We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value if you're travelling as a group, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Value is good if you're travelling with 2 or more people. Rooms are only $10 cheaper if single. Location is great, close to Telus Science world, BC place and the transport hub at Pacific Central Station (buses to Whistler and trains to seattle). Within 15min walking distance from nightlife at Granville Street and Downtown city centre. Rooms are clean and the shared bathrooms (you can pay extra for a suite) are clean, well stocked with good privacy.
Not much of a view which is the only (minor) complaint.

Room Tip: Shared bathrooms are nice if you want to save some money. Don't come here if you're travelli...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JayQC1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,987)
There are newer reviews for YWCA Hotel Vancouver
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,468 - 1,474 of 1,987 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

All of the positive comments by other are correct about this hotel. Stayed in single room with no bathroom, $75/night. Shared bathroom was immaculate and never occupied when I went. Room is basic but clean and comfortable. Wifi is $3/day, quite reasonable. Parking is convenient and locked up, so less concern about window smashing junkies.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamieInBurlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have been visiting Vancouver and staying at the YWCA Hotel since 2009. Whilst I have stayed at another hotel a few times when the YWCA Hotel was fully booked, I have always preferred to stay here.

The location is very idea as it's walking distance to Rogers Arena and BC Place. As well as many other smaller venues in the downtown area such as The Vogue and Commodore Ballroom for example.

It's very easy to get to via public transit, the bus from the BC Ferries ends it's route just a couple minutes walk away and not much further is the Stadium-Chinatown Skytrain Station. If you're coming from the airport via skytrain you can walk from the Vancouver City Centre Station in about 10 minutes straight down W Georgia St. Or you could cross the road and take the skytrain from Granville Station to Stadium-Chinatown Station, it's only one stop and you wouldn't need to buy another ticket to ride, it may take about the same amount of time, maybe a couple minutes quicker, but if the weather is gloomy it may be a nice alternative. I unfortunately have no experience with driving there or their parking options.

There are many near by restaurants within walking distance and the hotel provides mini fridges in the rooms which is convenient when you want to bring leftovers back or too keep drinks in so you don't have to keep visiting the vending machines. I unfortunately have never used their on site kitchen facility.

I have found the staff wonderfully friendly and helpful, once refunding me for a vending machine eating my money and most recently giving me a 10% discount on my stay because I frequent their hotel and it was Christmas time.

The hotel has recently renovated their room and I do hope they start working on renovating the bathrooms. They're not horrible but could use a nice upgrade, even if it's just some new shower heads. Though it's nothing that could deter me from wanting to stay there.

(Also no free wifi which is unfortunate.)

I already have another reservation to stay here in the a couple months and I plan to stay here whenever I need to visit Vancouver in the future.

Room Tip: Be fully aware of the type of room you book, some rooms have no adjoined restrooms and where you sha...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Janine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We really enjoyed staying at the YWCA this summer. It had all the best bits of both a hotel and a hostel - a comfortable bed and spotlessly clean combined with a shared kitchen where we could cook a proper meal and get to chat to interesting people! Getting free entry to the YWCA sports complex was a great bonus too - bring your own padlock for a locker if you have one otherwise you can hire one. We loved the location and our view over the sports stadium too!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Reveua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Location was great for anyone wanting walking access to downtown. It was easy to get to from transit (10 minute walk) and the staff is kind. It's also very safe. They could make the shared bathroom a bit more welcoming. The cost you pay for what you get is great though, it's places like this that have allowed me to comfortably travel on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed during a short trip to shop with our two teenagers. Hubby and I shared a double double room and son and daughter shared a double double room. Great set up for families with kitchen facilities to cook meals when not eating out. We were loaned free kitchen utensils and cookware for our stay and made use of the facilities of the YWCA health club which is walking distance. The hotel staff were awesome. Location close to shopping, entertainment, restaurants and sky train. Parking and wifi not included but they have renovated the rooms and include toiletries for first night and hair dryer, sink, fridge in each room. Very safe but way too many big keys and security cards to carry around so leave keys with front staff when you go out. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Request floor with kitchen and lounge if travelling with kids. Private bath is nice but if on budget...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TilleyTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at YWCA Hotel for 6 nights during July in a private bedroom with shared bathroom. It was one of the few affordable hotels that we could find in downtown and the experience was really good. The bedroom was basic but really comfortable, new and clean. Sharing the bathroom wasn't a problem at all. Some days we couldn't even tell if someone else was using it or not.
The location is perfect to walk around downtown. The place gets a little busy if there is any event in the stadium (there was a concert during our stay), but the noise inside the bedroom was not a nuisance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank deviaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
413 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,593 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,883 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Hotel Vancouver

Address: 733 Beatty St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £59 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YWCA Hotel Vancouver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA Hotel Vancouver offers a warm welcome to all travellers and is a comfortable, safe and affordable place to stay at the heart of downtown's arts and entertainment scene. All rooms are private and there’s a choice to suit your needs and budget - from single rooms to quints. The modern 155 room facility has air-conditioning, mini-fridges, telephones, TVs, guest area kitchens, wireless Internet access, laundry rooms, a coffee bar in our lobby and meeting rooms! The YWCA Hotel is just a stroll away from Robson Street, the city's shopping and restaurant mecca. Other nearby neighbourhoods worth exploring include Historic Gastown, Chinatown and trendy Yaletown. The YWCA Hotel was the recipient of the Best Bargain hotel in the 2009 TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Awards and recently received TripAdvisor 2011 Certificate of Excellence. Come and discover for yourself why YWCA Hotel is worth checking into! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your YWCA Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Ywca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing