We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Platinum member receives nothing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Platinum member receives nothing”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Per Marriott website, one of the benefits of being a Platinum member is "Guaranteed Platinum arrival gift":

Get more when you check in. As a Platinum member, you’ll receive a special gift upon arrival at all participating hotels, offering you a choice of an amenity gift or bonus points. (Amenity gift not available at The Ritz-Carlton, EDITION and Marriott Vacation Club locations.) If guarantee is not met, guest compensation applies. [PLATINUM ONLY]

At Residence Inn, Platinum member will have a choice of either 200 points or Food/Drink. (https://www.marriott.com/rewards/member-benefits/guarantee.mi)

At the time when I checked-in, the front desk didn't mention this to me, and I forgot that either due to long-haul flight and it was almost 12AM. Last night I just realized this benefit. So this morning I walked to front desk (still during my stay) and reminded them failure delivery of "Platinum arrival gift". Then I was surprised: the answer from the staff was like this, "We never do this to any platinum, and it's been a long time"...

Then I told him to check on Marriott's website. He said not necessarily, but I will give you a box of chocolate, as little treatment, for this time only. It is really a tiny tiny tiny box of chocolate. Obviously, I denied. First of all, I should have the choice, but you only offer me a chocolate. Secondly, you failed to deliver what a platinum member should get at the beginning. Then I reminded you on different day, but you are not willing to double check Marriott's policy. Thirdly, according to what he said, I believe most platinum members who had stayed at this property missed the benefit.

Are you kidding me, this happens to a Marriott property that has 4.5 rating on TripAdvisor, with only 1 poor review?!!!

Essentially the front desk just does not know the very basic stuff. They shouldn't qualify and need to go back to training.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonywush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear TonyWush,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. More importantly, I would like to extend an apology for the lack of recognition and benefits you received.

I have shared your comments with the Front Desk team and required a person by person acknowledgement of what our loyal Marriott Rewards guests can expect as benefits of their membership and loyalty.

I invite you to contact me directly about this experience as I would like to get more detail about the dates of your stay to ensure I have all the details to fully address this issue.

Kind Regards,

Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    374
    33
    6
    9
See reviews for
352
389
53
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I recently traveled to the Pacific Northwest with my children with a two day stop in Vancouver. Due to unforseen circumstances, I had to make a change in my reservation at this hotel. The General Manager Suzanne, went over and above to help me with the change...customer service you just don't see any more. The property is beautiful, modern, clean, and in a great location (3 blocks from the water taxi that takes you to Granville Island). The pool, workout room, and restaurant are excellent as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Lori,

Thanks so much for the great review and kind words. I'm so glad we were able to assist, and that you enjoyed your stay and time in Vancouver.

Kind Regards,

Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We booked a 2 Queen Studio room - beautiful, large room with small kitchen, good refrigerator, new decoration, good bathroom. Good space. All clean.
Check in very smooth even though we arrived before the check in time.
Free breakfast was good. On mondays (due to Cruise Ship sail aways, it is a bit overcrowded)
Free wireless internet in our room was great fand really worked.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thanks for the review and for providing great feedback on the wifi and breakfast.

Kind Regards,

Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked a King Studio room - beautiful, large room with small kitchen.
Bed was so comfortable - we want to buy one.
Check in very smooth even though we arrived after midnight.
Free breakfast was great - fresh fruit, yogurts, cereal, breads and hot food selection.
Good value for money overall.
Location was great for getting into city centre or sea front.
Computers and printers were great for printing off from IPads and IPhones.
Free wireless internet in our room was great for keeping in contact with home

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quieter - try to get one high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
It's lovely to read that you slept so comfortably in the hotel, and loved breakfast and our business centre computers. I want to buy one of our beds too - they are the best I've slept in!

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I travelled to Vancouver for two nights with our daughter. I booked two rooms (studios in Residence Inn parlance) and requested that they be adjoining. The website said the configuration existed. You probably already know what happened when we arrived at the front desk. Though we booked a month ahead, and I have Marriott Gold status, the best that could be offered was rooms at opposite ends of the floor, which admittedly are not that long in this vertical building. Tired from a frustrating wait to get through the tunnel on the way in to the city, we were disappointed that our request could not be honored. Only when we got to our floor did we discover that the furnishings were slightly different. Our daughter ended up in the room with a couch, and my husband and I had a single chair.
Price--not inexpensive, despite my review title, but then nothing in Vancouver is. We appreciated having a good sized refrigerator and microwave plus a counter with two bar stools. Since we were three, one of us ate at the desk. Parking is available by the hotel for a fee. We parked our car and left it, walking, cabbing, and taking the trolley tour. Other reviewers cover the ample breakfast, where hot and cold food were nicely presented and refreshed regularly. The staff was prompt about closing it down at the appointed hour so don't be a latecomer.
Location--appreciated being by Davie Street where we could find affordable, ethnic restaurants and close to the seawall where people were enjoying the summer evenings.
Overall, staying at this Residence Inn is a pretty good choice when you are in Vancouver.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthMcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for such a detailed review. I'm delighted you enjoyed the hotel and the location.

I'm sorry we were not able to accommodate your adjoining room request. Unfortunately, we can not guarantee room placement requests due to constantly changing room inventory availability. One tip, though, is to call the hotel directly and make the request in person - while it still cannot be guaranteed, it helps in the forward planning and room assigning, and increases the chances of the hotel being able to meet the request.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed for two nights, single occupancy. Used Booking.com to book a Skyline room, which is one with a guaranteed view and above the 14th floor, a week in advance. Rang the morning of my visit to say I might be late checking in due to ferry timings. When I arrived at 9pm they had "sold out" of the rooms I'd booked. How?! I'd reserved it. They appear to have different standards to the rest of us.

Anyway, the room they gave me was a king sized room on the 12 floor with a view of the parking lots opposite (See Google Earth, etc). The room itself was fine, no issues at all with it, apart from the view.

The staff were all excellent. They even lent me an ethernet cable as the free internet is wired only, in the rooms, wireless in the lobby.

The complimentary breakfast was a reasonable standard with plenty to choose from.

Parking was interesting but ok. You have to drive round the back and then through two sets of gates, but both are controlled with your room card which is some sort of NFC affair.

On the whole I thought it was expensive for a single occupancy two night stay and I would probably not have booked this venue had there been others available at the time. But for what it is, it's pretty good.

Room Tip: If you want a definite skyline room then you have to pay when you make your reservation or they'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slough100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review and comments. I'm very sorry we were not able to accommodate the room type you booked. This is very unusual. Please rest assured that it makes no difference whether you pay in advance or not as to how this is treated by the hotel. If you would like to contact me directly with more details, I'd like to review in more detail.

In regard to the internet, all internet access in the hotel is complimentary and high speed. We offer wireless throughout the hotel, and wired access points in the guest suites. In order to use the wired access points, as you noted, we provide an ethernet connection cable for guests to use while in the hotel.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here at the end of the cruise prior to returning home the next day. The rooms are huge; standard Residence Inn breakfast with plentiful food and constant re-stocking/clearing of tables. Lobby very open and comfortable (large TV to watch the world cup) with the computers/printers nearby. It's on the West-end of downtown (gay community), so the walking around was easy enough for us to walk everywhere: The Lookout at Harbour Centre Tower; to the BC Place (Stadium); to Yaletown (quaint area with restaurants), then back to the hotel. We also walked to a local Mexican restaurant for dinner and then walked around the Pacfic Centre shopping center (underground mall). The front desk folks were very helpful in directing us to the nearest ATM around the corner from the hotel and then storing our luggage;the taxi service is plentiful to take us to the Vancouver Aquarium and back to the hotel. When we returned, the hotel front desk retrieved our luggage and called the taxi service (that would accommodate our party of 3 plus luggage) to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disneylovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Sounds like you had a great time in Vancouver and proved the reviews about what a great city it is to walk around in.

Thanks for choosing the Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown,

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,774 reviews
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,120 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,552 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1234 Hornby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1W2, Canada (Formerly Cascadia Hotel & Suites)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn(R) by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, located on Hornby Street, is the only branded all-suite hotel in Downtown Vancouver. The Residence Inn by Marriott is designed to provide travelers with everything they need to thrive on longer stays with special features including enhanced work desks, ergonomically designed chairs and luxury bedding. Hotel amenities include an indoor heated pool and an outdoor terrace garden equipped with a BBQ grill and fire pit. This extended stay hotel offers spacious suites ranging from 420 sq ft to over 800 sq ft with fully equipped kitchens, free WiFi and in-room high-speed internet access, and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascadia Hotel And Suites
Cascadia Hotel Vancouver
Residence Inn Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing