We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite in Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Waterfront
Ranked #10 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our favourite in Vancouver”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This deluxe hotel is ideal for business or pleasure. Well located in the downtown business centre and adjacent to convention and port facilities.

A great place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Guest,
It is truly rewarding to read your comments and we are honoured to know we are your favourite hotel in Vancouver! Thank you for selecting the Fairmont Waterfront, and we look forward to hosting you once again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Ian Pullan
General Manager
The Fairmont Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,190
    697
    152
    55
    35
See reviews for
588
1,175
144
864
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (870)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed overnight with another couple.
The expected style and quality of a Fairmont Hotel was all there, but we were appalled by the near-piracy price of in-room internet access (especially when there is a proliferation of free wireless hotspots through the city). In this modern day there is no excuse for not providing at least reasonably priced, or indeed free, internet to customers who are paying for a high standard of accommodation.

And we were also disappointed to see one coffee pod and no black tea bags provided, for a couple. A call to room service resulted in a 40 minute wait for a staff member to hand over 2 teabags and one coffee pod only! I didn't realise we would stay at the Fairmont only to be rationed tea and coffee.

All in all it gives the impression they want to force their customers downstairs to the restaurant, even for a hot drink.

Overall impression of the hotel was let down by small features.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent experience with us at The Fairmont Waterfront. Guest feedback is very important to us as we continuously review our practices to ensure we offer our guests consistent quality services.

We truly regret that you were inconvenienced by our Internet Rates and lack of coffee and tea in your guest room, and apologize that your stay was negatively impacted. I understand your frustration over these circumstances, and want to sincerely apologize.

You may be interested to know that we provide complimentary high speed internet to all members of our Fairmont President’s Club and that membership is also complimentary.

As we move forward, we will certainly take your feedback regarding the Internet fees into consideration. I have also shared your comments about your experience with the tea and coffee with our Housekeeping Leadership team so that we can ensure similar situations do not recur.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back once again in the near future, and hopefully regain your trust in us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and if I can ever be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 604-691-1892 or ian.pullan@fairmont.com.

Sincerely,
Ian Pullan
General Manager
The Fairmont Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed the weekend here for our anniversary, they knew this coming in and gave as great room on a high floor and facing the water. We had a very large and comfortable bed. The room was a little small but it was still great.

We checked in early and they had no problem with this and were very helpful when we asked questions.

Right in the heart of vancouver, walking distance to bascially everything.

Would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This hotel is by far my favourite to stay at in downtown Vancouver. The service from the hotel staff is nothing short of impecable - from the time of curbside check in to cocktails or breakfast in the lobby to any special requests you may have. Combine this with a great location and you have a winner with this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awalker2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I was thrilled to read your glowing review and will take great pleasure in sharing your kind words with regards to our high level of service with our team.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. If I can ever be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 604-691-1892 or ian.pullan@fairmont.com.

Sincerely,
Ian Pullan,
General Manager
The Fairmont Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Both Fairmont hotels in Vancouver offer exceptional locations relative to downtown Vancouver but the Fairmont Waterfront takes the prize for aspect and modernity.

We chose a one night stay on December the 25th and booked online, pricing was just as competitive through the Fairmont's online booking as via one of the consolidators though the consolidator suggested that internet access was included - it wasn't. You'll pay a premium for Car Valet and Internet and your Internet supports only one device - a problem if there are two of you with two or more devices.

Staff are exceptionally service oriented and forthcoming with useful information, from the car valet all the way through to the concierge. We forgot our umbrella in the back of the car and the valet quickly and deftly extracted it for us so that we could meander up to the main shopping area of Vancouver. Rooms are well appointed and not at all run down, bathroom requisites are above average but disappointingly there were no slippers around that we could find. Good job we bring our own just in case!

We didn't dine at the hotel though it appears to have a busy and appealing bar and restaurant. A Tim Horton's is conveniently found just near the hotel entrance as well as a Starbucks and during the weekdays there are other small places that provide food and snacks. With only a block or two placement from the start of gastown and the midtown though, you will not be far from somewhere good to eat or shop provided you are willing to expend a little shoe leather.

You can self park, there are plenty of self parking locations in the area but when you are staying at the Fairmont, who ever self parks?

Room Tip: Choose a water facing room, there is a small premium to be paid but you will be so pleased that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClintonJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent experience with us at The Fairmont Waterfront. Guest feedback is very important to us as we continuously review our practices to ensure we offer our guests consistent quality services.

We truly regret that you were inconvenienced by our wireless internet access. I am pleased to confirm that this situation has since been rectified and our guestroom wireless internet now supports multiple devices.

In addition, you may be interested to know that we provide complimentary high speed internet to all members of our Fairmont President’s Club and that membership is also complimentary.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and if I can ever be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 604-691-1892 or ian.pullan@fairmont.com.

Sincerely,
Ian Pullan
General Manager
The Fairmont Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Beatuiful room.... The staff were exceptional. The hotel is located right along the water, for a breath taking view when you wake up. Its in a central location right in between gastown and Coal harbour. There is a fantastic hotel restaurant/lounge within the hotel with great food. I had ordered a dinner at Herons and was unable to finish it, t he staff kindly packed it up and put it in the room fridge for later.

As For ground transportation you have the choice of Taxi cabs directly at the entrance of the hotel or the skytrain few steps away.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinna_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I stayed at the Fairmont on December 27th 2011 and again on January 3rd. 2012. Check in was great and so was check out albeit early morning. The rooms are fantastic and I have had different rooms/views every time I have stayed with them. The staff are superb. The food is excellent in the bar and for a five star hotel, not too pricey. Overal great, I stay every time I have an early flight

Room Tip: Mountain has betterviews than air side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceWyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,852 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,661 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,353 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Waterfront

Property: Fairmont Waterfront
Address: 900 Canada Place Way, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Waterfront luxury hotel showcases the best of Vancouver. Conveniently situated beside the Canada Place Cruise Ship Terminal and adjacent to the Vancouver Convention Centre, this luxury Vancouver hotel has a central harbour location, ideal for any stay. Guests can enjoy shopping, trendy restaurants, art galleries, Gastown, Chinatown and famous Stanley Park all within steps of our doors. This Four Diamond urban retreat is world renowned for its warm and welcoming service and truly showcases the best of Vancouver. The 489 newly renovated Vancouver Waterfront hotel rooms are spacious, elegantly appointed with distinctive amenities and showcase spectacular city, mountain and harbour views through floor-to-ceiling windows. The Fairmont Gold floor is an exclusive hotel within a hotel, featuring complimentary breakfast and evening canapes, personal concierge service and an exclusive lounge and terrace with harbour-views. Visit the on-site restaurant ARC. The culinary team embraces fresh, local and sustainable ingredients complemented by hotel-grown herbs from the 2,100 square foot rooftop garden and honey from the on-site honeybee colony. Expect simple, flavor focused cuisine, cooked with flawless execution appealing to discerning or emerging palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Waterfront Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Waterfront
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont
Fairmont Waterfront Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing