We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room look dated.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Waterfront
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Upon arriving at the lobby it look grand and nice and I thought we have make the right choice. But once u enter the lift u can see the switch panel is ruined. Wonder why the hotel manager never noticed such small details. The room which I booked is the one facing the bay but looking at the container terminal. Room 1209 if I am not wrong. I suppose u cannot called this a bay view room. The bath room is dated with bath tub having black stain and look gross, you will not want to soak inside. There are no toiletries given ie toothbrush or shaver. The cabinet and tv console look dated with paint work chip off. Overall this hotel room look like a three star hotel or motel room. Upon check out at 1130pm there is not staff at main door to help u to flag down a cab. Have to walk to the bell hop counter to call for help. There are not many food and beverage outlet.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank fixer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for providing your feedback, though I am very disappointed to read that your stay was not all it could have been. I am pleased to let you know that renovations on our guest rooms are 75% complete with the remaining rooms (of which the 12th floor is included) being completed at the end of 2014/early 2015. We also offer many additional amenities including toothbrushes upon request. I invite you to contact me at indu.brar@fairmont.com to discuss your stay further.
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,917 - 1,923 of 3,408 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here recently in conjunction with a family cruise.
Though our flight was late (VERY) and we arrived about 4am, the staff was accommodating and friendly.
Breakfast was served in our room so we dined as we overlooked the ship we would be boarding hours later.
They had a service come to our room and take our bags to the ship for us as well.
Great place to stay and would again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBugTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Though it was only for a short period of time, I'm so pleased to know that your experience at The Fairmont Waterfront included exceptional service and views. I hope we can welcome you again, for a little longer next time!
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

As a 'frequent flyer' and guest of numerous Fairmont Hotels (Banff, SanFrancisco, LA, Toronto, Calgary, Ottawa, Quebec, Vancouver) I have an expectation when I stay at a Fairmont Hotel - the Fairmont Waterfront is an exceptional location as my convention was literally across the street - the staff was friendly, the windows in the lobby and arc lounge/restaurant gave it such an open to the outside feeling - absolutely beautiful. It was a short stay so I didn't get to appreciate the hotel fully but I will be back and recommend staying here (plus there's a Tim Hortons next door!)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kandace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,
I'm so pleased to read that your stay met the high expectations you hold for all Fairmont Hotels and Resorts. We do our utmost to provide exceptional service and ensure that each of our guests have a memorable experience. Please contact me at indu.brar@fairmont.com when your travels bring you back to Vancouver!
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I just don't know what to say about this hotel and all the other Fairmonts we stayed in during our Alaskan Cruise and Rocky Mountaineer. This was superb.

We had decided to spend three nights prior to our cruise in the Waterfront as we would be staying one night after the cruise and before the Mountaineer, and one night before flying home. We had informed them that it was our wedding anniversary and they never forgot. Each Fairmont we stayed in (and we stayed in quite a few) had chocolates or champagne waiting for us in our rooms. We were very lucky to stay in the Lake Louise Chateau and the Banff Springs hotel and we had fantastic rooms every time, cannot fault at all.

The Waterfront staff were excellent. We had excellent views all three stays were different. Very close to the City, can walk everywhere, even to Stanley Park if you feel energetic. The rooms were upgraded every stay we did. I did think that we have noticed a big different on our second stay after the cruise, but it was the same quality. We loved it and cannot say anything bad about it. I hope they keep the standard up, which I am sure they will.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 19th and 22nd floors. Had no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for spending such a special occasion with us! I'm so pleased that each time you visited us during your vacation we met the same standards of excellence you have come to expect. I look forward to sharing your compliments with my team. I hope we can welcome you again soon!
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont Waterfront on a stopover in Vancouver. It's a great Hotel in a fantastic location on the Waterfront. The wonderfully warm greeting from the reception staff was appreciated. They were extremely polite and helpful during our stay...but I have come to expect this great level of service at Fairmont Properties. We had a city view room on the 18th floor which was spacious with great amenities and very clean. The bed was supremely comfortable, which after a long flight was well received!
I would have no hesitation in recommending this property.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fibi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,
I'm so pleased to hear that your experiences at Fairmont Hotels have been so exceptional and that The Fairmont Waterfront was no exception. I'm even happier to hear that the service was top-notch. I hope we can welcome you again soon!
Warm regards,
Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here only one night before our Disney cruise but we really enjoyed it. Gorgeous rooms, fabulous customer service. Lovely breakfast on 9th floor with outdoor veranda if weather permits. Perfect location near Stanley park and sea wall as well as tour buses for city tour, grouse mountain and suspension bridge.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,
It sounds as though you had a chance to experience our Fairmont Gold floor! I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the service was so exceptional. I hope next time we can welcome you for longer!
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Come early and enjoy the amazing city that Vancouver is people. Many of the guests were only there a night and cruising the next day. The hotel is ideally situated for anyone cruising out of Vancouver, it is convenient to all of the downtown amenities and public transportation options. We only experienced one rainy morning and greatly appreciated the hotel supplied umbrella. It is only a 2-3 minute walk to the new convention center from the Fairmont. Complaints: none. Wishes: a warmer outdoor pool, plastic cups in the workout room (usually stocked but ran out a couple times), housekeeping schedule was somewhat erratic, one morning ready to clean by 8 a.m., another day 3 p.m.. The gym is open 24 hours, it's great working out at 2 a.m. with the place to yourself. We love Fairmont properties and this one did not disappoint, we'll be back again.

Room Tip: We had a garden room, if possible, I would recommend a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amethystcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,
I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had great weather for the majority of your trip. I will share your suggestions concerning the Health Club and pool with our Executive Housekeeper who will review them right away. We all look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,116 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,619 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#32 of 92 in Vancouver
3,233 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,529 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Waterfront

Address: 900 Canada Place Way, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#10 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £181 - £760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Waterfront luxury hotel showcases the best of Vancouver. Conveniently situated beside the Canada Place Cruise Ship Terminal and adjacent to the Vancouver Convention Centre, this luxury Vancouver hotel has a central harbour location, ideal for any stay. Guests can enjoy shopping, trendy restaurants, art galleries, Gastown, Chinatown and famous Stanley Park all within steps of our doors. This Four Diamond urban retreat is world renowned for its warm and welcoming service and truly showcases the best of Vancouver. The 489 newly renovated Vancouver Waterfront hotel rooms are spacious, elegantly appointed with distinctive amenities and showcase spectacular city, mountain and harbour views through floor-to-ceiling windows. The Fairmont Gold floor is an exclusive hotel within a hotel, featuring complimentary breakfast and evening canapes, personal concierge service and an exclusive lounge and terrace with harbour-views. Visit the on-site restaurant ARC. The culinary team embraces fresh, local and sustainable ingredients complemented by hotel-grown herbs from the 2,100 square foot rooftop garden and honey from the on-site honeybee colony. Expect simple, flavor focused cuisine, cooked with flawless execution appealing to discerning or emerging palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Waterfront Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Waterfront
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont
Fairmont Waterfront Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing