We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So cozy and classy!”
Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victorian Hotel
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Last June, my husband and I spent a couple of nights at the Victorian Hotel in Vancouver, British Columbia.
When looking for hotels, my eyes were drawn to this one because I loved the Victorian decoration. My husband was not so convinced because he usually prefers modern-style hotels, but since the location was perfect (close to everything we wanted to see), he agreed.
Even though we'd booked a standard room, there were no standard rooms available, so we were upgraded to a larger and very nice room. What did my husband say as we entered the room? "this is one of the best hotels we've been to!". He loved it, and so did I. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the furniture was very elegant. The bathroom was also very nice (any women concerned about carrying a hairdryer? you won't need it. There's one in each room).
I'd like to highlight that everything was very clean and looked new (actually, a part of the hotel was undergoing a remodelation process, and everything looked and smelled clean).
The staff was kind and helpful: they gave us directions, and answered to all our questions.
Worried about internet connection? in the Victorian Hotel there are 3 computers available, so you can surf on the net for free.
Also, there's coffee and hot tea available at the reception 24/7, and breakfast is included. Even though everything was good, I must say the breakfast was rather simple: youghurt, strawberries, milk, and cereals. Don't expect to find pastry or toasts, because there isn't any. All in all, that's our only (and minor) complaint. If we were to go back to Vancouver, we'd certainly go back to the Victorian hotel!
It's very recommendable! Hopefully, you'll enjoy your stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mypassion4travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 670 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2010

Need I say more?

My room was absolutely immaculate, bright, and adorned in a distinctive and refreshing style. It had hard wood floors, oriental rugs, and nice furniture compared to a standard chain hotel. The bed was very comfortable and I slept so well.

The hotel lobby is a very small area used mainly for check-in. At first sight, you might think you had made a mistake by booking, but you didn't. The room was more like what you'd get at a great B&B.

The staff was great, friendly, and helpful. Lastly, the stay includes a continental breakfast and somebody there makes some great coffee! I'd definitely recommend this hotel strongly.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillyman1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

At this price, I wasn't expecting much, but was delighted by the friendly and courteous staff, and the clean and well furnished rooms. All in all, a very pleasant experience and I'm sure I'll go back again. The room I had (a King on 1st floor) was charming, with period furnishings and a very comfortable bed. Small ensuite, with a shower only, but the whole was spotless. WiFi was free and worked well. The location has a fair amount of night time traffic, which could be a problem for some, and the hotel does not have air conditioning. Rarely a problem in Vancouver, but it could be if you stayed here during one of our rare heat waves.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

We stayed at the Victorian for two nights and had a lovely room with two double beds and ensuite bath. The staff were wonderful, from the bus boy Charles to the sweet fellow who was on during the evening and night and the ladies on staff in the daytime. The earlier positive reviews were absolutely right. If you are looking for a bland hotel chain room, this is not your place. However if you are looking for a comfortable, clean and charming place with special touches you will enjoy the Victorian. It really has a guest home feeling. There was a simple but healthy continental breakfast is served in the front parlour/lobby. Our room was immaculate with high ceilngs, big windows, all the amenities (including eco friendly soap and hair products), excellent pillows, embroidered linen. There is a computer in the upstairs hallway and the wireless also worked well in our room. Neighborhood was good, no troubles. Stay away from Hastings and Dunsmuir late at night. If you are going to a show at the QE theatre this is very close, also a short walk to great shopping and the water. Coffee and tea were ready early in the morning.
A big thumbs up!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Periwinkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

The Victorian was recomended to me by a new friend I met in my travels. As I had never been to Vancouver before I wanted to stay downtown and be able to walk everywhere. I was pleasently surprised by how lovely the hotel was. It felt like I was walking into an elegant Victorian home from the early 1900s. While checking in with the lady at the front desk I was informed that the building did infact date back to 1898!
The property recently completed major renovations, adding in a new Victoria Deluxe section as well as various renos throughout the property. Even though they have added modern comforts like flat screen televisions, the Victorian is still very true to its name. My guestroom featured sandblasted cast iron radiotors which I have never seen in Hotel before. Nice touch! The hotel also has free wifi access for guests..yes FREE WIFI!! The beds were absolutely amazing! On the down side I had trouble motivating my husband to get out of bed and explore Vancouver. The lady at the front desk laughed when I told her and said 'it happens all of the time'.
I really liked the feel of the hotel, not at all a cookie cutter Sheraton, Hilton, chain Hotels. The hotel is family run, with a small tight knit staff, some of the staff have members have been there since the hotel opened ten years ago, always a good sign! The staff is so friendly, laid back and knowledgable. I noticed that many of the guests seemed to know the staff on the a first name bases, then when chatting in the lobby over coffee in the morning I learned that a lot of their guests are repeat clientel travelling weekly on business. The Victorian Hotel is definitly a 'home away from home'. I am so happy I found this little hidden gem. I WILL be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shetravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We stayed here for one night during the Olympics. Older property with small rooms with sink, bath along hall, everything new and fresh, helpful and friendly staff, great central downtown location. Good price compared to other properties in sold out city.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
Thank Babs2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

Have stayed here many times over the last 10 years, but unfortunately the new ownership kind of sucks. The rooms are the same, but the feel of the whole place has really changed. I had to find a new favorite in Vancouver.

Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank TropicalPrincessLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
431 reviews
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#34 of 92 in Vancouver
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
1,889 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 92 in Vancouver
891 reviews
Granville Street
Moda Hotel
Moda Hotel
#61 of 92 in Vancouver
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: £56 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing