We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”
Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victorian Hotel
Ranked #37 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Ponce Inlet, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights in the family suite. We had three double beds with bathroom. It was on the back alley with three large windows that could be opened. 6 adults (3 couples-all related) fit comfortably. The front desk was very helpful with lunch reservations, ice when asked for, extra towels and calling for a taxi. Continental breakfast was fruit, Greek yogurt, croissants, coffee, cereal and tea. We highly recommend this hotel, close to the cruise port and in Gastown.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettysac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Well thank you very much for your kind words Bettysac. "A family that cruises together, stays together". Or something like that. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    293
    109
    42
    23
See reviews for
100
355
67
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My wife was attending a Chemistry conference in Vancouver for 5 days. I tagged along and we added a few days before and after to sight see. We stayed at the Victorian for 10 days.

We found the Victorian clean with really comfortable beds. The staff were very friendly and the location was excellent: 5 to 30 minute walk from Stanley Park, Gastown, Convention Centre, Waterfront skytrain station.

The complimentary breakfast was simple but tasty and filling, and since we were a five minute walk from Gastown there were lots of restaurants to choose from.

As per other reviews, there was maintenance work going on while we were there, but they were very careful to work during the day so noise was not a problem.

Room Tip: We were in room 211 which had a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WuliNuChem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Many thanks Wulinuchem. It was a pleasure having all the chemists and their significant "tag-a-longs" with us for almost the entire week. It sounds like you got the best of the convention, in a fashion, and we sure look forward to seeing you on your next swing through Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I found the Staff to be great. They were helpful and pleasant, in dealing with several different people, they were all a joy. The place itself, our room had a vintage feel, complete with a hardwood floor. The shared bathrooms were being renovated. The ones that were already complete, were super modern. Probably the fanciest bathroom I've ever showered in. I'm not complaining. The hotel itself was very noisy though. The front doors were all wonky, and every time someone came in or out, they would close hard, creating a slam noise. The in and out of the people in the rooms around you could be easily (and annoyingly) be heard as well. The breakfast provided was underwhelming. Greek yogurt, fruit, bread and coffee. I expected a few more options. On a final note, although the location was centralized and easy to access public transportation (or even walk), it is on the outskirts of Chinatown which is where an overwhelming amount of drug addicts reside. Although we were never pestered by them, it's something to think about.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meagan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Many thanks for your review Megan S. I must say your opinion of our shared washrooms is high praise indeed.
For the uninitiated, these new facilities are for the private use of those staying in our economy rooms. 3 separate, men's and women's washrooms are shared by no more than 8 rooms so rarely does one ever have to wait. In addition, all the economy rooms have their own sinks, full mirrors hairdryers and bath robes.
As for the front door, the timing of your comments are amazing. It has been replaced today, putting a happy end to the "Grand Slam".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked our room online where there were no options to specify where in the hotel we wanted to be, and when we arrived we were told our room was on the third floor - with heavy bags and no lifts this was not ideal. Our room smelt strongly of the previous occupant's aftershave and despite all our attempts to air the room this never fully disappeared. The third floor rooms are very hot: even though it was a cool night and we had the window open from our arrival and all through the night, and the fan on, it was a very uncomfortable night. Upon asking the lady at reception about this, she said they were thinking about air con, they really need to be thinking harder about this!

The bed was comfortable, the room tiny but pretty, and the shared bathrooms get 5 stars, very high standard indeed.

A continental breakfast was included, but their idea of a continental breakfast was far from what we would expect. There was mediocre tea and coffee, fairly stale croissants, very good bread, cheapo Kraft jam, tinned fruit, cereal and yoghurt. No fresh fruit despite it being summer, nothing other than cheap strawberry jam, no cold meats or cheeses, and when I asked for fruit juice I was looked at as if I had two heads! Water only... According to the lady, people rave about the croissants, but these really weren't good. You also had to scrape your own plate and put it in the washing up bowl, like being back at school.

We would not stay here again, particularly at that price, but at least the bathrooms and bread were good.

Room Tip: Avoid 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Bump2A, thank you for submitting your review. I'm sorry we didn't have a chance to offer you a more suitable room. That said, your comments serve to assist us in improving our operation and we certainly take them into consideration. Although we don't provide meats and cheese with our continental breakfast, fresh fruit is on the way and the heat has been turned off for the summer. On a lighter note, we are considering banning Axe cologne for men. Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Segundo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Victorian Hotel for 3 nights. Here are the reasons why I don't recommend this hotel:

1. The hotel is very noisy. Since early you can hear people talking, the maid cleaning other rooms, and noises from the street. The worst was our last morning. The hotel was changing the carpet of the aisle and they never warned us that we would wake up to the noise of construction right in front of our door!
2. They have lost all their gate clickers. You have to walk out the car every single time to ask them to open the gate. Sometimes we had to wait a couple of minutes because nobody was in the reception area.
3. They misquoted us for the parking fee. We paid the first night and when checking out, they charged us $20 extra.
4. The staff is not that friendly.

The only positive thing was the location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Ivette, it stings to hear you were disappointed with your stay with us. I knew we were going to run into some grief with the carpet installation, and yet we didn't know exactly when it would take place. My apologies. As for the remote gate clickers, occasionally we have less than needed as some don't get returned. I'm sorry you suffered that inconvenience. As for the $20.00 per night parking charge, if you feel that you over-paid for an extra night, please contact me directly at the hotel and I'll remedy that immediately. We work very hard to provide our guests with an enjoyable experience. Reviews like this are taken very seriously and will contribute to making our operation better, going forward. I thank you for this and again apologize for your less than satisfactory visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was hoping for a great stay after reading so many reviews, but I could only give this a "meh". The rooms were clean and the beds very comfy. The staff seemed preoccupied and could care less about the guests. Missed the breakfast by 5 mins and it was GONE!!! Also, there is lots of construction. Nothing like having the carpet ripped up outside your door at 8:30 am and a sweeper going. We spent the extra money to get a private bath because all the bathrooms were out of order on the second floor being renovated. For almost $250... and the staff that didn't want to help...you can do better somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyd0glady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Crazydoglady, that handle of yours is a classic.
I have to begin by extending an apology to you on behalf of all of us at the Victorian Hotel. We're sorry you encountered the tail end of a carpet replacement job ( that should have been completed in the off-season). What drives me Crazy, is when a guest experiences anything less than a warm and welcoming exchange with our staff. Our crew has a natural penchant for hospitality, and yet your comments have revealed our efforts can fall short on occasion and I thank you for bringing that to our attention. Again, I sincerely regret we failed to meet your expectations and I'll use this example to rally the troops.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were ending up a cruise in Vancouver and wanted to stay to see the city for a few nights. We were two couples looking for a good price for a King Bed in Vancouver. Found Victorian Hotel for around 120.00 or so--but then found out it was for a shared bath. We decided to go for the King room with bath included, which upped the price to 199.00. Kind of pricey, but we found Vancouver quite expensive for just about everything, The King rooms with baths were on the first floor which was good, because there is no elevator. The rooms we had were totally renovated with big beautiful bathrooms and large flat screen tvs. The breakfast was croissants/ cold cereal/bread and coffee/tea.
I took off one star because the rooms are stuffy without AC and when we opened the windows, it was quite noisy outside if you wanted fresh air.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Many thanks for your review Aslow. Your observation about the increased seasonal pricing in Vancouver is dead on. All hotel pricing decisions are market-driven and they certainly rise between May and the end of September. I do believe we offer great value pricing with our economy rooms but I know the concept of sharing bathroom facilities just isn't for everyone, even if the bathrooms are brand new and kept in immaculate condition.
Perhaps you may want to give them a try, as we do look forward to having you back with us again one way or the other.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#16 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Property: Victorian Hotel
Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Victorian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing