We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central, Secure with everything you need”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Central, Secure with everything you need”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Very happy to book in here. A communal kitchen and all facilities help the budget conscious. We met lovely patrons and staff everywhere. A perfectly clean and spacious room and the bed was large and comfortable. Car parking underneath was secure for a very reasonable price. We had booked from our home in Perth Western Australia and were very happy with the choice.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ColwynVick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    630
    101
    11
    6
See reviews for
371
457
388
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I am a bit of a wary traveller and since we were here in Vancouver for 8 days we needed something that was cheap and central. Well this is at the bottom of the most popular street for food and shopping, with the stations for the sky train and buses very close. The amenities were great in the Hotel - we got fresh towels every morning and beds made and had air conditioning which worked amazingly - a must in summer. I honestly can't recommend them enough - if you're on a budget definitely choose them!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heckyesidid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Very helpful staff as I had arrived quite late (1-2am) but was still able to get into my room. The room was quite comfortable and had an adequate supply of toiletries and my own sink. Bathroom was shared but fortunately not in use (since I was a night owl). Great location close to Granville.


I'll definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Book early if you want a room on the weekends. There's so many bloody conferences going on in Va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campo Real, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Most people that stay here upon arriving are impressed- the hotel immediately exceeds expectations. When we booked this place I thought that staying in a hostel or YWCA would mean dingy rooms and basic service. The place has a coffee shop outside and a clean and spacious lobby.

Rooms are big and comfortable. We stayed in a private room with a shared bath on the 11th floor. The bathrooms were clean and you need a key to get in. They even had a bathtub (not common in hostels) and a TV in the room.

It's centrally located and in a safe neighborhood.

The only thing that I didn't like is the kitchen area or the fact that there was no silverware. We bought dinner and arrived to the 11th floor kitchen to find no spatulas or silverware to eat with. Having stayed in many other shared living arrangements I have never experienced a kitchen where everything was locked up. But I didn't ask (some could be provided- as it was nearly 11pm when the kitchen was due to close I just wanted to cook and respect the closing time so I didn't ask for any either).

Overall, I would recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinacism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My reservation was cancelled for some reasons! YWCA rearranged a suitable room for me right away and provided awesome service all the time! If you wanna stay in Vancouver downtown, YWCA is the best choice absolutely. Highly recommend it to travelers.

Room Tip: I only stay in the room with private bathroom and love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yi-Jung L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were in town for a whirlwind visit with a one night stay. We are so happy to have stayed at the YWCA. It is in a great location downtown. We walked all over the city and never once felt unsafe even upon returning late in the evening. Our wifi didn't work immediately but the staff was exceptional in helping us get logged on. We stayed in a private room with two double beds and a bathroom. It was more than enough room for the three of us. We paid to park in their underground parking that required key card access for additional security. Such a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Iwantagiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a group of 12 stay at YWCA hotel for a college sponsored volunteer trip. We LOVED that the revenue goes back to the local YWCA community! We were so impressed with the wonderful price of the hotel and it's convenient location! It's right next to Costco, and close to grocery stores, and the library! Also, the front desk was very accommodating, pleasant and would answer questions any time, and exchange money for us. They were very nice! Rooms were clean and it was awesome to have someone make your beds daily. The only recommendation I have for guests is that you should bring your own kitchen supplies if you have an extended stay there. The front desk can give you basic supplies like a couple pots and pans, dishes and utensils. But bring your own things like strainers, baking pans, and CUTTING BOARDS! Don't use the built in cutting boards in the kitchen...seriously...bring your own! If you have a large group it can also be a bit frustrating shuffling food from your room to the kitchen. There are drawers to hold some food in the kitchen, but for a large group like ours, it wasn't big enough to hold all of our items so we constantly had to shuffle food from our rooms to the kitchen. Other than that, it was a great stay!! I would definitely recommend it...especially for folks on a tight budget!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Keen801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,655 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Hotel Vancouver

Property: YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Address: 733 Beatty St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YWCA Hotel Vancouver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA Hotel Vancouver offers a warm welcome to all travellers and is a comfortable, safe and affordable place to stay at the heart of downtown's arts and entertainment scene. All rooms are private and there’s a choice to suit your needs and budget - from single rooms to quints. The modern 155 room facility has air-conditioning, mini-fridges, telephones, TVs, guest area kitchens, wireless Internet access, laundry rooms, a coffee bar in our lobby and meeting rooms! The YWCA Hotel is just a stroll away from Robson Street, the city's shopping and restaurant mecca. Other nearby neighbourhoods worth exploring include Historic Gastown, Chinatown and trendy Yaletown. The YWCA Hotel was the recipient of the Best Bargain hotel in the 2009 TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Awards and recently received TripAdvisor 2011 Certificate of Excellence. Come and discover for yourself why YWCA Hotel is worth checking into! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your YWCA Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Ywca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing