We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel and i found it warm, inviting and brilliantly situated. I shared a twin double bed room with a friend and had a great 5 day stay. The ensuite was clean and nice, the beds were comfy and regularly cleaned and the hotel staff were lovely.

This was a great stay and i would thoroughly recommend it!

Room Tip: Request one with a view, our window overlooked an ally and a brickwall of an ajoining hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    630
    101
    11
    6
See reviews for
371
457
388
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We only stayed at YWCA hotel for a night so we didn't get the chance to use any amenities.

The room itself (double, private bath, TV) was very old fashioned.

The blanket and the curtains are coming directly from the past, with ugly flowers and multi clashing colors.
The above is only a detail but speaking of the blanket, it was also dirty. It was full of hair from previous customers and we ended up just removing it from the bed.

The bathroom is pretty small, the toilet was really hard to flush.
The shower curtain wasn't that clean either.

The location itself is ok, facing BC place, which is great, unfortunately the drawback is that you have smoking industrial chimneys in close proximity to the hotel (actually across the street).

Most of these issues (except the lack of cleanliness) wouldn't be a problem if the room rate was lower.
For $86 + tax, it is possible to find better hotels or, at least, clean hotels !

I didn't put 1 because the desk clerk was nice and helpful, there are shared kitchens and computers with free internet access in the lobby (you will have to pay if you want Wi-Fi).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mosespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHotel, Director of Sales at YWCA Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear guest, Hello and thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us last year. Some things can be corrected. After 17 years we know that our rooms need some updating and we are planning a facelift later this year. Lack of cleanliness however, is inexcusable. Please accept our sincere apologies. As noted by other TripAdvisor comments, cleanliness at the YWCA Hotel is of a high standard... that said, mistakes do happen on occasion. Although not pretty, the industrial chimneys across the road are actually releasing steam . Central Heating Distribution is a steam generating station that heats many of the buildings in the downtown core (ourselves included!!) It helps reduce the amount of pollution being created to heat downtown Vancouver. We hope that we have addressed your concerns - feel free to contact me at asutherland@ywcavan.org if you have any more comments . Sincerely, Arden Sutherland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

i stayed here for a week in July 2011. in general, what i liked about the hotel:

- simple and fuss-free
- friendly staff
- clean and neat room

the room i stayed in was a bit cramped though, and for those of you who value your privacy, i suggest getting a room with private attached bathroom. location-wise, i won't say it is very convenient, as it will take you some walking to get to downtown area.

Room Tip: get a room with private attached bath for extra privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lim_lim_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My recent stay at the YWCA was a pleasant surprise. The desk clerk graciously allowed us to check in early and we made our way up to our room with very little delay. Although I was slightly concerned about security, the key to activate the elevator along with the locks on the door and the locking system on the shared bathroom doors, made me feel much relieved. Our room had two twin beds and an excellent flat screen tv. The establishment loses a few points for an obviously broken desk and a leak in the ceiling over the closet. The ceiling tile was discolored which I thought meant the leak was old. However, the pillow on the shelf was also stained which told me the leak was more recent (or maybe the pillow hadn't been moved for a long time?).

Wireless Internet was an extra CD$6 a day, which I didn't mind too much. A tip for those who have a room with a shared bathroom...bring rubber shower shoes. We were aghast to hear our neighbors blowing their nose IN THE SHOWER. Revolting.

You'll love the location of this hotel. It's two blocks from the metro and 2.5 blocks from Cafe Medina. The area is safe, the hotel is secure and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. I would not hesistate to stay here again but perhaps would select a room with a private bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele_Emeritus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat AB
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I've been visiting the YWCA as a budget conscious traveller since September 2000.

My 30 day stay in March and April 2012 was excellent. Staff are superb, rooms are clean and safe, and the location to Public Transit and event centres is "A1".

This is a great place to stay in Vancouver!

Room Tip: Rooms facing west are quieter and have less bright light from Beatty Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

we stayed in the YWCA last Dec 2011 for more than a week. we spent our first night in a room with one double bed - they don't have queen sized beds.the room itself was really good sized but one double bed was too small for us and our daughter. the next day, we left our luggage with them (they have a luggage room-will store for a minimal fee) and left for whistler for around 5 days. when we got back, we got the room with 2 double beds - this was just right for us.

if you plan to do a bit of cooking, do request a room on a kitchen floor. they don't have kitchens on every floor. some floors have a kitchenette (a smaller, less equipped smaller kitchen)and others a full kitchen. we were on the floor with the most equipped kitchen - i think it was the 7th floor. it might get a bit noisy for those with rooms right near where the kitchen is tho, with people going in and out the kitchen..we got the room on the hall parallel to the kitchen hall so we couldn't say for sure how 'noisy' it can get -if it ever does at all.

the kitchen we had have 3 stove tops and ovens, a refrigerator, electric kettle, bread toaster and a microwave . cabinets and drawers which you can claim as your space and lock -if you don't want anyone to mistakenly open it and use your stuff. 4 square tables and around 8
chairs.

peolpe using the kitchen are very courteous to each other but not overly friendly where you will have to start talking even if you don't want to. a 'hi, how are you' and 'goodbye' is the standard.there will be times when you will have to share the kitchen with other guests. this will depend on how often you go to the kitchen and the season - we were there Christmas eve till new year - so we shared the kitchen with another group-which was not a problem at all.

room decor is standard and decent.it was exactly like the pictures on the website. room is cleaned everyday. we were advised that rooms might not be cleaned on Christmas day, however, our room still got cleaned.

there were a lot of pleasant surprises - kids get to choose a free toy upon checking in, chocolates from the staff for Christmas, free coffee and pastries from the ground floor cafe on Christmas day - we didn't try it, so can't say how it was.

a vending machine and computers on the ground floor. wifi is not free but fee is only minimal.signal was not a problem, strong and not spotty.

closest sky train station is around two blocks away (5min walk) - a straight walk to the left when you leave the hotel-i think it was the Chinatown station. to get to the shopping area, turn right when you leave, right on the corner and walk straight - on the whole stretch are shops, restaurants, groceries (there's an iga).don't miss to visit and spend some time in their public library - it's a good place to relax .non- bc residents can use it but not bring books out.

ferdinand at the reception was such a great help to us. giving us useful tips around the place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sommer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed in the double with a private shower. It was super clean. safe and secure and the bed was comfortable. The location was great-we walked to different areas of the city-Yaletown, Chinatown and Gastown. We rented a car and had to pay $13 to park but in Vancouver that is a deal-you have to pay to park everywhere. The lack of free wifi was the only drawback. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the street was great but could be noisy at night-especially when there is an ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,655 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Hotel Vancouver

Property: YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Address: 733 Beatty St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YWCA Hotel Vancouver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA Hotel Vancouver offers a warm welcome to all travellers and is a comfortable, safe and affordable place to stay at the heart of downtown's arts and entertainment scene. All rooms are private and there’s a choice to suit your needs and budget - from single rooms to quints. The modern 155 room facility has air-conditioning, mini-fridges, telephones, TVs, guest area kitchens, wireless Internet access, laundry rooms, a coffee bar in our lobby and meeting rooms! The YWCA Hotel is just a stroll away from Robson Street, the city's shopping and restaurant mecca. Other nearby neighbourhoods worth exploring include Historic Gastown, Chinatown and trendy Yaletown. The YWCA Hotel was the recipient of the Best Bargain hotel in the 2009 TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Awards and recently received TripAdvisor 2011 Certificate of Excellence. Come and discover for yourself why YWCA Hotel is worth checking into! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your YWCA Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Ywca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing