We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good airport stop over hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Executive Inn Express Richmond

Executive Inn Express Richmond
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Executive Inn Express Richmond
Ranked #78 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Vancouver
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good airport stop over hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

The hotel was as advertised, and good value for the price, can't beat if for park and fly for early flights when you want a little more time to sleep in before your trip. The shuttle service was great.
The room was - meh, not great, in need of an huge overhaul, but for the price it was exactly as I expected, seemed to be clean. The window did not lock but I wasn't worried, it isn't exactly in a high crime area. We slept in the bed by the window and our daughter in the bed farthest away, just in case.
The lovely man in the restaurant was great and provided us a breakfast for the am as the breakfast would not yet be served as we were leaving at 5:30am.
Can't see myself spending multiple nights here, but perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: If you are worried about the windows you may want to request a room on one of the upper floors, we s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4Gees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
execexpress, General Manager at Executive Inn Express Richmond, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad you you found out hotel at good value and enjoyed our great shuttle service. On request we do provide guest with pack breakfast if they are departing before the restaurant opens.
Once again thank you for your feed back on the window and I will make sure this issue is rectified as soon as possible.
Regards, Faraz Fareed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    47
    44
    25
    29
See reviews for
37
59
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed for 5 days starting April 12, 2012. I had a nice clean comfortable room. I could occasionally hear the people in the room above me, but not that often. You can walk to fast food places. The elevator was slow and the parking spaces were tight. Overall, I'd give the place a 4.5, but I'll round up because the staff was very friendly.
I was attending a conference in Vancouver City Center. The excellent SkyTrain has a stop about 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel, next to a casino. The train was clean and cost $3.75 one way. All in all I saved many hundreds of dollars vs staying in a downtown hotel, had no trouble, and enjoyed my visit to Vancouver.

Room Tip: I don't know if all the rooms come with a kitchen area, but mine did and it was nice to prepare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FKfromLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
execexpress, General Manager at Executive Inn Express Richmond, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you so much for letting others know about our hotel. It means a lot to us when a guest really enjoys our hotel and all it offers in terms of a nice clean good size room, customer service and great value. Yes although the hotel is older, we do take great pride in keeping our rooms in good condition and offering the best value possible. Thank you for recognizing this and we hope to see you back in the near future.
Regards, Faraz Fareed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lac La Hache
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Executive Inn Express Richmond on April 13th before our vacation and on April 21st on the return. The front desk staff are extremely accommodating and helpful from parking the car, advising not to leave anything in our car during our vacation and asking if we needed any assistance at all with anything. The hotel itself is quite old but they have gone to great lengths to freshen it up. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. On both nights we had a room with a queen bed and a living area which also has a sofabed. The carpeting, sofa bed, counter top in the bathroom are all new. The room has a very nice layout with the bathroom and closet in the centre of the room with the 'bedroom' at the back of the room. The room has a coffee maker and decent size bar fridge. It would be a fine room for someone needing to stay for a while. The room was also well lit which rarely hotel rooms are. The towels are typical small hotel size but soft, absorbant and do not reek to bleach. The hotel is not fancy but is very clean and and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: This hotel is perfect for stay pre or post vacation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
392 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Despite the protestations of the Manager in previous reviews here, this property has very poor cleanliness and maintenance standards.

This hotel was chosen for our group otherwise, after reading the TA reviews prior to our stay, we would not have stayed. There are good reasons that over 50% of the the TA reviews for this hotel are rated average or lower.

The property is dirty on the outside and this trend continues into the interior of the hotel. The stairway from the underground parking upwards is one of the filthest I have ever seen in a Canadian hotel. The walls are dirty, the carpets copiously stained and the doors and door jams are disgusting. The hallway walls are dirty and beat up.

Each of the rooms we stayed in (2 different rooms on 2 different nights) were dirty. Grimy fingerprints everywhere. Carpets that feely sticky. Hairs in the bathroom and shower. You just get a general feeling of uncleanliness and neglect. We looked at several other rooms that our group had and the problems are consistent throughout.

The building and rooms are not properly maintained. Doors do not close or lock properly. Spackle coming off the ceilings. Water stains on the ceiling. Fridges that rattle throughout the night. Shabby furniture. Peeling wallpaper.

The walls are paper thin and if you do stay in a 1st or 2nd floor room you will hear the folks above you. The hallways have uneven tile floors and the sound of any pulled luggage resonates throughout your room.

We did not have the breakfast the first morning we were there but were aware that we would be leaving too early to have it. You may be able to get a bagged breakfast if you request it the evening before. On our second morning we did go into the restaurant and unfortunately, though some of our friends ate there, we would have gone elsewhere. It was just not an appealing place to eat.

The morning that we did take the shuttle the airport the bus was nearly 20 minutes behind schedule and was full enough that it left a group behind at the hotel. I suspect that the shuttle is a 3rd party contractor so this may not be a fault of the hotel but if one is staying at this property for the shuttle you may need to be reassured that you will be able to get to the airport when you need to be there.

Upon our return we arrived at 1 am and were aware that the shuttle was not operating. The cab fare is $15, with tip, from YVR. In previous experiences at other hotels in the area they will reimburse you for the fare. This was not offered to us.

It does provide reassurance that there is a night watchmen, but the fact that they need one is disconcerting. One of our group had their vehicle broken into and a bag taken from the truck and a second bag was misplaced in another room while our friends were at breakfast.

We have stayed at several other YVR area hotels and both the Holiday Inn Express and the Accent Inn offer similar amenities (free parking, shuttle, breakfast) at a similar price in a much, much different environment (clean, friendly, well maintained, safe, secure) that really this property should not be on your radar.

It truly disappoints me to have to write this review but honestly this is a very poorly run hotel and the problems we experienced were too numerous to discuss with the front desk staff or management. In good conscience, and as a service to fellow TA readers and contributors, we would not recommend this property to any one, especially since there are many other excellent choices in the immediate neighbourhood.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuccaneerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
execexpress, General Manager at Executive Inn Express Richmond, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for your recent comments.
Certainly, it is fair to say that it is always a challenge, in site of our
daily cleaning regimen, to maintain an older building whose signs of age can
give off the impression that we are not focused on maintaining and providing
a clean and safe environment, which I can assure you we are.

In addition, the challenge of having external or "open" hallways does
contribute to dirt and dust accumulating in the hallways/corridors, again,
in spite of our consistent efforts. These external hallways can also be a
factor as it relates to your comments about luggage noise.

As you speculated, the shuttle is provided by an outside company, but
nonetheless, we will follow up with them with respect to the tardiness that
you referenced in your comments.

In addition, I was sorry to hear that one of your groups' vehicles was
broken into. Unfortunately, hotels are frequent targets, although, as you
stated, we do try to ensure a security presence in the hope that would-be
thieves will look elsewhere. We have also posted signs to encourage guests to remove all valuables from their vehicle.
Lastly, and while I do respect all of your comments, I do wish that you had
contacted me while still on site, to discuss your concerns, and allow me to
address them in greater detail than can now be effectively communicated, in
order that I might more accurately convey our commitment to providing a
clean, safe and positive guest experience.

Regards, Faraz Fareed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

There are several hotels in this price range to choose from. Pay the extra $20 to stay somewhere else! The hotel advertises a free shuttle from the airport, but in the fine print somewhere they do not have the shuttle between midnight and 4am. I found this out at 1am, after struggling out alone to the shuttle stop in the rain with a grumpy 4 year old and all our baggage. The hotel staff were completely non-apologetic. They also did not call my room to advise me the morning shuttle was there (which I requested), and it left promptly at 6am (the scheduled arrival time) so when I got there 4 minutes later it was gone and I had to take another cab back. No sign of the advertised included breakfast either.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginagoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
execexpress, General Manager at Executive Inn Express Richmond, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. I would like to say that we do have complimentary shuttle from 4am to 12.30 am daily just like many of the hotels in the area we share our shuttle service with . Our shuttle hours are posted on our website as well as many other booking channels.Complimentary breakfast is served from 6.30 am on weekdays and 7.00 am on weekends. Unfortunately with your late arrival and early departure. we were unable to offer you the usual service but we were happy to reimburse your taxi fare . Thanks again for your review
Faraz Fareed general manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Very cheesy. My room smelled, shabby furniture and bathroom. The lining were not from the laundry. Someone already slept on it. I slept with my cloth on. It’s rather a homeless shelter

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SNMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
execexpress, General Manager at Executive Inn Express Richmond, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at our hotel. Obviously we did not meet your expectation and for this we offer our sincere apologies. I will refrain from commenting on your review till i get in touch with you directly so that we could find out more details about your stay and then respond to you appropriately. Once again thank you for your review and look forward to speaking with you soon. Sincerely, Faraz Fareed General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the Hat
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Our hotel stay was reasonably priced to begin with, but add in the free shuttle to and from the airport, the free hot breakfast for booking online, and the welcoming wine tasting and it is a fantastic deal. The hotel manager hosted the wine tasting and it provided an great opportunity to mingle with other guests.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
execexpress, General Manager at Executive Inn Express Richmond, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We're glad you enjoy your stay with us and looking forward to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vancouver
Bridgeport
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Inn Express Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Inn Express Richmond

Property: Executive Inn Express Richmond
Address: 9020 Bridgeport Rd, Vancouver, British Columbia V6X 1S1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Executive Inn Express Richmond 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Executive Inn Express Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Inn Express Richmond Hotel Vancouver
Executive Hotel Express Richmond
Executive Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing