We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to conference center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Waterfront
Ranked #11 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
363 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“Convenient to conference center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

RECOMMENDED: This was a week long visit and managed to get a corner room that had a partial views of Canada Place and mountains. This is an older hotel and bathroom renovations are underway (due for total completion end of February).

I had an un-renovated room, but frankly it was very good condition, very large, comfortable bedding, quiet (though some door slamming from other occupants). Solidly built with quality ingredients. With the corner location, plenty of natural lighting and good black out blinds.

The bathroom was similarly large, good illumination (huge window), plenty of hot water/pressure and reasonable amenities. However, the entire color scheme is a bit dated and the renovation is putting on a more modern touch.

Staff were eager to please and overall a warm stay.

Note: Hotel is connected underground to subway and to office complex and only short outdoor walk to West conference center via these paths.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadwarrior30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,
We are so excited about the recent completion of Phase 2 of our guest room renovations. We have only four more floors to complete in the first part of 2015, and our restaurant renovation will be complete by the beginning of March 2014. While we may be looking a bit different, our service will remain as exceptional as ever. I look forward to your return!
Warm Regards,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,165
    695
    151
    55
    35
See reviews for
588
1,163
143
852
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Really good location and excellent service. I got room from17th floor facing ocean and view is spectacular. Best ever view in any gotel I have been in. Breakfast is really good and plenty.

Only downside was that room didn't have possibility to control lights in single point. Silly complaint but it would be just easier to get all lights out near bed whhen going to bed.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view and high enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tapi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest,
I'm so glad that not only was our stay exceptional, but that the magnificent views added to your experience in our newly renovated guest room. While the renovations are complete on the 17th floor, I will certainly keep your suggestion regarding a single panel for light control in mind for the future. Please let me know when your travels bring you back to The Fairmont Waterfront at indu.brar@fairmont.com.
Warm Regards,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights at the Waterfront while using the Pan Pacific conference facilities across the street at Canada Place.

Room was very clean and well appointed, staff were very friendly and efficient. Unfortunately restaurant facilities were closed due to renovations which was a bit inconvenient. Gym was, well, "meh"!

Overall though, very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theitodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest,
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback. I hope we can welcome you again when our new restaurant is open. It's going to be amazing!
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

the second time we stayed the concierge at the front entrance had our room key ready and waiting for us.....perfect! No line up. Upon entering the Fairmont, you enter the bar area that is always packed. I've stayed there twice and both times there was a piano player and a very lively vibe as you walked past to your room
I love the lay out of the rooms......the BEST bathrooms ever (the lights take a bit to figure out)
The views are spectacular and location is close to best shopping area

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,
While I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay, I think you may be confusing us with our neighbours, the Fairmont Pacific Rim, just down the street. I'll be sure to share your warm compliments with them!
Warm Regards,
Indu Brar General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
288 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here once again when we came into the city for the Hop Scotch Festival in November! This time we had a room that was renovated and wow...what a surprise!! We thought the rooms were wonderful before the reno's so we were pleasantly surprised at the new and modern look this visit to the Fairmont Waterfront!
As usual, we were met with the BEST hospitality in all the city and the service was unbelievable! Within minutes of checking into our room my husband noticed he had left his charger at home for his Blackberry and so I suggested he ask the Concierge if they might have an extra one they could loan him for our 3 nights there! Approximately 10 minutes of my husband returning to our room, the Concierge were at our door with a charger. Always such a pleasure to be treated with this kind of service when staying at their hotel!
End of February we are back in the city for Vancouver's International Wine Festival and we are really looking forward to our next 3 nights at this amazing hotel! Thank you again for always making our stays with you so special!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,
I'm thrilled to know that not only did you enjoy the renovations we have made to our guest rooms, but that the service you received was exactly what we strive to provide. I will share your kind comments with my entire team so they know how appreciated they are. We can't wait to welcome you back later this month. Please contact me at indu.brar@fairmont.com if I can be of any assistance.
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed this time as it was a recommended hotel for the conference I was attending and was pleased that I did. Check in was stunningly quick, the car I had rented went to the valet, he handed me my check in package and up to the room. I had a corner room, a view of the city, it was clean, the linens were great, the TV worked, the desk was workable and plugins to recharge the electronics. I actually liked the retro alarm clock, it was easy to set, and did not require a 10 minute lesson on how to set the time and alarms. My wife joined me for the weekend and we bicycled around Stanley park and snooped around the shops. As the hotel is in walking distance to Gastown, Stanley Park, the Waterfront and shopping, as well as the Waterfront Train station, a car is not required and getting around is easily accomplished.

The downside was that Heron's, the restaurant has a great reputation, was under renovation, but should be completed by this Spring I believe. But there are a number of really great restaurants located within blocks. A Tim Hortons, McDonalds and Starbucks are all located within a block to address any quick breakfast requirements.

The fitness facility was great, the heated pool looked good but I didn't use it.

It was a great base of operations for a week stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockmotordad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,
I'm so pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay. The Fairmont Waterfront is in a perfect location, whether you're here for business or pleasure; I'm glad you were able to experience a mix of the two. I hope we can welcome you again soon - our newly renovated restaurant will be opening in the beginning of March, though we have alternate dining options for our guests in the meantime.
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed there for a weekend to celebrate my birthday. I got an excellent rate so I am quite satisfied with the hotel. A few notes:

* Location: the location is fine, not too far from the city centre. There aren't many restaurants or shopping nearby but it was only 5-10 minutes walk to the city centre. There is Miku restaurant which is excellent right opposite the hotel. Don't miss this restaurant.

* Kids friendly: I traveled with my 3-year old daughter and the hotel treated her really well. She got coloring books, bath products for kids, and a storybook delivered to our room. We really appreciated the thoughts. Staff at the breakfast buffet were very nice to my daughter. There weren't any activities for very young kids like my daughter apart from the swimming pool maybe.

* Nice renovated room: We got a renovated room on the 4th floor. Everything is new and in good condition, except that some of the lights in the room didn't work but the room was very well-lit. Our room only has a shower, no bath tub, but we prefer shower tall anyway so it didn't bother us. The most annoying thing about the room is noise from the hallway. I guess the door doesn't block much noise. During the 11am-2am period, I constantly hear a lot of noise caused by housekeeping as they work on the rooms nearby or maybe on hallway.

* In-room dining: As the hotel restaurant was closed due to renovations we had one in-room dining meal. The service was great but the food was mediocre as it usually is with hotel room service. We had an ok chicken cobb salad, average burger and very salty NY steak. No bread served with the meal.

* Breakfast buffet: We had breakfast buffet every morning and it was good. There isn't anything fancy but they had good selection of hot and cold items. What made us most happy were the friendly and professional waitress and the young male chef who cooked omelette and egg dishes.

* Housekeeping: they did a good job and very friendly.

* Front desk: hmm.. they were fine but not personable.

* Health club facility: the gym was small but sufficient for your daily workout. Swimming pool was heated but I didn't use it due to very cold weather. There were lockers and a small steamed room in the shower/changing area.

Overall we had a nice stay. I feel this hotel is a very good business hotel, more like a Hyatt Regency/Hilton/Sheraton type hotel than a luxury resort hotel.

Room Tip: Renovated rooms are nice. City view rooms give you view to opposite buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emilie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your detailed feedback; knowing where we excel ensure we can continue to offer the best service possible. Your constuctive comments help us rectify any area where can improve. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you and your daughter again soon!
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,599 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Waterfront

Property: Fairmont Waterfront
Address: 900 Canada Place Way, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Waterfront luxury hotel showcases the best of Vancouver. Conveniently situated beside the Canada Place Cruise Ship Terminal and adjacent to the Vancouver Convention Centre, this luxury Vancouver hotel has a central harbour location, ideal for any stay. Guests can enjoy shopping, trendy restaurants, art galleries, Gastown, Chinatown and famous Stanley Park all within steps of our doors. This Four Diamond urban retreat is world renowned for its warm and welcoming service and truly showcases the best of Vancouver. The 489 newly renovated Vancouver Waterfront hotel rooms are spacious, elegantly appointed with distinctive amenities and showcase spectacular city, mountain and harbour views through floor-to-ceiling windows. The Fairmont Gold floor is an exclusive hotel within a hotel, featuring complimentary breakfast and evening canapes, personal concierge service and an exclusive lounge and terrace with harbour-views. Visit the on-site restaurant ARC. The culinary team embraces fresh, local and sustainable ingredients complemented by hotel-grown herbs from the 2,100 square foot rooftop garden and honey from the on-site honeybee colony. Expect simple, flavor focused cuisine, cooked with flawless execution appealing to discerning or emerging palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Waterfront Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Waterfront
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont
Fairmont Waterfront Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing