We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The front desk staff were very friendly and informative. The room was very large but all we needed for a nights stay. The location is so close to Rogers Arena, BC Place and the Queen E. Everything you need is within walking distance. I was very impressed with how clean our room was and the overall appearance of the hotel.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat. This is a very clean reasonably priced location. If you don't mind sharing a washroom it is even cheaper. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,088
    696
    110
    13
    6
See reviews for
425
515
420
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I recently stayed at the YWCA Hotel Vancouver. We booked a Private room with bathroom down the hall but we were happily upgraded to a private room with shared bathroom- with the room next door. Rooms were clean, basic, small but all you need! Check in was fast and efficient. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margeaux123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The YWCA is an affordable place to stay in downtown Vancouver. I would say it is somewhere between a hostel and a hotel. You have a shared kitchen and shared bathrooms but individual rooms. It stays clean and is quite. Within walking distance to most everything in Vancouver.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lina_Therese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Great budget hostel option. Small rooms, but what do you expect?

The staff are lovely, always looking to help you in whatever way is required.

The bathroom situation is not great, but this is a hostel after all. There are either hall bathrooms with 1 shower in. I never had to wait when I needed to use one of these. Or some of the corner rooms 'share' a bathroom; they have a button you press to stop the other room being able to access it. I found the bathrooms a bit grotty to be honest, but everything else about the hostel made up for them.

I would happily use this hostel again as a solo traveller

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheQuokka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I was quite pleased with my stay at the YWCA. I needed a place to stay in Vancouver for one night close to the city train stations as I had a flight early the next morning. The location couldn't have been better! Close to all the shops, eateries and train stations in the city centre but not on a super busy street. The room was small and simple but very clean and the bed was really comfy.
Wifi is $3 per day which for one night I didn't mind at all except for the fact that it didn't work overly well in my room and kept dropping out.
The weirdest part about the hotel though is the semi-private washroom. Gosh that is a strange experience. There's one bathroom between 2 rooms and you press a button to lock the door from both sides. I felt super uncomfortable and didn't want to use the washroom in the middle of the night as to not disturb my neighbour.
My only other complaint was that when I got there, the room they sent me to hadn't been cleaned and I had to go back downstairs again for them to give me a different room.
Overall a pretty affordable place in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The room was clean and well apportioned. Bed linens were white & very clean. Bathroom was clean. The front desk clerks were friendly and helpful. I wish they served breakfast, at least, a continental. But, fast food places abound nearby, so, not a problem; though, it'd been nice to have had coffee/tea in the room. Quiet & peaceful neighborhood. About 5 mins walk to the SkyTrain station (cheap transportation to the airport & the harbour). The short taxi ride to the harbour (Canada Place) that cost less than $8 + tip for the taxi-van the hotel summoned for the four of us, makes this transportation worthwhile.

Room Tip: Considering that the street below is not very busy, any room is OK, I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinoDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The room has all the basics that you need without having any unnecessary luxuries although that does unfortunately include Wi-Fi which you have to pay for, only like $3 so nothing worth getting upset over. One thing that I did find slightly uncomfortable was having a shared bathroom although as long as you make sure to lock the door you won't be interrupted. Can't remember there being anywhere to eat in the hotel (I could be wrong) but there are some very nice places to eat nearby (Frankie's next door is superb). The staff were lovely though and it's in a superb location so would definitely at least consider staying here again if in Vancouver.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
405 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,815 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,455 reviews
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#75 of 92 in Vancouver
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Hotel Vancouver

Property: YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Address: 733 Beatty St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YWCA Hotel Vancouver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA Hotel Vancouver offers a warm welcome to all travellers and is a comfortable, safe and affordable place to stay at the heart of downtown's arts and entertainment scene. All rooms are private and there’s a choice to suit your needs and budget - from single rooms to quints. The modern 155 room facility has air-conditioning, mini-fridges, telephones, TVs, guest area kitchens, wireless Internet access, laundry rooms, a coffee bar in our lobby and meeting rooms! The YWCA Hotel is just a stroll away from Robson Street, the city's shopping and restaurant mecca. Other nearby neighbourhoods worth exploring include Historic Gastown, Chinatown and trendy Yaletown. The YWCA Hotel was the recipient of the Best Bargain hotel in the 2009 TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Awards and recently received TripAdvisor 2011 Certificate of Excellence. Come and discover for yourself why YWCA Hotel is worth checking into! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and getaroom.com so you can book your YWCA Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Ywca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing