We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wierd”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wierd”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

I'm unwillingly listening to the person next door showering and using the toilet. I would not recommend getting a shared bathroom with the room nextdoor. Very wierd. You enter from your room, close the door, then press a button for privacy . This does not prevent two people from entering the bathroom at the same time.

Also, watch out for traffic during events at BC Stadium. Beatty street was closed off to cars.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrinceHaakon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    673
    107
    13
    6
See reviews for
404
498
410
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Outstanding value in downtown Van. Although not the most central location, still very convenient for central area. rooms smaller than average hotel room in NAmerica, but have all essentials. Reasonably priced security underground parking. shorrt walk to lots of good eating options in Yaletown. Good access to public transport to get around including walk to False Creek ferries. Cooking and laundry facilities also useful.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LondonKaytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The YWCA is more a hotel than a hostel. The rooms are well appointed, hand basin and fridge in all. Good showers kitchens etc. free local phone calls. Front of house staff extremely helpful and well informed. I think that the Wifi in the foyer could be free, $3 a day a bit excessive. Very well situated to visit all the sights.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed two days in Vancouver and we liked the YWCA. The room was small for two people but very clean and quiet. The kitchen was nice, we cooked our meal. We borrowed a kitchen kit from the front desk (no charge). The location is very good too to get to and from the airport by the sky train. Good choice! We will go again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford CT
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

While traveling with my family in Vancouver, I decided on the YWCA based on reviews here at Trip Advisor and once again, I am not disappointed. YWCA's location is smack dab in between Gas Town and Yale Town, a short walk to Chinatown, minutes from the Canada Center, not too long a walk to water taxis and a 15 minute bus ride to Stanley park. Family travel should include this place, with room set ups that include a double bed and two singles, which works really well for my family with a 15 year old girl and a 6 year old boy. Not having that discussion of sleeping with the little brother alone is worth the stay!!! Very comfortable beds, clean facilities and four full kitchens to share with other guests made for a great stay for us. Not to be overlooked, the staff are just fabulous. Always with a smile and full of information, they really are tops. One note is the triple room we stayed in did seem small, but the fact is we weren't in there long, so who cares. There are also laundry machines for cheap and safes in the office lobby.

Room Tip: Upper floors would have a nice view. We took a private bath. Certain floors, 4 and 10 for sure, have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed here for 8 days with my daughter, we had 3 nights away at Rockies in between (2 days at YWCA then 6 when we came back from tour) and were able to store our luggage for $3 a day each while we were on tour to save us taking it all with us. We had a room with private bathroom and fridge. smallish but nice. Excellent facilities, kitchen, lounges, laundry. Staff friendly and helpful.Nice little coffee shop attached (great muffins) Near to buses and trains. Would definately stay here again

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank raineymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I recently took a summer trip up to Vancouver, BC and stayed at the YWCA Hotel Vancouver - can't say enough about this place! Clean, remarkably well appointed for the price, and the staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful. We stayed in a room with 3 twin beds, which included a mini-washroom (sink, mirror, blowdryer, additional toiletries), spacious closet with extra shelving, television, air conditioning and a mini-fridge. The pictures online don't really do the rooms justice; the bedding was all new and comfy, the room was bright and light and housekeeping came through each day to keep the room extra clean and tidy. We used the shared bathrooms available to guests; there are 2 on each floor and we never had to wait to use one of the bathrooms. The baths have a toilet/sink, and at least one more on each floor has a shower or tub/shower combo. You are free to use any of the vacant baths on any floor, so we roamed around to find our own "favorite" bathrooms. Again, they were all clean, well-lit and well maintained. Not luxurious but definitely superior to the shared baths in hostels or some guest houses.

There is a peaceful and welcoming "living room" in the lobby which shows the local news, has local papers and also has a coffee shop open during the day. This was a quiet place to sit and have a cup of coffee before heading out each day. Because we like to cook, we made use of the kitchens available to guests and ate several of our meals at the hotel. For just $2.50(CA)/day you can rent their kitchen pack which includes table settings for four, a saucepan, a skillet, a serving spoon and a spatula. The kitchens include an oven, microwave, refrigerator, several electric burners and two sinks for washing up after. You can store your food in the refrigerator/freezer (we never had a problem with theft) and there are two grocery stores within easy walking distance (IGA Foods and HMart).

Your stay includes daily access to the YWCA Fitness Center located about 8 blocks away; this was certainly a luxury added-value to our visit! Vancouver has a beautiful YWCA, and we made use of the gym each day. It includes a large swimming pool, jacuzzi, weight room, cardio room, studio class room, and very clean, well-appointed locker rooms (showers, blow dryers, large make-up area, swimsuit water-extractors). Just ask the front desk staff for your daily pass to the gym.

The location couldn't be more perfect; we took the Amtrak up from Portland, Oregon so it was just a relatively short walk from the station to the hotel. If you are traveling with a car, they also have a parking garage available. We rented bikes to tour the city, so for us it was perfect. The hotel staff directed us to several rental bike shops nearby, plus provided us with a map of the city showing all the best bike routes. From our hotel we could easily ride throughout Downtown Vancouver on the city's many bike thruways, bike paths and of course the seawall out to Granville Island and Stanley Park.

If you are a traveler like me looking for a great-priced "home base" to use to explore a city, then this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: The hotel is right across the street from BC Place and near the arena, convenient if you are going t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,781 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
864 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
1,669 reviews
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#74 of 92 in Vancouver
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Hotel Vancouver

Property: YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Address: 733 Beatty St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YWCA Hotel Vancouver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA Hotel Vancouver offers a warm welcome to all travellers and is a comfortable, safe and affordable place to stay at the heart of downtown's arts and entertainment scene. All rooms are private and there’s a choice to suit your needs and budget - from single rooms to quints. The modern 155 room facility has air-conditioning, mini-fridges, telephones, TVs, guest area kitchens, wireless Internet access, laundry rooms, a coffee bar in our lobby and meeting rooms! The YWCA Hotel is just a stroll away from Robson Street, the city's shopping and restaurant mecca. Other nearby neighbourhoods worth exploring include Historic Gastown, Chinatown and trendy Yaletown. The YWCA Hotel was the recipient of the Best Bargain hotel in the 2009 TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Awards and recently received TripAdvisor 2011 Certificate of Excellence. Come and discover for yourself why YWCA Hotel is worth checking into! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your YWCA Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Ywca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing