We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the greatest in Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Waterfront
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One of the greatest in Vancouver”
Reviewed 5 May 2009

If it has the "Fairmont" brand on it, no need to look anywhere else. Just two quick comments: 1. Just in case you're thinking about the spa, this hotel doesn't have a Willow Stream Spa, it just has a regular spa with fitness centre, an outdoor heated pool, an indoor jacuzzi, and there's a sauna inside the men's locker room. The location is the best in the city, in front of Canada Place, the Convention Centre and the Cruise Ship Terminal, and just 2 or 3 blocks away from the main shopping areas of downtown. 2. The internet connection is not included in the room rate, so, if you want to connect to the internet from your room, you have to pay for it, and again, this seems to be a general tendency in most hotels in Canada. Sorry guys, when I pay for a hotel room, I expect complimentary internet included, so for that reason, I will take away one point from the "Value" rating.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoutiqueHotelFan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,299
    734
    161
    57
    37
See reviews for
636
1,245
145
889
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (904)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

My wife and I stayed here for our Honeymoon. We spent ten nights at the chateau in whistler (which is incredible) and then we had four nights at the waterfront. Having had a fantastic time at the chateau we thought the waterfront might not live up to it but we were pleasantly surprised. Everything about the hotel was 10/10, the staff were so friendly and couldnt do enough for us. The location was excellent and really handy for visiting Downtown Vancouver. If you are staying in Vancouver we couldn't recommend this hotel enough. We were so impressed with the two fairmont hotels that we have signed up to the Presidents club as we can not wait to go to another of their excellent hotels.

BOOK THIS HOTEL!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eurotripnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

The hotel is by Canada Place in the Waterfront district and has a nice spacious entrance and common parts. We had a city view room overlooking the garden and it was much quieter than the other Fairmont property in central Vancouver. The rooms are spacious but the furniture collection was eclectic to say the least with painted furniture thrown together (from a garage sale?) with sleek dark wood side tables, maple TV cabinet, a glass and metal sidetable and poly mixed sheets (watch the static at night) on a bed next to wrought iron table lamps. We were invited to keep our towels for more than one day which seems a good initiative except that it seemed to extend to meaning don't bother to clean the bathroom so thoroughly either. The buffet breakfast is expansive and quite expensive but there are cheaper alternatives in the food court below the hotel. The hotel defnitiely scores on quietness and my husband enjoyed running along the waterfront but it's not well placed for the shops. That's why my husband wanted us to stay here!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequentflyerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

Fantastic location for all the downtown sights and a brilliant hotel. The Fairmont Gold floor is a must and ensures you get breakfast included and also evening canapes and drinks in the honour bar which is very convenient.

The rooms are very well furnished and we had a river view which was amazing!

The food in the hotel was lovely and we ordered room service which was exceptional. The Fairmont Gold staff were very helpful, we managed to get tickets to a hockey game which was amazing and they also booked us the best tables at their recommended restaurants which meant we had great service!! The hotel spa was great and the treatments very good. Outdoor pool a little chilly but great gym and great views from the building!

A must stay and a very elegant hotel for a downtown location, perfect for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sportychick1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Stayed 3 nights during April and was given a city view room. I didn't mind because I only planned to use it to sleep at night. With a water view room, it would be nice during the day but at night, the view is pitch black. The room was not luxurious but had a flat screen tv and a large bathroom.

The location is ok considering it was close to the water and downtown offices but not convenient if you go out at night. The area is almost deserted at night. There are no good restaurants around and some of them only operates during the daytime (I guess there is no point staying open at night if there are no pedestrian traffic around). The food court below the hotel also closes around 6 pm.

The gym facilities is small and very intimating. There are only few exercise equipment available and with people working out so close together, you will not be comfortable.

The hotel personnel are friendly.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Stayed in a deluxe room with breakfast thrown in (with wife & 2 year old child, who had a cot/crib) for 3 nights prior to a skiing holiday in Whistler.
Room was large and clean.
The bath could have been larger/deeper (but I have come across these very low baths in Canada before).
Breakfast was very good, plenty of choise and helpful staff.
Dinner was also very well presented / cooked.
(& the hotel dog was very friendly).
I would say the hotel isn't in that great a location for walking out at night for finding a selection of nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRL12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

That Fairmont Waterfront is situated in the best possible general location around Vancouver is not in doubt - Pan Pacific and Terminal City Club Hotel are both across the street too of course. One side gives one a view of city centre and the other gives one a view of Coal Harbour and the water and North Shore of Vancouver.
Walk into the main street and turn left and within 5 minutes you are in a chic pedesterian area. Walk up the hill and within 5 minutes you are downtown and in the midst of shopping.
The staff are polite and Amit was very happy to greet me and change my room to better accommodate me (I wanted to get some ladies up so didnt want two beds!!). I also liked the fact that I could ask for a room at the end of the corridor because some of the ladies visiting are married or dating.
The breakfast was expensive ($60 for two every morning), but what was disappointing is the restaurants the concierge recommends. They seem to be, well, crap and somehow all next to the other Fairmont ten minutes away.

Disappointingly, there was no dog to pat. Reviews here indicated that a dog greets guests. Having booked through travelzoo I was able to procure the 17th floor for $150/night.

By the way, feel free to park five minutes away in any direction and save $15 in parking fees.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dadada767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,014 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,552 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#32 of 92 in Vancouver
3,104 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,815 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Waterfront

Property: Fairmont Waterfront
Address: 900 Canada Place Way, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Waterfront luxury hotel showcases the best of Vancouver. Conveniently situated beside the Canada Place Cruise Ship Terminal and adjacent to the Vancouver Convention Centre, this luxury Vancouver hotel has a central harbour location, ideal for any stay. Guests can enjoy shopping, trendy restaurants, art galleries, Gastown, Chinatown and famous Stanley Park all within steps of our doors. This Four Diamond urban retreat is world renowned for its warm and welcoming service and truly showcases the best of Vancouver. The 489 newly renovated Vancouver Waterfront hotel rooms are spacious, elegantly appointed with distinctive amenities and showcase spectacular city, mountain and harbour views through floor-to-ceiling windows. The Fairmont Gold floor is an exclusive hotel within a hotel, featuring complimentary breakfast and evening canapes, personal concierge service and an exclusive lounge and terrace with harbour-views. Visit the on-site restaurant ARC. The culinary team embraces fresh, local and sustainable ingredients complemented by hotel-grown herbs from the 2,100 square foot rooftop garden and honey from the on-site honeybee colony. Expect simple, flavor focused cuisine, cooked with flawless execution appealing to discerning or emerging palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Fairmont Hotels, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Waterfront Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Waterfront
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont
Fairmont Waterfront Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing