We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place For The Price!”
Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victorian Hotel
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Victorian (Sun, May 12th) one night before we were to embark on our Alaska Cruise. We generally had a wonderful experience. The reviews (from this website), price and location (close to the harbor) was the primary reason why we chose this hotel. Sharing a bathroom and shower was not a concern. First I will note the negatives. Given the historical time it was built, the room was of course small, no air-conditioner, walls paper-thin and the floor creeks when you walk on them. Furthermore, the hotel does not have any elevators, which would have been a problem had our room been higher than the 2nd Floor, (although you can get someone to help you with your luggage if you ask). The little room provided for the continental breakfast was not sufficient for everyone, as there were people waiting to get a seat at 7:30 am, Monday morning. Lastly, the area around the hotel was a little dilapidated. However, we did feel safe walking around nonetheless.

With all that being said, the room was quaint and had a sink and a flat screen TV. We had no problem rolling our luggage down the street to the docks from this hotel. Which saved additional costs for a taxi drive just a few blocks away. The staff was very nice. My wife lost her wedding ring down the sink (moment of panic!) and the next morning the manager was able to fish it out without any trouble. Bottom line, for a good price and a short stay, this place was perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor room if available. Limited space for the continental breakfast, be wary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutcher c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you Dutcher C for taking the time to comment on your stay. Often when people write in I have some doubt about which room they were in. In your case it is clear as I was the one who retrieved your charming wife's wedding band. Those room types are our "double w/shared bath'. They represent our economy offerings and I'm so glad you appreciated the value.
Again, many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 816 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

I stayed at the Victorian in March following a recommendation from a friend. The hotel is great value for money and in a fantastic location, especially for Gastown. The staff were extremely helpful and even cleaned a hirebike for me to cycle the Sea Wall Walk and was well priced (highly recommended!). I had initially booked a small double, which was close to the stairs on the first floor, but after a noisy first night I was moved and upgraded to a larger room on the second floor.

The only thing to be aware of is that there are steep steps to the reception and no lifts inside, which for a female with a bulging suitcase, made it quite difficult to access.

Room Tip: The fans in the bathrooms can be quite load so ideally get a room away from the stairs and bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Wow MissW123! that's a terrific review. It does the heart good to hear such a positive blast. You write very well, and you're fun to read. From all us us at the Victorian, thank you and hurry back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We chose this hotel for its price and also convenience to the waterfront passenger terminal and the access to light rail to the airport.
WE made the right choice.
This gorgeous old private hotel has been totally restored and offers all the comforts of modern motels. Rooms not large but plenty of room for the 2 of us plus all our bulky luggage.
We chose a room without ensuite and found that the shared bathroom was spacious, always immaculate and only shared by one or 2 other guests.
A light breakfast is included (cereal, toast, fruit, pastries, tea and coffee but we suggest you avoid the 8am peak period. Breakfast room is not large but a delightful place to make a tea and coffee anytime.
Only 2 blocks from the waterfront/ entertainment and conference centre and light rail terminus.
Buses at front door and many restaurants within 300 meters of hotel.
Staff were extremely helpful with directions and advice for things to do.
WE recommend Victorian Hotel to anyone who seeks quality at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Dont be afraid to have a room with shared bathroom. The bathrooms are plentiful and always kept spot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemlister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you so very much for your comprehensive review Gemlister. Your comments speak to a true appreciation of value, comfort and heritage. It's almost like a submission from a travel writer. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and certainly look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This hotel is within a 10 minute walk to the sky train station and in the heart of downtown Vancouver. Room 103 has 3 bay windows and was surprisingly quiet considering it's proximity to the street. The breakfast in the am was ample with chocolate croissants, bagels, granola, tea, coffee, juice etc. The bed was divine. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveKrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Thank you so very much for your enthusiastic review Mr. Krocker. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The bed was comfortable and the room and bathrooms were clean. There was a cool suit of armor, which gave the hotel a distinct feel. The staff was friendly and helpful. They gave me directions to tourist spots and suggestions to other things I could do in this great city. Plus the food was tasty.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Well thank you so much Jessie C., it's always a pleasure to have such enthusiastic travelers like yourself stay with us. Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

What a lovely little place! I recently checked in for a six-day stay and my second trip to Vancouver (previously I stayed at the Sutton Place Hotel, but this time I'm on a tight budget), and what a pleasant surprise! It's within walking distance of the Canada Line sky train, right by Gastown and a wide array of restaurants, and inside it is an adorable B&B type space. They upgraded my room before I arrived, and there is wifi and breakfast in the package. The staff is terrific as well. All around delightful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MinaRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Dear Minarunner, your review is high praise, especially from someone from the "Big Apple" thank you so very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Our trip was for business and pleasure; therefore, location was a must. We thought this hotel would just be for a place to sleep and to hold our belongings... It was that and so much more. THANK YOU!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

No, THANK YOU! What a simply wonderful review Nicole H.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
425 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,778 reviews
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,551 reviews
Granville Street
Moda Hotel
Moda Hotel
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
932 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: £60 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing