We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay for a King... and get a Queen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Waterfront
Ranked #10 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Pay for a King... and get a Queen”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked a King room through Expedia mobile, the day before check-in. It was a city view King room for $237 (mobile exclusive pricing). Upon check-in, we were informed that we booked a Queen room. We said, "uhh no" and they proceeded to tell us that Expedia does not have control/knowledge of specific room type availability, so basically, you get what's available upon check-in. Huh!? We weren't very happy. If this were a lesser class hotel than the freaking Fairmont Waterfront in Vancouver, we wouldn't have cared, but let's get real here.

I don't know who's problem this really is (Expedia or Fairmont), but this is the first time we've EVER run into this and we've used Expedia A LOT and have ALWAYS gotten what we've booked/paid for.

Anyway, we called Expedia to complain and they were really good about it and provided us with a pretty decent travel voucher (which made me wonder if they really are the guilty party), plus upon check-out, we were given a complimentary lunch in the Fairmont's restaurant, which was quite good.

Other Notes: the room on 20th floor was small but adequate. Good A/C. Remote for TV was MIA, but they brought us another one. The best part about our stay was access to the pool/hot tub/sauna/weight room. Our flight didn't leave until 7:30pm so they allowed us access to these areas after checkout which was great. For the size of the hotel, these services were massively underutilized and there was rarely anyone using them.

Overall, we likely wouldn't stay here again because we'd never book full price through the hotel and apparently we can't trust Expedia with them.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alpinestaRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your review. I'm very sorry to hear of the frustration you experienced with the bed type in your guest room upon arrival. Unfortunately, we cannot guarantee bed types for reservations booked through third-party booking engines. However, bed type is guaranteed when a reservation is made directly with our hotel, either by phone or online. I am also pleased to let you know that we offer rate parity across all booking options - a rate available on any third-party site will always be available directly with the hotel. If I can assist with a future reservation, please contact me at indu.brar@fairmont.com. I hope we can welcome you again.
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,231
    704
    154
    54
    35
See reviews for
604
1,192
143
877
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (884)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked this hotel because of the beautiful views it promised. My in laws paid for a corner room the was promised to be on " an exceptional high floor" with stunning views. They ended up on the 5th floor with no view and no bath tub! The manager didn't even believe that the room description said that it promised a high floor and had us email him our room confirmation. The manager, Jason, also stated that they received a seniors rate and shouldn't be complaining essentially...if they knew they would not get the room they booked, they would not have utilized the seniors discount offered. We have stayed at the top hotels all over the world, and this customer service and false advertising was such a bad way to start our family vacation..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aspenfamily81611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Please accept my sincere apologies for the confusion that occurred with this reservation. While I am pleased we were able to offer some compensation to your parents, this should never have happened in the first this. I have reviewed this with our technology team and there was a mistake made on one portion of our booking confirmation system which we are rectifying. I hope the remainder of their stay is exceptional. Please contact me at indu.brar@fairmont.com if I may be of any further assistance.
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Hotel is convenient to the Convention Center and the harbor. Good place, nice and clean. Food court access was available at the lower level. Staff was friendly but it did take a couple of requests to get help with the luggage at checkout. Downside is that wifi was not free. Can't believe that a hotel of this caliber charges for wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thompson2_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We are very lucky to be able to provide our guests with an amazing location in the heart of downtown Vancouver and I'm very pleased you found this convenient. I was disappointed to read that there was a delay in your luggage pick-up and that you were not told that our Fairmont President's Club members (a free loyalty program available for sign-up through the Front Desk or online) receive complimentary Internet aces. I will follow up on both of these deficiencies.
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed one night before a cruise and we were delighted by our experience. The bed was comfy and the room was large. Attractively decorated, the room really met our expectations. Breakfast was no bargain (but it generally isn't at a nice hotel any more) but it was good and service was pleasant. We were in the perfect location for the cruise docks, many other restaurants, and a bit of sightseeing.

When my husband left a pair of pants and a jacket in the room by mistake, he emailed the hotel and suggested that they might mail the items to us - and that we'd pay postage. The items had already arrived at our house when we returned from our trip!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OttawaCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
It's great to hear that you had such a great experience at The Fairmont Waterfront. We're so pleased to be able to offer our guest our signature Fairmont mattress which is one of the most comfortable available (though I am a little biased). I look forward to sharing your review with my team, especially our Lost & Found team in Housekeeping and our breakfasts team in the Kitchen and ARC!
Warm regards,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
European Traveller
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We spent a few days at the Fairmont Waterfront on a family holiday to Vancouver. The location was perfect for sightseeing in Vancouver. Your only need to step out of the hotel to get onto a tourist bus to one of Vancouver's popular attractions (Grouse Mountain, Capilano suspension bridge, Vancouver Trolleybus sightseeing tours etc.). It's also right next to the train station, near to the Vancouver Lookout and within easy walking distance of Gas Town where you can find some nice restaurants and see the famous steam clock. The ferry terminal to North Vancouver is accessible via the station next door and the sea plane terminal Island is no more than 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel's front door. From the hotel, you can walk to Stanley Park via a very pleasant path close to the water - it takes about 40 minutes but bear in mind that Stanley Park itself is huge. The Concierge in the hotel was very helpful indeed.

We were very pleased that we booked the Fairmont Gold floor. This included breakfast and various snacks and drinks throughout the day. The Gold lounge and balcony was very nice and the staff were exceptionally helpful. A really good experience. One day we decided to try the downstairs restaurant for breakfast for a change - big mistake. The staff seemed disorganised and we had to wait for ages to get a table. The breakfast was very much mass catering fare - uninspiring compared with what you might expect in a hotel of this calibre. On the first day we ate in the downstairs restaurant as we were too tired to go elsewhere. This was overpriced and the food was exceptionally disappointing - I even wondered whether the chef had tasted the food as the mixture of tastes just didn't go together well. Our advice is stick to the Gold lounge for breakfast and eat elsewhere for dinner. We liked the simple Italian restaurant in GasTown (on the left just before the clock).

The room was nice and the bed was large and comfy but it did feel a bit like the kind of business hotel you end up staying at when attending conferences - nice enough but nothing special.

Room Tip: Gold floor is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McClive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
I was very pleased to read that so much of your experience was exactly what we strive to provide - exceptional service, comfortable and elegant guest rooms, and a fantastic location. I was very disappointed to read of your experiences in ARC. I will shared your feedback with our Executive Chef for review so we can ensure our guests are receiving the best experience possible.
Sincerely,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Brilliant every time ... All service and amenities connected with this chain of Hotels has always been FIRST CLASS ... from the very moment of booking until the follow up after the granted extended check out !!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank D. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We do our utmost to provide exceptional, memorable service to all of our guests and I am very happy to see that we accomplishing our goal. I hope we can see you again soon!
Warm regards,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

the hotel is located at very convenient place and has good decor and facilities. since i was upgraded to gold class my stay ther became memorable since i had no problem in having vegetarian food during breakfast and at other times in the lounge.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Arun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWsocialmedia, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Fairmont Gold truly is a hotel within a hotel and I'm thrilled you were able to experience it. Thank you very much for posting your review. I hope we can welcome you again!
Warm regards,
Indu Brar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,890 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,725 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,579 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 90 in Vancouver
1,483 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Waterfront

Property: Fairmont Waterfront
Address: 900 Canada Place Way, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Waterfront luxury hotel showcases the best of Vancouver. Conveniently situated beside the Canada Place Cruise Ship Terminal and adjacent to the Vancouver Convention Centre, this luxury Vancouver hotel has a central harbour location, ideal for any stay. Guests can enjoy shopping, trendy restaurants, art galleries, Gastown, Chinatown and famous Stanley Park all within steps of our doors. This Four Diamond urban retreat is world renowned for its warm and welcoming service and truly showcases the best of Vancouver. The 489 newly renovated Vancouver Waterfront hotel rooms are spacious, elegantly appointed with distinctive amenities and showcase spectacular city, mountain and harbour views through floor-to-ceiling windows. The Fairmont Gold floor is an exclusive hotel within a hotel, featuring complimentary breakfast and evening canapes, personal concierge service and an exclusive lounge and terrace with harbour-views. Visit the on-site restaurant ARC. The culinary team embraces fresh, local and sustainable ingredients complemented by hotel-grown herbs from the 2,100 square foot rooftop garden and honey from the on-site honeybee colony. Expect simple, flavor focused cuisine, cooked with flawless execution appealing to discerning or emerging palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Waterfront Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Waterfront
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont
Fairmont Waterfront Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing