We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dingy room, Amazing Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Last minute concert tickets had me scrambling to find a room downtown on short notice. Everything was booked. Never would I have considered YWCA as an option otherwise. I was not sure what I was getting us into...
The Good
Seriously an amazing location for events downtown. BC Place across the street, Rogers Arena 5 min walk. Parking was inexpensive at $13/nt. Staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful! Bedding was fantastic quality and beds were comfy.
The Bad
Very institutional like feel in the room. Nasty dirty carpet, hairy on the edges. Hospital like bathroom (private). Window faced a concrete wall. Price of $185 total seemed high. I can usually get much better deals on Hotwire when looking in advance. I would not choose YWCA if there were other nearby options such as Sandman available.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowySunsets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yhotel, Director of Sales at YWCA Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear SnowySunsets, thank you for taking the time to review us, and I am sorry that your stay with us did not meet your needs. Being a not for profit organization, we do our best to offer reasonable rates to all travellers at all times, but in doing so, we are often unable to compete with those properties that can deep discount some of their rates in this current economic times.

Your other issues concern us. Our hotel continues to receive positive feedbacks from guests and your concerns are the opposite to any experience our guests had. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues. Please contact Barbara Lane, our Associate Director at 1 800 663 1424 to discuss them. Sincerely, Arden Sutherland, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,519 - 1,525 of 2,074 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

I've stayed here several times and had consistently good experience. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the location is central, and the facilities more than adequate. And the price is unbeatable, especially for downtown Vancouver.

Room Tip: Save $ and get a room without a bathroom. Shared bathrooms are convenient and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Finding the YWCA was a life saver for me: I needed a place downtown with reasonable rates. My room was on an upper floor, immaculately clean with a nice bathroom containing the toiletries shown in the photos on this site. There was a lovely soaking tub/shower combination. Everything is very modern and nice here, and security is excellent: your key comes with a magnetic tag that you use in the elevator in order to get the elevator to move, so people can't just come in off the street and ride the elevator up. As a woman travelling alone, I felt more than safe. You can go to any floor you like, so the kitchens, laundry, and hall bathrooms (if you do not have an ensuite) on any floor are available. These are modern, upgraded facilities (washers and dryers are clean and in good operating condition; common spaces such as kitchens as clean and spacious). The YWCA is in a great location, as others have written. There is a coffee shop on the ground floor, but there is also a Waves coffee shop one block over on Robson, a Starbucks several blocks up from that, and, since it was summer, a nice cafe outdoors at the public library. There are so many restaurants and take out places close by that you will find just about anything you like. 24/7 Tim Horton's is also on Robson. There is also an IGA supermarket a few blocks away with an excellent selection of foods. There was a fridge in my room, so buying and keeping groceries is not a problem. The front desk was very helpful when I needed directions or just had a question.

I considered a room without an ensuite, but then before I arrived, decided to upgrade to one with an ensuite. So I have never experienced the type of washroom shared between rooms, but now would not hesistate to book a room where one uses the hall bathrooms. These are completely private, that is, not "stall" style, and if you need to use one on a different floor, you can. I can see where the rooms that share one bathroom between them (there is a locking mechanism: see other reviews) would be good for a larger group traveling together or for a larger family if they took the two rooms sharing the bathroom. It's a hostel and a hotel, and this is just, hands down, a great option in Vancouver. Pick the option that is right for you. People from all over, all sorts of travellers and ages, were staying here, so don't shy away. The business traveller, families, retired folk, backpackers, and solo travellers can all be very happy here.

Room Tip: Read the other reviews; I was high up and had a view, but this happened by chance. Ask quesitons whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2cats4tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I last reviewed this hotel in 2012. Since then, I was offered a discount from the manager for my next stay. I returned in 2013 and 2014 and noticed that this hotel has improved. The rooms have been upgraded - the carpets are clean, the tvs are new, the artwork is updated and the beds are heavenly! (The bed I had in a single room was definitely comfier than the one I have at home). I received great service during my two stays. Basically, it's even better value than it was before. My friend jokes that the YWCA hotel is my go-to hotel in Vancouver, which it is. Just wish they had more budget YWCA hotels of this quality in other cities.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The front desk staff were very friendly and informative. The room was very large but all we needed for a nights stay. The location is so close to Rogers Arena, BC Place and the Queen E. Everything you need is within walking distance. I was very impressed with how clean our room was and the overall appearance of the hotel.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat. This is a very clean reasonably priced location. If you don't mind sharing a washroom it is even cheaper. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duckie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I recently stayed at the YWCA Hotel Vancouver. We booked a Private room with bathroom down the hall but we were happily upgraded to a private room with shared bathroom- with the room next door. Rooms were clean, basic, small but all you need! Check in was fast and efficient. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margeaux123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The YWCA is an affordable place to stay in downtown Vancouver. I would say it is somewhere between a hostel and a hotel. You have a shared kitchen and shared bathrooms but individual rooms. It stays clean and is quite. Within walking distance to most everything in Vancouver.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lina_Therese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,777 reviews
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
425 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,983 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#38 of 92 in Vancouver
1,862 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Hotel Vancouver

Address: 733 Beatty St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £58 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YWCA Hotel Vancouver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA Hotel Vancouver offers a warm welcome to all travellers and is a comfortable, safe and affordable place to stay at the heart of downtown's arts and entertainment scene. All rooms are private and there’s a choice to suit your needs and budget - from single rooms to quints. The modern 155 room facility has air-conditioning, mini-fridges, telephones, TVs, guest area kitchens, wireless Internet access, laundry rooms, a coffee bar in our lobby and meeting rooms! The YWCA Hotel is just a stroll away from Robson Street, the city's shopping and restaurant mecca. Other nearby neighbourhoods worth exploring include Historic Gastown, Chinatown and trendy Yaletown. The YWCA Hotel was the recipient of the Best Bargain hotel in the 2009 TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Awards and recently received TripAdvisor 2011 Certificate of Excellence. Come and discover for yourself why YWCA Hotel is worth checking into! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your YWCA Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Ywca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing