We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at YWCA Hotel for 6 nights during July in a private bedroom with shared bathroom. It was one of the few affordable hotels that we could find in downtown and the experience was really good. The bedroom was basic but really comfortable, new and clean. Sharing the bathroom wasn't a problem at all. Some days we couldn't even tell if someone else was using it or not.
The location is perfect to walk around downtown. The place gets a little busy if there is any event in the stadium (there was a concert during our stay), but the noise inside the bedroom was not a nuisance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank deviaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,552 - 1,558 of 2,074 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed one night at the YWCA Hotel Vancouver last week, on my way to Seattle. Since I was only really there "in transit", I wasn't looking for anything fancy. I stayed in a single bedroom with a shared hall bathroom. The room was a decent size & the bed was very comfortable! The whole hotel was just about spotless as well. The bathroom was clean and well looked-after. And even though it was a shared bathroom, I never had to wait to use it. No meals included, but there are plenty of places along Robson Street (short walk away) where you can easily get food.

If you're looking for something basic, but comfortable - and most of all, at an affordable price - go with the YWCA Hotel Vancouver.

Room Tip: If you're not fussy about having a shared hall bathroom, chose a room with that option. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Renate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Although this is a 'no frills' place to stay, the location was excellent, the staff friendly and the room although basic was comfortable. The Moxies Hotel round the corner has an excellent breakfast for around $12. However BEWARE THE FACT THAT YOUR BILL WILL BE AROUND 12% HIGHER THAN THE AMOUNT SHOWN WHEN YOU BOOK DUE TO CITY AND STATE TAX BEING ADDED WHEN YOU COME TO PAY YOUR BILL.

Room Tip: We booked 2 separate rooms with a shared en-suite shower room and toilet. There is a clever set-up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MagicMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The price we paid for a double room was relativeliy high compared to what we got elsewhere the following days of our stay in the city of Vacouver. Had we done better research we had not chosen this hotel. It is clean and centrally located, and you can cook by yourself in one of the kitchens on every second floor. Rooms are good and average in size. Wifi is extra, which is sad in this day and age! Nice staff. Still, overprized!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed in a private room with ensuite bath though hotel also has dormitory like rooms and private rooms with hallway bath. We stayed there about 8/9 years ago. The hotel have since been renovated. If my memory serves, the room is now much better furnished and much nicer appointed but much much smaller. Robson Street is just around the corner, where lots of restaurants are located. Skytrain transit is a few blocks away - not too close particularly with luggage but totally walkable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chandeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights, July, 2013. Great hotel, excellent location, staff was very helpful in answering questions about Vancouver and how to get around. I used public transit, no need for a car. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannatheHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Well it's poor to avg , hotel is somewhat worn, the price isn't the best, some staff are nice helpful and some staff are not helpful or remotely polite oddly combative, hotel is very institutionalized with excessive security needing 3 keys total and hotel completely locks down at 11pm.

Our stay (3 adults) wasn't the best, all night partiers next door spraying nasty air freshener trying to hide whatever they weren't supposed to be doing.

Room was a tight fit a lot of squeezing through and tripping over the bed corner about 14" main pass thru. No small eating table at the other end of the room with a gaping space against the outer wall.

Too much pot smoking at the front doors for our liking.

YWCA is definatly not a family hotel.

We won't stay there again unless we absolutely have to.

Ps, hotel didn't look newly renovated at all their web page must be very old.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bruce d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,777 reviews
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
425 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,983 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#38 of 92 in Vancouver
1,862 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Hotel Vancouver

Address: 733 Beatty St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £58 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YWCA Hotel Vancouver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA Hotel Vancouver offers a warm welcome to all travellers and is a comfortable, safe and affordable place to stay at the heart of downtown's arts and entertainment scene. All rooms are private and there’s a choice to suit your needs and budget - from single rooms to quints. The modern 155 room facility has air-conditioning, mini-fridges, telephones, TVs, guest area kitchens, wireless Internet access, laundry rooms, a coffee bar in our lobby and meeting rooms! The YWCA Hotel is just a stroll away from Robson Street, the city's shopping and restaurant mecca. Other nearby neighbourhoods worth exploring include Historic Gastown, Chinatown and trendy Yaletown. The YWCA Hotel was the recipient of the Best Bargain hotel in the 2009 TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Awards and recently received TripAdvisor 2011 Certificate of Excellence. Come and discover for yourself why YWCA Hotel is worth checking into! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your YWCA Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Ywca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing