We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Waterfront
Ranked #10 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Solid business hotel”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed there for a weekend to celebrate my birthday. I got an excellent rate so I am quite satisfied with the hotel. A few notes:

* Location: the location is fine, not too far from the city centre. There aren't many restaurants or shopping nearby but it was only 5-10 minutes walk to the city centre. There is Miku restaurant which is excellent right opposite the hotel. Don't miss this restaurant.

* Kids friendly: I traveled with my 3-year old daughter and the hotel treated her really well. She got coloring books, bath products for kids, and a storybook delivered to our room. We really appreciated the thoughts. Staff at the breakfast buffet were very nice to my daughter. There weren't any activities for very young kids like my daughter apart from the swimming pool maybe.

* Nice renovated room: We got a renovated room on the 4th floor. Everything is new and in good condition, except that some of the lights in the room didn't work but the room was very well-lit. Our room only has a shower, no bath tub, but we prefer shower tall anyway so it didn't bother us. The most annoying thing about the room is noise from the hallway. I guess the door doesn't block much noise. During the 11am-2am period, I constantly hear a lot of noise caused by housekeeping as they work on the rooms nearby or maybe on hallway.

* In-room dining: As the hotel restaurant was closed due to renovations we had one in-room dining meal. The service was great but the food was mediocre as it usually is with hotel room service. We had an ok chicken cobb salad, average burger and very salty NY steak. No bread served with the meal.

* Breakfast buffet: We had breakfast buffet every morning and it was good. There isn't anything fancy but they had good selection of hot and cold items. What made us most happy were the friendly and professional waitress and the young male chef who cooked omelette and egg dishes.

* Housekeeping: they did a good job and very friendly.

* Front desk: hmm.. they were fine but not personable.

* Health club facility: the gym was small but sufficient for your daily workout. Swimming pool was heated but I didn't use it due to very cold weather. There were lockers and a small steamed room in the shower/changing area.

Overall we had a nice stay. I feel this hotel is a very good business hotel, more like a Hyatt Regency/Hilton/Sheraton type hotel than a luxury resort hotel.

Room Tip: Renovated rooms are nice. City view rooms give you view to opposite buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emilie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your detailed feedback; knowing where we excel ensure we can continue to offer the best service possible. Your constuctive comments help us rectify any area where can improve. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you and your daughter again soon!
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,190
    697
    152
    55
    35
See reviews for
588
1,175
144
864
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (870)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Arrived at the Fairmont after a long flight from London tired and looking forward to a lie down. Excellent lobby staff whisked our luggage to our rooms so that by the time we had checked in and got to our room our bags were already waiting for us. Excellent room well appointed and clean - no complaints . Great location close to Canada Place so was able to watch the Cruise liners departing in the evening, also close to Gastown and the tour bus stops. Breakfast was in the Herons and the buffet choice was impressive. The only negative and not the fault of the hotel was as we were touring Canada we only stayed there two nights as we would have loved to have stayed longer - perhap next time

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much, not only for your review, but for choosing The Fairmont Waterfront. I'm so pleased that the service you received upon arrival was so exceptional. While we are very lucky to be in such a great location right in the heart of downtown Vancouver, I believe it is our colleagues and the amazing service they provide that truly sets us apart. Please send me an email at indu.brar@fairmont.com if you return to Vancouver. I would be happy to assist with your reservation!
Warm Regards,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Our recent stay at the Waterfront was after a weeks stay at the Fairmont Whistler, hard act to follow! However we were given one of the newly refurbished rooms, very modern,spacious and hitech. Only disappointment was no ocean view, which given our first morning was brilliant sunshine would have been tremendous to wake up to. Jesi the concierge lady was excellent and really helped us make the most of our stay. We understand previous comments about the reception staff apparent lack of customer service but put this down to inexperience. The hotel has a great location and we enjoyed our time in Vancouver and another Fairmont fabulous bed!

Room Tip: Request cone view as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelchums21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review. We're thrilled with the new renovations; they add a modern flair to the rooms while remaining comfortable and relaxing. I will make sure Jesi knows of your appreciation! Please let me know when you return; I would be happy to assist with your reservation.
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here on New Year's Eve. We received an upgrade city view room and it was newly renovated! The room was very clean. The bathroom was clean however, there were a few hairs in the shower stall floor. Not too concerned about it as we rinsed out the shower stall ourselves. The hotel has a zero tolerance for noise as we were concerned about the aftermath of New Year's Eve party. We arrived there around Noon and our room was ready! We did not expect it but it was great! We ended up exploring first then went to our room. The hotel restaurant Herons is being renovated so they have a makeshift restaurant lounge. It is great. The food is good! We ordered a pizza and my husband and I ended up sharing because it was big! Also, the toppings were generous. Also, in room dining option is available. We had a good time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A and Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your review! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and had the chance to experience one of our newly renovated rooms. I will follow up with our Director of Housekeeping to ensure each room meets the meticulous standards we hold. I hope we can welcome you again soon!
Warm Regards,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont Waterfront between the 8th and the 11th Jan 2014. It was a quick stop to see Vancouver before we headed to Whistler for the skiing (preferred Vancouver to Whistler!).

The hotel is located on the waterfront, next to Canada Place, in downtown Vancouver, just a block from the Vancouver tourism office. I think we were in room 317 which had french doors out onto a terrace garden. The room was lovely, good size with all the bit's and pieces you would expect from a hotel of this quality. The bed was comfortable, there was a sitting/desk area, good sized bathroom, safe and wardrobes. The staff were friendly and helpful, everything was clean and tidy. There was renovation going on in the upper floors but that didn't effect us at all. Bit of noise during the day but we were out anyway exploring the city, so no problem.

All in all we really liked this hotel. The location is probably the best aspects. It is right by the tourism office (which is really good!), Canada Place, short walk to Gastown, near all the shops and the waterfront/marina. It's also far to Stanley park either.

I would recommend this place if you have the budget. Good efficient, clean, friendly city hotel.

By the way, we loved Vancouver, great city with tons to do and see……….

Room Tip: Scoozies restaurant up the road do great breakfasts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitmore_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Vancouver is a wonderful destination with so many things to see and do and The Fairmont Waterfront is right in the heart of it all. I'm so glad that your guest room and the service you received was just as wonderful! When you return to Vancouver please email me at indu.brar@fairmont.com. I would be happy to assist with your plans.
Warm Regards,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The hotel has an great location and is central to almost everything. The girls on the front desk were efficient yet lacked any customer service, simply handing over keys and reciting a spiel. Ryan the bell boy was an big exception, he had great knowledge of the area and gave some great recommendations for restaurants. The hotel has a really well equipped gym/fitness centre, which is always a massive bonus. The beds in the room were some of the most comfortable I've slept in besides my own, so that will be a big drawcard for when I return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,
I appreciate the time you took to post your review, though disappointed that the check-in experience you received does not reflect our usual level of service. Our Director of Front Office will be following up internally. I am very happy that the rest of your stay was exceptional and look forward to welcoming you back and showing you the exemplary service we strive to provide.
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Great location directly across form Canada Place cruise ship terminal. Only minutes walking from skytrain station and Gas Town. 10 minutes walk up to shopping district. Great customer service and value for dollar. Renovated rooms are gorgeous!!

Room Tip: Harbour view is worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpjotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Fairmont Waterfront! We are very lucky to be in such a spectacular location. We're also thrilled to be able to offer our guests newly renovated guest rooms and our restaurant/lounge renovation will be unveiled shortly. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,852 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,661 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,353 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Waterfront

Property: Fairmont Waterfront
Address: 900 Canada Place Way, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Waterfront luxury hotel showcases the best of Vancouver. Conveniently situated beside the Canada Place Cruise Ship Terminal and adjacent to the Vancouver Convention Centre, this luxury Vancouver hotel has a central harbour location, ideal for any stay. Guests can enjoy shopping, trendy restaurants, art galleries, Gastown, Chinatown and famous Stanley Park all within steps of our doors. This Four Diamond urban retreat is world renowned for its warm and welcoming service and truly showcases the best of Vancouver. The 489 newly renovated Vancouver Waterfront hotel rooms are spacious, elegantly appointed with distinctive amenities and showcase spectacular city, mountain and harbour views through floor-to-ceiling windows. The Fairmont Gold floor is an exclusive hotel within a hotel, featuring complimentary breakfast and evening canapes, personal concierge service and an exclusive lounge and terrace with harbour-views. Visit the on-site restaurant ARC. The culinary team embraces fresh, local and sustainable ingredients complemented by hotel-grown herbs from the 2,100 square foot rooftop garden and honey from the on-site honeybee colony. Expect simple, flavor focused cuisine, cooked with flawless execution appealing to discerning or emerging palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Fairmont Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Waterfront Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Waterfront
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont
Fairmont Waterfront Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing