We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victorian Hotel
Ranked #38 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights earlier this month and found this hotel to be just the ticket.

A 5 minute walk from the Waterfront Skytrain station, which on on the direct line from the airport. Nice bars, shops and cafes nearby, and close the Canada Place if you're heading off on a cruise, or just like to gawk at the liners.

Our room has shared facilities which suited us fine, the bathrooms were clean (and always availble) and the bedrooms too were spotless and very comfortable. Quality linen and beautiful polished wood floors.

The complimentary breakfast was a bonus too, enougn tea, coffee, toast, cereals and pastries to set you up for the day. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you very much Stumblebee, ( I love your handle).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
There are newer reviews for Victorian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night while waiting to board a cruise. I'd read some of the TA reviews beforehand, but decided that one night would be okay. It was MORE than okay. The location was perfect for us. The reservation process was simple, and I like that the hotel confirms your stay right away via email. The room (king suite with private bath) was lovely, with hardwood floors and clean linens. The room and bathroom were updated but still had an old-fashioned and European B&B vibe to it: marble and wood. The tub was a little tall to climb out of for a small person. The front desk was courteous and informative. The breakfast was continental plus: fruit, cereal, toast, rolls, yogurt and coffee. In the front of the hotel, there are steep stairs that some might find challenging. If you have stayed in B&Bs, you would love this little find.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the private bath.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you so very much for your charming review Lady Bellvue. We're glad to have exceeded your expectations and love it when a guest appreciates our hotel's certain unique style.
Hope to see you on your next trip to town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. It is in walking distance to the Gasworks neighborhood and very convenient to public transportation which we used the whole trip. The manager (Bryan) was helpful and even drove a few of us to the airport so we wouldn't have to get two taxis-wow! PS Their free breakfast was quite healthy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becky h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dearest Becky, your whole group were just wonderful and it was a pleasure to help get you to the train station, given the bedlam with the cabs that day. Remember, threes a charm, so we're really looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights to go to the Timbers vs Whitecaps game and do some sight seeing. The building is as cute in person as on the website, and I loved how they maintained the old timey vibe while still providing some modern accents. I was a little worried at first as to sharing a bathroom with other guests, but it was not a problem at all, and in 4 days we only had one issue with another hotel guest hogging the shower room for almost an hour while they not only showered but did their hair and makeup (however, this isn't the fault of the hotel, just an inconsiderate guest). The chocolate croissants in the mornings were delicious. The wifi was easy to connect to and reasonably fast. The location was within easy walking distance of most of what we wanted to see and seemed like a reasonably safe area, though it was kind of on the outskirts of the well trafficked area, but I still felt perfectly safe. The only issues were that I wish they provided more soap/lotion and a more secure place to leave bags if you arrive before check in (they just store them all in the breakfast nook). Also, we were close to the main staircase so it was a little noisy in the morning, but we planned on rising early so it wasn't a problem. Overall, it was a wonderful stay and we would consider returning.

Room Tip: Rooms farther from main stair case might be less noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Well thank you very much for your detailed review D85. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and I'm sure you were happy your team came back for a tie. As for the shower diva, She must have been a Timbers fan as we found green body paint on the towels. Hope to see you again in the play-offs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We were in Vancouver for just one night, and found the Victorian when looking for places to stay within walking distance of Rogers Arena. We were pleasantly surprised to find we were central to nearly everywhere we wanted to go, and didn't once need our car. Two blocks from Gastown, 6-7 blocks from the Arena.. and found great places to eat in between. The host and hostess were very friendly, and made us feel very welcome. We took advantage of the paid secured parking, and never worried about the car. (It is first come, first serve, as there are only 7-8 spots, and we were able to check in early, in order to get a parking spot). The bed was very comfortable, the rooms were very clean and the overall ambience of the hotel was magical. Tastefully decorated and not overdone. We are already planning a return trip to see more of the city.

Room Tip: Most rooms are shared bathrooms (a European Boutique hotel feeling)!.. however we were given room #2...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank outandabout912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Cheers to you Outandabout! What a delightfully energetic review.We thank you so much and look forward to your next stay with us.
Just a F.Y.I., we have 28 rooms with en-suites and 19 economy rooms that share 6 bathrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This hotel is well priced for a fairly central location only a few minutes walk from Gastown, unfortunately the surrounding streets are pretty run down. The rooms and hallways are very smart and clean, as are the shared bathrooms. very comfortable beds and bedding. I don't think that many of the rooms have carpets, which is a mistake in a hotel as we were woken up early by a child running around upstairs. We were also kept awake one night by a loud generator or something running across the street. The breakfast was basic but good (bagels, chocolate croissants, cereal, yogurt).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_A_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thanks for the review Mike-A. We're so sorry your stay was disrupted by the back-up generator noise. As it happens, the power went out next door at our province's power authority-BC Hydro. Ironic? Maybe. horrendous to listen to? Absolutely. It has to be a rare event and again, we're very sorry you had to endure it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was our first stay at the Victorian Hotel. We booked a large room with King size bed and bathroom along with a request for roll away for our teenage son. The rooms were very clean w/free WiFi. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the local area activities and directions. The morning breakfast was a nice addition as well so that we were able to grab a quick bite without having to worry about finding something to eat out or purchasing and keeping in the room . Get to breakfast early, as the dining area fills quickly and there are only about 8 tables. We would stay here again if in town.

Room Tip: Our room was right on the lobby floor on the street... was initially concerned as it was very noisy...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AutoCAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Many thanks for the recommendation Autocad. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and impressed that you got your teenager up for breakfast!
We hope to see you next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
414 reviews
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,742 reviews
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: £63 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing