We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to call home for a few days!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed 5 days for a combination work/sightseeing trip, rooms are large and comfortable, and in excellent condition. Had a king suite, great comfortable bed and as a bonus, had a large balcony overlooking the city. Nice workspace with lots of places to plug in your electronics, room even included a teakettle for a nice touch. Bathroom had a great shower with a rainhead, and always soft clean towels.

Staff was all friendly and helpful, and pleasant which is probably due to being in Canada, where the citizens are usually more friendly than in some parts of USA. Well, with the exception of Montreal, the locals there make you feel as welcome as a swarm of mosquitoes in a nudist colony. But this review isn't about Montreal, it's about Vancouver!

Vancouver itself is a great city to spend a few days exploring, very walkable town with many public transportation options. It's not necessary to have a car for exploring the downtown areas, and with a little planning you can access everything down to the YVR airport. It's best if you are in reasonable shape, however, as we covered 10+ miles walking each day. You can buy a day pass for the Hop On Hop Off bus which will pick you up at the front door of the Marriott and drop you near your destination of choice, but I never did during my stay, didn't find it necessary. We did take a free shuttle to the Capilano Suspension Bridge which was a fun way to spend a half day. The shuttle dropped us off near Stanley Park (just ask the driver nicely!) saving a little bit of walking.

Room Tip: Ask for a King suite, just a few dollars more per night gets you extra room and a huge King bed inst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meadowood2471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Our beds ARE awesome - I totally agree! And I'm delighted you footed it around so much - Vancouver is definitely one of the world's most walkable cities. Thanks for staying with us.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 791 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here for a day after our cruise and made the complete tour on the Hop-On-Hop off bus. We stopped in Gastown and had a wonderful lunch. Stanley Park is amazing to see. What a beautiful city. The hotel is wonderful. Beautiful rooms, kitchen, fridge, stove, microwave, and lots of room. Beds are so comfortable, a great atmosphere. Ate in the small lounge and watched the Stanley cup right at our table. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lonigrunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Aren't the Hop On Hop Off busses the best? I love ours in Vancouver and had a wonderful time on them on a trip to DC a few years ago. Delighted to hear you enjoyed the ambiance in Cavino - those semi-private TV corners are so much fun for small groups. Hope your team won!

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We recently spent 3 nights here, one before our cruise and two after. It's a beautiful hotel. Our room was spacious, the beds were very comfortable, the staff was always friendly and helpful, and overall everything was very clean and modern. They provide Paul Mitchell shampoo and conditioner, a nice touch. We enjoyed evenings in the pool and hot tub and the breakfast had many great choices. The fitness center looked nice, but we really didn't spend any time there.

This location is one of the trolley stops, but unfortunately the last trolley stops here around 4:30. We ended up getting off at a nearby stop and walking back to the hotel. Vancouver is a nice city for walking in, though, and it didn't feel as far as it looked on the map.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dotfurio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you so much for you lovely review. That Hop On Hop Off Bus is definitely a favourite, and having it stop on our doorstep is great. So glad you enjoyed Vancouver.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a great hotel for a Vancouver stay. My daughter and I were very well treated and enjoyed our stay tremendously. The room had every feature we needed and the area is perfect. We walked to the Granville Island SeaBus, to the Yaletown Canada Line station and to every other downtown location we wanted to visit. Can't think of a better place to stay in downtown Vancouver.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We're all about making great memories! Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a large, beautiful, modern room that was very clean and had a comfortable bed. It felt more like a luxury apartment than a hotel room. The location is convenient and the staff are efficient, friendly and helpful. We will stay here the next time we visit Vancouver.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit - in a "luxury apartment"!

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

convenient location, awesome staff, recently renovated rooms with high end finishes! It's like a super cool bachelor apartment in downtown Vancouver!

The staff are great, they always go the extra mile to help you out.

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cvinzenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

You nailed it! We offer upscale "bachelor condo" style studio suites with 24/7 hotel services! Thanks for the great review.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My mother & I stayed here recently based on a recommendation by a friend (who actually arranged the trip for us), and we were both supremely impressed by the accommodations. The room was HUGE, and I simply could not believe the plethora of power outlets that were available. I wish more hotels would be as helpful as this, especially since I have a unique need for outlets placed convenient to the bed. Complimentary breakfast is included in a huge space on the 2nd floor, and the wine bar on the ground floor is super convenient, with an excellent selection. The hotel also offers fast Wi-Fi and even makes it super-easy to access it! Finally, it is located very close to the Granville Island Autobus and is within walking distance of Davie Street. If I ever come back to Vancouver (and I do want to!), I will seriously consider staying here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thanks very much for pointing out the state-of-the-art technology in the hotel. We DO have outlets EVERYWHERE because we know how important connectivity is these days, and we have massive bandwidth available in the hotel so that your connections are fast and easy, and YES - we DO have connections in the wine bar too - so that you can relax and stay in touch at the same time!

Kind Regards,

Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,564 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,665 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,787 reviews
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown

Address: 1234 Hornby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1W2, Canada (Formerly Cascadia Hotel & Suites)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: £96 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, located on Hornby Street, is the only branded all-suite hotel in Downtown Vancouver. The Residence Inn by Marriott is designed to provide travelers with everything they need to thrive on longer stays with special features including enhanced work desks, ergonomically designed chairs and luxury bedding. Hotel amenities include an indoor heated pool and an outdoor terrace garden equipped with a BBQ grill and fire pit. This extended stay hotel offers spacious suites ranging from 420 sq ft to over 800 sq ft with fully equipped kitchens, free WiFi and in-room high-speed internet access, and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascadia Hotel And Suites
Cascadia Hotel Vancouver
Residence Inn Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing