We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Waterfront
Ranked #11 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Victoria BC
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Oh Wow!”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed here beginning of March for a convention. Have stayed here before but this time, as boss is a Fairmont member we immediately went to the 9th floor. Oh Wow started from the time we arrived. Valet service was fast and efficient. 9th floor check in was easy. Rooms were great! They have breakfast served on this floor, as well as day time appies and an honour bar. Service was impeccable. I got spoiled on this trip i will add.... i would love to stay on the 9th floor again!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magyarnyul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,295
    733
    161
    57
    37
See reviews for
635
1,242
145
888
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (903)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Right next to the Convention center. Easy to take the train from the airport to the hotel. Just walk across the street. The rooms are great size and have good views. There are a lot of restaurants and bars within walking distance. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food at the property is good and the waitstaff is very nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorCal_ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

If you can't get into the Fairmont Pacific Rim this is your next best bet just 2 blocks away. Great harbour and mountain views. Comfortable rooms, well laid out for business or leisure. Across from convention center and hiking/biking paths to Stanley Park. Within walking distance of all the downtown sites or Seabus to North Vancouver. Rapid transit right there. Great restaurant and bar. Typically excellent Fairmont service. Fitness center and pool are first rate. Always a pleasure to stay there.

Room Tip: Definitely worth asking for Harbour view and higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of The Fairmont Waterfront. I was pleased to read your positive comments – we will definitely work on becoming your number one hotel choice while staying in Vancouver! If I can ever be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 604-691-1892 or ian.pullan@fairmont.com. Sincerely, Ian Pullan, General Manager, The Fairmont Waterfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago,IL
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

First of all, we had a great deal here somehow. I think our room cost about $160 or so. Amazing for this lovely hotel, with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the ocean. I registered for the Fairmont club (free) so we had free wifi, and a little box of truffles from a local chocolate store (Chocolate Arts). The truffles were so good, I had to seek out the store and stocked up on presents for the family back home. Yum! The weather was great, so the pool was teeming with lounger-hoggers and kids. The kids even went to the hot tub! It was kind of annoying (although I know, had I been there with kids, they would be doing the same thing). Would be nice to have some adult-only posted times though... Otherwise, the hotel was just lovely. We had a car, and it was very tricky to park it as the meters are expensive beyond belief and so is the parking garage. If I'm ever in Vancouver again, I would love to stay here.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views (duh)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lady_winter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed three nights at the Fairmont Waterfront and loved it. We arrived on a dark evening by taxi so had little idea of the surroundings. Excited by our first night in Canada, we woke about 5:30 am and sat looking through the picture window in our 19th floor room at the lights and the dim outlines of the buildings around the harbour and over the other side of Burrard Inlet, Vancouver's main harbour. The Lions Gate suspension bridge to north Vancouver was garlanded in lights and took shape gradually as the sky lightened. About 7am the small seaplanes started taking off from the harbour just in front of the hotel and the western part of the Convention Centre with its sloping grass roof became visible. A great introduction to Vancouver.

Our room was very comfortable with everything we wanted, including plenty of storage space, some complimentary water in the minibar (other items were chargeable and expensive) and a soft luxurious mattress cover. I found the light switches on the table lamps unusual (keep turning the small knobs clockwise to turn on and off), but found these elsewhere in Canade also. Didn't eat in the hotel because it looked expensive, but nearby we dined on 'pub food' at Lions Bar, the Steamworks and Mahoney's Bar in the Convention Centre, which the hotel desk staff were happy to direct us to. For breakfast on a budget we went into the basement mall where there are several fast food outlets including McDonald's and Tim Horton's (which we found good quality and value). This mall can take you to the Convention Centre (useful in bad weather) and there are also displays illustrating the history of the Port of Vancouver whose offices are close by.

The hotel desk staff and doormen were always courteous and able to give us directions. Waterfront Station is nearby and is a terminus of the Skytrain where you can catch automated trains on the Canada Line to the airport. All journeys on trains and public buses are CAN$2.50 except on journeying from the airport when an extra CAN$5 levy is charged (make sure you have the correct money in coins before boarding, because ticket issue is automated). In contrast a typical taxi from the airport will cost about CAN$40 including tip. The tickets on the public transport are valid for 1.5 hours after issue (expiry time is shown on the ticket) so that you can make multiple journeys on one ticket within that time without paying again. We found the bus drivers invariably to be patient and good-humoured when we were trying to understand the system. Although they are a bit of a hike, the Museum of Anthropology at the University of British Columbia and the Museum of Vancouver can be reached by public transport. Enjoy exploring!

Stanley Park is within walking distance and a walk (or cycle) around the excellent waterside paths is about 6 miles. Granville Island Market is also worth a visit.

The Gastown district with its bars and restaurants is close to the hotel, and is lively in the evening, although it was sad to see quite a few people begging for money or food in this beautiful city.

We strolled through the midtown Fairmont Hotel out of interest and found it looked a bit more formal and old-fashioned compared to the Fairmont Waterfront, which is modern and spacious. Recommended.

Room Tip: Make sure your room faces the harbour; the higher floors (there are 23) have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete such a thorough review of your stay with us here at The Fairmont Waterfront, I am confident your many destination suggestions will be helpful to future guests. I was pleased to read your review and learn that your experience was so enjoyable; you may be interested to know that the hotel offers complimentary bikes for use by our guests, that are an excellent way to explore Stanley Park or for a ride around the Seawall as you suggested. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us; we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back once again in the near future. Sincerely, Ian Pullan, General Manager, The Fairmont Waterfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This hotel was fantastic! We stayed here for a few days for our anniversary and it was a great location. The staff were helpful and the rooms are super clean. The linens were clean and fresh and smelt like eucalyptus, very spa-like!! The pool was clean with an amazing view of harbour and mountains! The gym area has great views as well. The hotel is within walking distance to amenities and shopping and resturants! I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseyEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. It is truly rewarding to read your comments and hear that you had a great time with us here. Thank you for selecting The Fairmont Waterfront, and we look forward to hosting you once again on your next visit to Vancouver. Sincerely, Ian Pullan, General Manager, The Fairmont Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I have now stayed at the Fairmount Waterfront Vancouver three times, and never been disappointed.
Not only is there easy access both to the convention centres but also to beautiful Stanley Park and all Waterfront activity. For once the Hotel name is not misleading. I've been in "Sea View" and Waterside" Hotels that have stretched that description, but not here. The two convention centres are only 50 and 150 yards away from the front entrance, and if it is raining, not uncommon in Vancouver, there is below ground (dry) access to the centres from the Hotel.
The views in Waterfront rooms are spectacular. Across the Burrard Inlet to Grouse Mountain and her sisters.
The staff have always been vey helpful and friendly without being "in-your-face" all the time. The Hotel pool is outside, so in summer is great, but from September through to about May/June is off limits to all but Polar Bears. The Gym and Spa are well resourced and well worth while using if that's what you want. However for joggers, walkers and runners, the route from the hotel, past the Convention Centre and the Harbour and into Stanley Park is a must! Stanley park is stunning with massive pine & Cyprus trees, not quite in Californian size, but for me just right.

Room Tip: Ask for a Waterfront room if you want a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graemergordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent experience with us here at The Fairmont Waterfront and I am so glad you enjoyed our fantastic harbour views. You may be interested to know that I host a morning run along the seawall for guests and that we have Adidas running gear available for all Fairmont President’s Club Members. I was thrilled to read that this is your third stay with us, we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back once again in the near future. Sincerely, Ian Pullan, General Manager, The Fairmont Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,011 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,552 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#31 of 92 in Vancouver
3,097 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,815 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Waterfront

Property: Fairmont Waterfront
Address: 900 Canada Place Way, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Waterfront luxury hotel showcases the best of Vancouver. Conveniently situated beside the Canada Place Cruise Ship Terminal and adjacent to the Vancouver Convention Centre, this luxury Vancouver hotel has a central harbour location, ideal for any stay. Guests can enjoy shopping, trendy restaurants, art galleries, Gastown, Chinatown and famous Stanley Park all within steps of our doors. This Four Diamond urban retreat is world renowned for its warm and welcoming service and truly showcases the best of Vancouver. The 489 newly renovated Vancouver Waterfront hotel rooms are spacious, elegantly appointed with distinctive amenities and showcase spectacular city, mountain and harbour views through floor-to-ceiling windows. The Fairmont Gold floor is an exclusive hotel within a hotel, featuring complimentary breakfast and evening canapes, personal concierge service and an exclusive lounge and terrace with harbour-views. Visit the on-site restaurant ARC. The culinary team embraces fresh, local and sustainable ingredients complemented by hotel-grown herbs from the 2,100 square foot rooftop garden and honey from the on-site honeybee colony. Expect simple, flavor focused cuisine, cooked with flawless execution appealing to discerning or emerging palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Waterfront Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Waterfront
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont
Fairmont Waterfront Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing