parking lot back. We look forward to seeing you during the Canucks' play-off run!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Pros: The decor was Victorianesque. It was pretty close to things to do and places to eat. There was a really cool bar right nearby called EXP; it's for gamers and we found it highly entertaining. Complimentary breakfast was good. Shampoo and conditioner provided in the shower were fine.

Weird: The room had a stand-alone sink, which is important because the whole level shares a few bathrooms (toilets + shower). That was the strangest thing to me, but fortunately I didn't have to get up in the middle of the night to use the restroom.

Cons: The room was small, but it's only there for sleeping anyway. The blasted seagulls woke me up at 6:30am. They were painting during the day and requested we go around to the other staircase (there was another staircase?), so there were dropcloths all over the place and some paint on the carpet. The conceirge was not particularly friendly, but maybe Canada doesn't train it's people to be overly friendly (the servers at restaurants were friendly, so it was probably the dude just being no friendly). Checking out, the lady concierge didn't ask how our stay was, so I forgot to tell her the hairdryer didn't work.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Dear Dian S., thank you for submitting your review. And thank you as well for enduring the final day of our painting project. I genuinely regret that you misunderstood our shared bath concept when you booked one of our economy rooms. Like you said it was unique to you. Sorry about that. Also your perception of the desk staff is a surprise, as if anything, I have to temper their ebullience. Hopefully you will give us another opportunity to display our true colours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My self and my boyfriend just spent 2 nights here and found it wonderful. We stayed in a King Room and paid the extra for a Private Bathroom. The room was small but we expected this. Bathroom was across the hall but worked out well for us.
The hotel did have a lot of outside noise and we could here the people above walking around but thats what happens with older buildings.
The staff did not interact with us much at all but we did see them interact more with other guests.
Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra for a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamela81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Tamela81, I'd like to start by thanking you for your great review. Secondly, I'm at a loss for words with respect to you not getting a healthy dose of Victorian Hotel staff interaction. That's just it., rarely does our staff lack words to say to ALL our visitors. Make sure you raise this issue on your next visit and we'll chat your ear off! Be careful what you wish for and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We loved staying here! It was classy, had character, including a suit of armor (!), and they upgraded us for free when we arrived. The staff was friendly and the rooms were beautiful. I would travel back to Vancouver just to stay here again. It was in a perfect location, within walking distance of shops, restaurants, the steam clock, and not too far from the port where our cruise ship was leaving from the next day. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: It was nice having a room with its own private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Travel1821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear "Love2travel1821", what a wonderful review. Thank you very much and bon voyage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
405 reviews
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
1,706 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,719 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Property: Victorian Hotel
Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Victorian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing