We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #16 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value, great location, helpful staff”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The staff worked hard and were always most helpful and obliging with our many questions. There was a problem with our room-it smelt bad, but we reported it and another room was found. It was a better room, but the lady did not make us pay more. We felt bad complaining, as we had just arrived, but she assured us that we absolutely were right to say something, so it could be addressed. The next room was much bigger, nice, clean and the laundry was handy, as was the kitchen. The coffee shop was good and the lady who worked in there was lovely. We stayed there for 3 nights. I would go back.

Room Tip: Good to have a room not too far from the kitchen and the laundry, if you are in need of those rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargetBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,029
    652
    105
    11
    6
See reviews for
385
483
400
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I went there for a conference, given the position it has the best quality/value ratio one can find. The staff is very helpful and nice, they helped me with the metro opening hours and to find a place were to buy relatively cheap but good icewine.
Clean and spacious room, good price, close to many interesting places, walking distance from vancouver convention center and metro stop.
Do not think that the service is inferior because the hotel is related to charity: I haven't seen any difference from other hotels, the staff is very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salmi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a very nice hostel and the location is great with a very helpful staff and clean rooms and kitchen. I would however pick a different hotel when traveling with young kids - they have badges and locks they use everywhere, meaning that you need a special badge to use each of the elevators and carry keys for the bathroom...when one was of us had to go to the bathroom with the toddler, the other had to stay in because the keys are connected.

The rooms are small and the beds are very very high (2 mattresses) meaning your kid can easily fall of the bed and your baby doesn't really have where to crawl. To summarize - if you are a single budget traveler, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed for 1 week, with a shared bathroom. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean, including the shared bathroom, downstairs toilets and bedroom. We were incredibly impressed by the service of the staff, always willing to help with tips and advice on where to go and where to eat.

The bedroom was slightly small, but had everything you could need including fridge and hair dryer.

The location was fantastic, easy walk into the centre of town, Gas Town or Yaletown. We also enjoyed the water ferry across to Granville Island.

We enjoyed ourselves so much we returned to the hotel for 1 more night following a 3 week trip around Canada/USA. That night we enjoyed a private bathroom with shower.

Cannot recommend highly enough. Thank you to all the fantastic staff!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yhotel, General Manager at YWCA Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your excellent review on the YWCA Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a great time in our city. I will share your comments with our front desk staff on how helpful they are. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Very clean and safe, the rooms are available also for extended periods (up to 3 months) if booked in advance. In a very central position, the highlights include BC Place, Vancouver Public Library, Robson Street (the most famous shopping street in Vancouver). It's only a few steps away from the Chinatown Skytrain station.
I was travelling alone in September 2011 and my room was awesome, clean and tidy. Communal kitchen available, but pots and pans are available only if rented. If you need Internet Wifi you need to pay extra.
This location is perfect for girls travelling alone. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michela Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Let me state up front that there was the matter of sharing a bathroom with a floor of rooms, but the slight inconvenience was heavily outweighed by the convenience of being in the center of town. Larger rooms with en suite baths are available at a slightly higher rate. The rooms have been recently renovated and are large, modern very clean and very comfortable. Wi-fi is available in the rooms or on the computers available in the lobby. There are also full self-service kitchens if you prefer to make your own breakfast and an excellent coffee bar in the Lobby if you want to grab a pastry and go. There is no curfew but you will have to ring the bell to be let in. I appreciate this bit of security myself. We received excellent information, directions and suggestions from the front desk staff and found we were an easy 10 minute walk from the waterfront where we caught a water taxi out to Granville Island. I would definitely recommend a stay at this Y and plan to do so myself again in the near future!

Room Tip: If you are on a shared bathroom floor, ask for a room on the same side of the building as the bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank never2old2try
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Basic hotel, not new or fancy but the cleanest hotel of our 3 week vacation!! Excellent location. Incredibly helpful and friendly staff. Uber comfortable bed. Very secure. Recycling bins in the room!! Would absolutely recommend and stay here again. Discount fot YMCA members and students.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Traveljunkies_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,720 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 90 in Vancouver
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 90 in Vancouver
1,520 reviews
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#57 of 90 in Vancouver
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Hotel Vancouver

Property: YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Address: 733 Beatty St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YWCA Hotel Vancouver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA Hotel Vancouver offers a warm welcome to all travellers and is a comfortable, safe and affordable place to stay at the heart of downtown's arts and entertainment scene. All rooms are private and there’s a choice to suit your needs and budget - from single rooms to quints. The modern 155 room facility has air-conditioning, mini-fridges, telephones, TVs, guest area kitchens, wireless Internet access, laundry rooms, a coffee bar in our lobby and meeting rooms! The YWCA Hotel is just a stroll away from Robson Street, the city's shopping and restaurant mecca. Other nearby neighbourhoods worth exploring include Historic Gastown, Chinatown and trendy Yaletown. The YWCA Hotel was the recipient of the Best Bargain hotel in the 2009 TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Awards and recently received TripAdvisor 2011 Certificate of Excellence. Come and discover for yourself why YWCA Hotel is worth checking into! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your YWCA Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Ywca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing