We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hesitation recommending...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #15 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
“No hesitation recommending...”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I bring a university group down the coast each summer and we stay at the YWCA. This is the best option for those not looking for something relatively affordable while not so keen on the gritty backpacker's. The location is superb with walking access to Robson St shops, Yaletown, Gastown, Chinatown, Skytrain and, of course, the hockey arena and football stadium (right across the street). One of Vancouver's trendiest breakfast places - Medina - and Belgian restaurants - Chambar - are a couple blocks down Beattie St. The staff are friendly and attentive. There are kitchen facilities. The rooms are clean and comfortable although obviously not too fancy. Nothing to complain about really. YWCA may not have that much character [it's not the Ace Hotel] but it is a good option.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamOwens2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    654
    105
    11
    6
See reviews for
387
484
400
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Recommended by a friend and exceeded expectations.Ideal budget hotel in a great location easy walking distance to the city centre, the harbour, Gastown, Yaletown and over the road from the BC stadium. Single rooms with shared ensuite were clean with comfortable beds, ample storage, a big TV and a fridge. The shared lounges and kitchens were spacious and clean and a pleasant meeting place to mingle with other guests. Really appreciated the security system and the quiet environment. The staff could not have been more welcoming, helpful or friendly both when booking by email or in person. Would certainly recommend staying at the Y - great value for money!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Travels1246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel for those on a budget. Found the sheets a little uncomfortable, and the shower was on the weak side. Paid for a private room and was happy with what we paid for. Stayed twice within 2 weeks, our second room on the 9th floor had a better shower that had a bath and was stronger. Overall Good location- walking distance to Robson and the trains.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank serawrkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yhotel, Director of Sales at YWCA Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi! Thanks for bringing the water pressure problem to our attention. Our Maintenance people are looking into it.. Glad to know you enjoyed our location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were only there for a few hours before heading off the next morning but it was a very short taxi ride from Amtrak station and seemed to be near everything as we left. The staff were lovely and we arrived after midnight. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. We headed to Whistler on our next section, stayed in a fancy hotel and experienced better value for money and better comfort in YWCA. My Mum loved that she could open the window in the room slightly, for fresh air. We liked it so much that we are returning after finishing up in Whistler. Highly recommend it as a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank youngtess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The one-bed-room is really nice. Staff was very helpful with everything and very flexible when I had to change the date I was checking out and in again. Everything could be worked out, very nice attitude :)

There is no breakfast, which is the biggest minus. Also you need a key to get to the bathroom, which is a bit frustrating when you get up to pee at 3am and try to fit the key in the lock :D Also you need to get the pots and pans from the reception to cook, I've never had to do that anywhere. Not a big problem, just something totally new for me!

Overall nice experience, great location, would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rentus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle NSW
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The YWCA was exactly what I was looking for...no frills place to lay my head at night that wasn't too pricey but still comfortable, clean and quiet. Very welcoming and helpful throughout. My bed was great with a good pillow and nice linen/quilt. Mattress very comfortable. Having read other reviews, on booking I requested a higher floor, and was given a room at the front on the 10th floor. This was perfect and I hardly saw or heard another soul the whole time, even though the kitchen was opposite my door. The room was clean and had everything I needed incl a bar fridge and basin. Towels and cups were refreshed every day also. The free wifi was also invaluable in planning my days. It was a short walk to the main shopping street and also down to the water where you can catch a ferry to anywhere. Cabs were always lined up just out the front and there was conveniently a Starbucks, 7/11 and supermarket within 100m away. I will definitely stay here my next visit to Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liznruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Good budget priced hotel. Friendly, helpful staff, clean, all amenities you would need, even luggage scales ! Never had to wait to use the bathroom which was always clean and well kept. In a good spot. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,725 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 90 in Vancouver
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 90 in Vancouver
1,522 reviews
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#56 of 90 in Vancouver
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Hotel Vancouver

Property: YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Address: 733 Beatty St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YWCA Hotel Vancouver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA Hotel Vancouver offers a warm welcome to all travellers and is a comfortable, safe and affordable place to stay at the heart of downtown's arts and entertainment scene. All rooms are private and there’s a choice to suit your needs and budget - from single rooms to quints. The modern 155 room facility has air-conditioning, mini-fridges, telephones, TVs, guest area kitchens, wireless Internet access, laundry rooms, a coffee bar in our lobby and meeting rooms! The YWCA Hotel is just a stroll away from Robson Street, the city's shopping and restaurant mecca. Other nearby neighbourhoods worth exploring include Historic Gastown, Chinatown and trendy Yaletown. The YWCA Hotel was the recipient of the Best Bargain hotel in the 2009 TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Awards and recently received TripAdvisor 2011 Certificate of Excellence. Come and discover for yourself why YWCA Hotel is worth checking into! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your YWCA Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Ywca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing