We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Waterfront
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed two nights at the Fairmont Waterfront prior to a cruise up the Inside Passage and found the staff extremely helpful and the hotel was lovely. A two minute walk from the cruise terminal, the hotel made all arrangements to get our bags on board, we did nothing but walk over with our hand luggage, which was great. We had a room on 19th floor with a great view over the city, two double beds, huge tv etc. They were also kind enough to store our bags on our return as we had a late night flight, so full marks for that too.

Only negatives were that everything was charged as extra - wifi at $14 a day - a shame when every single restaurant, coffee shop we found within a 5-10 minute walk gave free wifi which had the effect of us not sampling the meals in the hotel, but going somewhere we could check our mail at the same time otherwise we may well have eaten in the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisStubberfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,
I'm so pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit with us and received the exemplary service we are known for. I am sorry that the benefits of our Fairmont President's Club, of which complimentary Internet is one, were not explained to you. I will ensure we are offering this option to our guests in the future.
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,350)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,845 - 1,851 of 3,350 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

As the final few nights of our three week road trip from Calgary and across the Rockies staying in an assortment of hotels along the way we were really looking forward to a bit of luxury. Unlike some we couldn't afford a harbour view room and so were in a perfectly adequate room on the city side. The hotel is very well situated and in easy reach of restaurants, Information Office, Skytrain Station, the harbour, Gastown and site seeing buses.
BUT we never felt part of the hotel. No one to say hello when we walked through the foyer, no one to say goodnight, just big beautiful empty spaces. We enquired about wifi and were told we would have to pay for it when without exception, we were able to access it in every other hotel we stayed in. Why in this day and age? We were told about the hotel bikes which were free of charge for 3hour sessions, but there were never any available and you could not book them out so we had to hire some instead. Housekeeping in our room was ok but little things like the towels not being folded and tables not dusted. The air conditioning was very loud if you turned it up too much. A lot of money for very little. A big luxurious soulless hotel. Shame.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hockeysomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,
I'm very disappointed to read that you did not experience the usual level of service we normally provide, including the offer of complimentary Internet for our Fairmont President's Club guests - a free loyalty program available for sign-up a the Front Desk or online. When your travels bring you back to Vancouver, please contact me at indu.brar@fairmont.com. It would be my pleasure to assist with your travel plans.
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I always hate to walk off a ship and head on home...so I try hard not to do that. This time we walked off the ship, across the street and into the Fairmont Waterfront Hotel. The perfect location to stay coming from a cruise. With no car, the hotel is a central, downtown location that is pricy(but not as costly as lesser star downtown hotels ) but well worth every penny. Vancouver is a lovely city and being right downtown, and on the water everything we wanted was easily walkable , or a very short walk on the other side of the street brought us to several bus options for touring the city and other points beyond. Gas Town was a very easy walk as was the train to the airport when we finally had to head home! The staff was courteous, we arrived at 9:00 am off the ship and were greeted by the most pleasant bell hop who was expecting us and handed us the key to our room which was ready for us. We headed to the 17th floor and entered a large room with floor to ceiling windows and met with a spectacular view of the water and the city. The large foyer in the room offered extra space and the beautiful, spacious bathroom also had great views from the large windows that could be easily closed of with wooden blinds for privacy. The amenities, a lovely outdoor pool, gym and free bikes make it a family friendly hotel. The restaurant off the main lobby was pricy, however there is a food court downstairs with plenty of choice if you have kids in your party. It happened to be my birthday and after inquiring at the Concierge Desk about a nice eatery for a birthday celebration, and returning to our room....some 30 minutes later a waiter arrived with strawberry dipped chocolate, truffles and almonds with a little jar of hotel made honey from their rooftop beehives and a personal note wishing me a happy birthday from the folks at Fairmont Waterfront all presented on a lovely crystal tray with a chocolate written birthday greeting. Nice touch! We did not have one staff member who was not entirely helpful, courteous and happy to serve. We are confirmed Fairmont travellers and have joined the Presidents club which offers some nice extras for your loyalty. Really an example of you get what you pay for and this was a great package and a lovely gentle touch down after cruising for 8 days....truly not the real fast paced world we live in. The Fairmont was indeed a gentle re-entry to the real world.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the hall on the 17th floor facing the water. It was quiet, sound proof...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N2L2T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing The Fairmont Waterfront as your retreat in the heart of downtown Vancouver. We do out best to provide an atmosphere of relaxed luxury and exemplary service and I'm thrilled that your experience reflected that. I invite you to contact me at indu.brar@fairmont.com when your travels bring you back to Vancouver!
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Beautiful room, view and great service. Beautiful city and great location for getting around town. We only stayed 2 nights wish we had more time. Will definitely go back some day! Very walkable city, they gave us lots of suggestions for dining and site seeing. Take the time to do the waterfront walk.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,
The walk along the seawall is one of my favourites. It's great by bike as well; ask our Concierge team about the complimentary bikes we have available for our Fairmont President's Club guests! I look forward to your return.
Warm regards,
Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Amazing service and very affordable. All staff were personable and helpful. Rooms beautiful and excellent amenities. Check in fast and assistance with places to visit and help in getting to each location outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,
I'm so glad to hear that the service you received was warm, engaging, and exactly what we strive to provide. I look forward to sharing your feedback with my team and hopefully seeing you again soon.
Warm regards,
Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a large double room at the hotel, with a fantastic view of the harbour, waterfront and surrounding mountains. The service was great and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The breakfast was good value and tasty - try and get Darrin to serve you if you can - he is a hoot!

Make good use of the concierge desk - they are helpful, the prices you pay are less than you pay on the street and restaurant bookings get you to the front of the queue of ones that are fully booked!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sjmmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and can't wait to share your compliments with Darrin and our Concierge team. I hope we can welcome you again soon!
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This Fairmont property is located across from Canada place, where cruise ships dock. It is fairly modern and nic of the harbour and mountains. Try and get a corner room. It is a short walk to downtown, where there are numerous restaurant choices. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is a starbucks across the street. The gym is adequate but on the small side. Wifi service is excellent.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank CDNtraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. I'm pleased that your enjoyed your stay, including the service and location. I hope we can welcome you again!
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,070 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,589 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#32 of 92 in Vancouver
3,175 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Waterfront

Address: 900 Canada Place Way, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £187 - £729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Waterfront luxury hotel showcases the best of Vancouver. Conveniently situated beside the Canada Place Cruise Ship Terminal and adjacent to the Vancouver Convention Centre, this luxury Vancouver hotel has a central harbour location, ideal for any stay. Guests can enjoy shopping, trendy restaurants, art galleries, Gastown, Chinatown and famous Stanley Park all within steps of our doors. This Four Diamond urban retreat is world renowned for its warm and welcoming service and truly showcases the best of Vancouver. The 489 newly renovated Vancouver Waterfront hotel rooms are spacious, elegantly appointed with distinctive amenities and showcase spectacular city, mountain and harbour views through floor-to-ceiling windows. The Fairmont Gold floor is an exclusive hotel within a hotel, featuring complimentary breakfast and evening canapes, personal concierge service and an exclusive lounge and terrace with harbour-views. Visit the on-site restaurant ARC. The culinary team embraces fresh, local and sustainable ingredients complemented by hotel-grown herbs from the 2,100 square foot rooftop garden and honey from the on-site honeybee colony. Expect simple, flavor focused cuisine, cooked with flawless execution appealing to discerning or emerging palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Waterfront Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Waterfront
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont
Fairmont Waterfront Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing