We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay but terrible wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #16 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent stay but terrible wifi”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Overall it was an enjoyable stay. There were a few minor glitches like no replacement soap or emptying the bin that were put right the minute I mentioned them to the very capable and helpful reception staff. Really recommend this place. The only thing I should mention is that despite anything they might say, wifi is really bad. I stayed for 7 nights in total and everyday I was told they would be getting in touch with IT and fix it but it continued to be bad. If you need internet during your stay in Vancouver this place is not a good idea otherwise it is really great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeSupernova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,027
    652
    105
    11
    6
See reviews for
385
482
400
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Very affordable,clean,well looked after, friendly and knowledgable staff, good support for almost anyone from anywhere in the world!
I was there in Vancouver for a knee operation with my 11yr. old son and the staff lent me a crutch to use as a cane/support during my stay, thank you!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for what you would like when you phone in as it just may be available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Stayed here for a few nights for a conference. Incredibly friendly staff, offer directions straight from the airport after booking, and comfy beds. Wifi was a little slow/iffy sometimes. On a student budget, it was totally worth staying here and wouldn't hesitate to do it again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I have stayed at the YWCA Hotel many times over the last five years. It's very convenient. Walking distance to at least 3 supermarkets, kitchens/kitchenettes, free wifi, helpful staff, clean, quiet rooms -- it's everything I need when I'm in Vancouver for work.

The staff is great -- friendly, professional and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My wife and I and five other members of my family (all 60+ years old) stayed at the YWCA Hotel Vancouver July 17-19 and we couldn’t have enjoyed our stay more. This place wowed us with its location, attitude and value.

I was a little leery of staying at a YWCA when I discovered this place online. But I promise you guys, you will not have to disguise yourself with a dress and a wig to be welcome.

The staff was friendly, courteous and eager to help. The rooms were clean and pleasant and housekeeping was excellent. We had a room with a private bath (not all rooms do) and there was a locked door that I guess would open to the adjoining room and although it was secure, sound did travel easily through it. Running the vent fan took care of that issue, however.

The location was terrific, in the center of things and just steps away from Robson St.—a great place to walk and to find all manner of restaurants and shopping. The BC Place stadium was right across the street and a Costco was about two blocks away. Unlike the Costcos in the US, this one doesn’t sell wine. Bummer. Our plans to buy cheap wine to take onboard our cruise ship were thwarted by British Columbia’s liquor policies that make wine in that province available in limited places and a lot more expensive than anywhere else in North America.

The hotel doesn’t have some amenities that other hotels might—like a full restaurant or pool and fitness room but they do have an affiliation with a health and fitness center and there are plenty of places to eat nearby. They do have free wifi (yea!) and free local phone calls which is great for non-roaming US cellphone users.

You won’t find a better value for your US or Canadian dollar in such a great location. I highly recommend the YWCA Hotel Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Was an excellent stay
And like the idea behind the organization. I surely will recommend more people.
Clean safe quiet place
Center place for all kinds of activities
My next trip is to such a place
Love it

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I had a very good experience at YWCA, and would definitely stay there again given the opportunity.

If I were to make one suggestion/critique is that the internet (free wifi) should be a little bit faster.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Duane78987979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,717 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 90 in Vancouver
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 90 in Vancouver
1,516 reviews
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 90 in Vancouver
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Hotel Vancouver

Property: YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Address: 733 Beatty St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YWCA Hotel Vancouver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA Hotel Vancouver offers a warm welcome to all travellers and is a comfortable, safe and affordable place to stay at the heart of downtown's arts and entertainment scene. All rooms are private and there’s a choice to suit your needs and budget - from single rooms to quints. The modern 155 room facility has air-conditioning, mini-fridges, telephones, TVs, guest area kitchens, wireless Internet access, laundry rooms, a coffee bar in our lobby and meeting rooms! The YWCA Hotel is just a stroll away from Robson Street, the city's shopping and restaurant mecca. Other nearby neighbourhoods worth exploring include Historic Gastown, Chinatown and trendy Yaletown. The YWCA Hotel was the recipient of the Best Bargain hotel in the 2009 TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Awards and recently received TripAdvisor 2011 Certificate of Excellence. Come and discover for yourself why YWCA Hotel is worth checking into! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your YWCA Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Ywca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing