We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best budget option”
Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victorian Hotel
Ranked #37 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best budget option”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed for 5 days at the start of our 5 week Canadian holiday and enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the decor of the rooms and rest of the hotel was really nice. We stayed in the double room which had everything you needed but it was a bit on the cozy size, particularly as we were in town for the BC Bike Race and we had 3 bags and a boxed mountain bike between the two of us! But we were already aware of what the rooms were like and this hotel was much better than our next option which was a backpackers hostel. Once the bike had been put together the hotel staff let us keep it in the basement which was great. The central location was definitely a bonus, and most of the major sights are within a short walk or bike ride. The shared bathrooms weren't an issue and were always clean. We never had to wait to use the showers or toilets. Breakfast was basic but filling and of good quality, the only thing missing was juice. Overall a great choice for those wanting a clean, comfy budget option but are over staying at backpackers hostels.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you so much for your comments Alice M. It was a pleasure having you both stay with us, as your energy and friendly attitude was infectious. We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    299
    109
    42
    23
See reviews for
102
360
67
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackstone, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

5 minute walk from the central station right in the middle of downtown. Free breakfast and wi-fi was a plus. You could seriously walk just about anywhere from this hotel. Shared bathrooms take a little getting used to. I might've shelled out some more money for a private, but I was on a budget. Staff was excellent. Especially Brian...whom I hope tried that Pourhouse burger I told him about. Overall this place gets the job done as far as hotels go. My return trip would include this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jmw4golf17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Hey JMW thanks for the review. It was a real pleasure having you with us and yes, the cheeseburger was "All world" so were the Manhattans...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
491 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel is a steep climb from the Station. Aged people and travellers with heavy luggage need fitness or have to hire a cab for the short 15 min walking distance from the station to the hotel. You also need to carry your luggage up or down a steep flight of stairs should you get a 2nd story room. The reception is a happy place and everybody who mans the place throughout the day are always eager to help you should you face any problems (which I haven't faced any during my 5 days stay at Vancouver. It is located centrally in the city and most of the sightseeing places are within walking distance.
The bathrooms may not be attached with your rooms but they are a treat to go to. They are really royal rooms and you start to feel like a king when you are in them, they are so lavishly decorated that they can put the 5-stars to shame, and the nos are adequate for the floor. Breakfast is simple but sufficient.
The rooms are adequate if not big and the bed is comfortable too. Coffee and tea is provided but the best part is that the coffee maker in the breakfast room is on throughout the day and after a tiring day of sightseeing, the free coffee is welcome.
Overall, I would again like to stay here if I visit Vancouver, in future.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the front side for a good view from the bay windows while you are having a cuppa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_B_Maitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Many thanks for your review Doctor B. I must say, I'm not sure if our Deluxe rooms put 5 Star suites to shame but we're certainly very proud of them. I should also point out that guests arriving by Sky Train from the airport, can get off at the Granville station and the walk is only 3 blocks (from the Dunsmuir exit) and more or less down hill. My kind of stroll. Many thanks again sir, and please look us up on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights prior to departing on a cruise and then again for 1 night on our return. On both occasions staff were friendly and helpful and our room was clean and comfortable with a king-size bed and an ensuite bathroom. The hotel is beautifully restored and furnished with period style furniture and located close to shopping and dining districts and the cruise terminal. Our only complaint was that there are no elevators and it was difficult to manoeuvre 2 large suitcases up the 2 flights of stairs. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Well thank you so very much for your kind words and recommendation Julie L. I regret you had to struggle with your luggage. We try to help with bags every chance we get but obviously we missed your work-out and for that I'm sorry. But It sounds like you had a great stay in Vancouver and we certainly look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spent two nights here. We had a hockey game to see one night and a concert the next. This hotel is in a great location to walk to venues, restaurants and shopping. We booked a deluxe room. The price was great. The room was a corner suite, large and clean. We had our own bathroom. The bed was king size and super comfortable. Nice linens and king size increadibly comfortable pillows. Best hotel bed I've had. Housekeeping was great.
I loved the charm the building had. Check-in and check-out was quick and easy. I will be back.

Room Tip: This hotel has both shared and private bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
I sure envy the both of you. You pulled off the "Ultimate Get-Away Hat-Trick"
A Road Trip, a Concert and a Hockey Game. Oh, and a great sleep. Nice!
Thank you Andrea W and we all look forward to seeing you again next time. Maybe live theater and a football game? It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This lovely Victorian inspired hotel exceeded my expectations! Great beds with crisp white sheets and duvet....deluxe! I slept in comfort. Bathrooms spotless, with bathmats and towels that were changed out twice per day. The shampoo was natural and contained lovely smelling essential oils.
I enjoyed the organic feel, victorian decor and quaintness of the hotel.
Breakfast was visually appealing, and yummy. Great start to the day!
Handy to shopping, restaurants, coffee shops, and major transportation. Staff were courteous, friendly and helpful.
I highly recommend this gem. I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Our thanks to you S.L. for such an inspired review. It is such a treat to hear from someone who so genuinely embraces the Victorian Hotel concept. We can't wait to have you back again and try one of our deluxe rooms next time. Until then, many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights earlier this month and found this hotel to be just the ticket.

A 5 minute walk from the Waterfront Skytrain station, which on on the direct line from the airport. Nice bars, shops and cafes nearby, and close the Canada Place if you're heading off on a cruise, or just like to gawk at the liners.

Our room has shared facilities which suited us fine, the bathrooms were clean (and always availble) and the bedrooms too were spotless and very comfortable. Quality linen and beautiful polished wood floors.

The complimentary breakfast was a bonus too, enougn tea, coffee, toast, cereals and pastries to set you up for the day. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you very much Stumblebee, ( I love your handle).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 90 in Vancouver
1,613 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 90 in Vancouver
2,381 reviews
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Property: Victorian Hotel
Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Victorian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing