We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location/Great Rooms/Great Team - A+”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Location/Great Rooms/Great Team - A+”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I was very pleased with this property. It is located on Hornby Street just near Davie Street. The property is close to most of the major attractions. I loved being near Yale Town and the Sea Wall.

The room itself was spacious and very clean. The bed was amazing to sleep it - nice and soft.

The hotel has a gym and heated pool - the pool was nice however the gym is just basic - cardio machines with a small selection on dumbbells.

The staff were very helpful and lovely.

All in all an amazing experience :).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIKEBNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and for the great review.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    382
    33
    6
    9
See reviews for
359
401
54
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

If your looking for a night or a week, its an amazing place. The rooms are spacious and clean. Full kitchen, amazing outdoor area off of the pool. It has an outdoor fire pit as well as BBQs. Need groceries, no need to shop they will do it for you. The "continental" breakfast, in my opinion was a full breakfast buffet, hot eggs, sausage patties, french toast, hash browns, waffles, fresh fruit, juice, yoghurt cereal. More than you would ever expect. The service is very efficient and friendly as well.
It would be a mistake not to stay here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thanks so much, James, for the great review. For the breakfast buffet, we're proud that you recognized the selection and quality - thanks so much!

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This Marriott Residence Inn offers spacious suites with full amenities as well as grocery shopping services. Fairly priced, high Marriott standards combine for a mice placed tucked into the city. Friendly and helpful staff round out the experience. Very clean and well maintained.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank queking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanks very much for the great review. We love to receive comments like this!

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Here is another great hotel all around except for their breakfast. Very nicely situated in a quite part of downtown but easy access to all points of interest. Within walking distance of great restaurants, pubs, and the night life. Short walk to train station (Metro) and a short drive to Gastown, parks, beaches, and other points of interest. Very large suite rooms with all modern amenities and a full kitchen!! Stay away from their “free” breakfast. It’s a chaos, messy tables, low quality food, and they kept running out of things!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SH_PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I appreciate your feedback on the breakfast and will share it with our team. We've made a lot of changes and upgrades to improve the breakfast experience and usually only hear great comments, so your experience will definitely be reviewed for improvements.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calabash nc
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here after our Alaskan cruise June 7, 2014.. Lovely hotel, walk to Granville Ferry, Hop on Hop Off bus comes right to door; restaurant serves everything from dinners to sandwiches, cozy outside seating for cocktails; free computer access; free hot breakfast outside on patio. There is a bakery and 7-Eleven on the corner and several restaurants within walking distance. When we arrived we were "a little under the weather" and when we walked into that beautiful, clean, spacious room equipped with a full kitchen and beautiful bath I was overjoyed. The best part was the bed and pillows. Best bed on the entire trip. Nothing like a good night's sleep when you are away, especially if you are sick.I wanted to take the pillows home with me; in fact, I emailed the hotel and they sent me the website so that I could order them! The personnel was very accommodating; one night my husband burned the free popcorn they provided, in the microwave, and the alarm went off. They came to our rescue and even gave him more popcorn. Being a travel agent I have stayed in a lot of hotels and highly recommend this one if you are ever in the lovely city of Vancouver.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maebelle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Our beds really ARE the best - I totally agree! Kudos to you for "walking the talk" and proving Vancouver is one of the worlds most walkable cities.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 nights here. It was certainly helped by being in such a great city, Vancouver!

The room was extremely comfortable and very well equipped with everything supplied, I.e. a real suite, not just a bedroom with a microwave and bar fridge. And we had a balcony with table and chairs as a bonus! A very adequate American style breakfast was included in the tariff. It was not too far from the Granville Island Market so we were able to access everything in the way of fresh food, pre-cooked meals and anything else we needed. And plenty of convenience shopping within a minute or two walk.

Location was excellent for Vancouver's fantastic public transport system. Thoroughly recommend this full-suite hotel for independent travellers, i.e. don't expect concierge or unnecessary 5-star hotel services.

Room Tip: A higher room with a balcony is a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fxoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thanks so much for such a comprehensive review of the hotel, our location and services. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed 5 days for a combination work/sightseeing trip, rooms are large and comfortable, and in excellent condition. Had a king suite, great comfortable bed and as a bonus, had a large balcony overlooking the city. Nice workspace with lots of places to plug in your electronics, room even included a teakettle for a nice touch. Bathroom had a great shower with a rainhead, and always soft clean towels.

Staff was all friendly and helpful, and pleasant which is probably due to being in Canada, where the citizens are usually more friendly than in some parts of USA. Well, with the exception of Montreal, the locals there make you feel as welcome as a swarm of mosquitoes in a nudist colony. But this review isn't about Montreal, it's about Vancouver!

Vancouver itself is a great city to spend a few days exploring, very walkable town with many public transportation options. It's not necessary to have a car for exploring the downtown areas, and with a little planning you can access everything down to the YVR airport. It's best if you are in reasonable shape, however, as we covered 10+ miles walking each day. You can buy a day pass for the Hop On Hop Off bus which will pick you up at the front door of the Marriott and drop you near your destination of choice, but I never did during my stay, didn't find it necessary. We did take a free shuttle to the Capilano Suspension Bridge which was a fun way to spend a half day. The shuttle dropped us off near Stanley Park (just ask the driver nicely!) saving a little bit of walking.

Room Tip: Ask for a King suite, just a few dollars more per night gets you extra room and a huge King bed inst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meadowood2471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Our beds ARE awesome - I totally agree! And I'm delighted you footed it around so much - Vancouver is definitely one of the world's most walkable cities. Thanks for staying with us.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,816 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,552 reviews
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,579 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,455 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1234 Hornby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1W2, Canada (Formerly Cascadia Hotel & Suites)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn(R) by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, located on Hornby Street, is the only branded all-suite hotel in Downtown Vancouver. The Residence Inn by Marriott is designed to provide travelers with everything they need to thrive on longer stays with special features including enhanced work desks, ergonomically designed chairs and luxury bedding. Hotel amenities include an indoor heated pool and an outdoor terrace garden equipped with a BBQ grill and fire pit. This extended stay hotel offers spacious suites ranging from 420 sq ft to over 800 sq ft with fully equipped kitchens, free WiFi and in-room high-speed internet access, and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascadia Hotel And Suites
Cascadia Hotel Vancouver
Residence Inn Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing