We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice renovation mixed area”
Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victorian Hotel
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Formby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice renovation mixed area”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Pros: The manager of this hotel is friendly and helpful, the rooms have been renovated in a lovely style and the simple breakfast is adequate, its also reasonably priced for Vancouver.

Cons: the location is in a mixed area of downtown Vancouver and the $10 CAD a night accommodation across the street was our view..... The fixtures are not being checked and our bedside light was not working, alas some of the front desk are unfriendly and when we missed breakfast by mistake, by a minute and were rudely told we missed it.

The hotel is trying hard, the renovation and the manager makes it somewhere I would recommend but with caveats.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoandCoAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks so much for the review Jo&Co. You're right about us trying hard but obviously we could try a little harder. We should always be looking for opportunities to be accommodating and your example about the breakfast was perfectly tee'd up, we just shanked it. Extending the breakfast service a while longer is a no-brainer. As for the back-packers hostel, it happens to be home to the most popular coffee shop in the city, but as a place to stay, it certainly is not my cup of tea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    306
    111
    43
    23
See reviews for
104
369
69
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We spent a night here before departing on a cruise from Vancouver. We had a room on the ground floor at the back of the hotel.
The room was quiet and the bed comfortable. The bathroom provided a selection of toiletries and flannels, which was handy and meant we didn't have to unpack ours.
The continental breakfast was ok, nothing exciting.
The staff were all very helpful, and the hotel was in a good central location. We managed to spend a spare hour wandering round Gastown before being near enough to walk to the cruise terminal.
We'd stay here again if we needed a stopover.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel should be peaceful. Probably not a good choice for anyone with mobil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek_in_Eastcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Well thank you very much Derek -in-Eastcote, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope the cruise went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We loved the photos, read the reviews and booked in to a standard King room with ensuite. The room was charming the bed was very comfortable. Great atmosphere, very clean and spacious. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was handy to the waterfront and close to a large shopping mall. We would definitely recommend this hotel. Value for money.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor unit towards the back so very quiet and no stair case to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Many thanks for the review Diane S. It touched all the bases and we're so happy to have met your high expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I mistakenly thought this hotel would be a good one to stay 1 night in based on the pretty facade in the photos, and what I had thought was a good trip advisor review showing up when booking through expedia.

This stay was terrible. We booked a "superior king suite", which I thought would be even better than a regular standard hotel room. I guess the $250 price tag for a night in downtown Vancouver should have tipped me off, but I just assumed my family and I were getting a great expedia deal.

Thankfully our room came with it's own bathroom in the room, however the majority of the rooms do not. You have to share a public bathroom.

The room we were given was directly above a restaurant/bar, which might not have been so bad given that it was a Tuesday night and was supposed to close at 10pm. The bar stayed open blasting a terrible live band until all hours of the morning keeping my 17 month old son, myself, and my husband awake. The street noises were also quite loud, with people shouting all night, sirens wailing, etc. Then to top that off, someone started slamming doors, and doing what sounded like practicing drumming at 530am.

The room had no fridge, so our food like milk and eggs from our road trip had to be spoiled. The bathtub looked like a nice deep soaker tub, but would back up with dirty, hairy water when the shower was running.

The view from our room was a sketchy $10/night room for rent place that was crumbling brick and had all kinds of unfortunate people traipsing in and out at all hours of the day/night. There is a soup kitchen or something of the sort on the other corner. There are only stairs to get into this place as well, so don't plan on staying here if you need a ramp and/or elevator.

Overall the room appeared tidy/clean when we first arrived, however after my son had been standing looking out the window, we noticed that his hands were quite literally black, and had to be washed simply from touching the sill, or something around that area.

This was THE WORST hotel stay of our two week trip, and I am thankful I had only booked it for 1 night.

Room Tip: I wouldn't book anything less than the superior room, unless you enjoy sharig your bathroom/show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luluraffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Luluraffey, my apologies go out to you for the unpleasant experience you had with us. City noise can be aggravating but having to endure noise from the restaurant below you is unacceptable. I will definitely use your comments to address this immediately. As for the sooty window sills, we had just washed the windows and it appears the residue collected on the exterior sills. The cleaning of these will be job one. With respect to the neighbourhood, our opinions differ. I personally love it but I'm sorry you felt otherwise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed in a standard king room with a private bathroom across the hall. The room was comfortable and very clean, with an excellent bed with fabulous bedding. Despite facing Homer Street the room was quiet (with the windows closed), and we slept well.
The room, as with much of the hotel, is full of character; instead of bland Ikea-style furnishings in the room we had an eclectic mix of old furnishings.
The hotel is in a great location, just a short walk to the Downtown shops and the bars and restaurants of Central
A basic but tasty breakfast was offered, fresh french bread, cereal, juice and coffee.
Both check-in and check-out were handled so quickly and efficiently that it left me flabbergasted as to why it ever needs to take as long as it does at every single other hotel I have stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thereichinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so very much for your comments and we are delighted you found everything to your liking. With all due respect to Ikea, we love being anything but. Thanks again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed two nights before Alaskan Cruise. Room was small but very clean. 3 Bathrooms on our floor were immaculate. No elevator, so be prepared for very European like small hotel experience.
Staff was very friendly and helpful, Breakfast was good. Fantastic fresh croissants as good as we've had in France.
Location was within walking distance to Waterfront station connecting to Airport, and surrounding city. Walking distance to Canada Place and Gas Town. Would stay there again,

Room Tip: 3rd floor can be warm in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hyvapoika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Hyvapoika, thanks so much for your cheery review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Islip, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great stay with a nice breakfast.. Very good location.. Easy access to public transportation.. We had a king room with a street view.. Very comfortable and quiet at night.. Lobby with a lovely chandelier ...in a city with every high end and economy hotel to choose from,The Victorian has something for everyone with charm as a bonus!

Room Tip: We loved the king suite.. Large room, overlooking the street .. Bay windows with window seats
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnf54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
What a GEM of a review! Thank you so very much Lynnf54. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,421 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,522 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Property: Victorian Hotel
Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Victorian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing