We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect mother/daughter weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect mother/daughter weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

My 5 year old little girl amd I had a perfect weekend at this beautiful, funky hotel. Everything was excellent from the friendly and prompt check in, to the tasty and plentiful breakfast, and of course the refreshing pool. It's so centrally located that you can walk everywhere! I can't wait for the next weekend visit!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heather f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Heather,

I love hearing stories like this. I grew up in hotels and as a child always loved their magic myself.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    348
    33
    5
    8
See reviews for
334
364
49
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Found this hotel because they have 5 Green Keys. It is AMAZING! Mike at the front desk was lovely, the room was impeccably clean and we loved the little kitchen. The breakfast was perfectly cooked and eating outside on the terrace was the perfect start to our day. We left feeling relaxed and recharged. I especially liked the Green Key signage and environmental awards sitting right in view as people check in, and appreciated the environmental efforts of the hotel including well placed and well marked recycling stations everywhere.

Green Features: I especially liked the Green Key signage and environmental awards sitting right in view as people check in, and appreciated the environmental efforts of the hotel including well placed and well marked recycling stations everywhere.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thanks, Christine, for the great review. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. I love that you enjoyed your breakfast on the patio, and thank you for recognizing our Environmental Program. We've just added an Electric Car charging station in the parkade, too!

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
353 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were fortunate to have a full balcony view with table and chairs overlooking the city and mountains. Wow! The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly, each and every one of them. The parking is really easy, and much less expensive than everywhere else. The place was very quiet, almost no noise to speak of. The maids were even kind and considerate. The room was pretty much spotless and the bathroom was huge. You don't normally see such high quality rooms in the chain hotels.

Room Tip: Balcony views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SailorBoy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear SailorBoy55,

Thank you for recognizing the great service our team provides - we know its the difference between a good and a great hotel experience! Hope to see you on your next visit to Vancouver.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at the Residence Inn a couple of weeks ago for three nights. We traveled with our infant son and dog. While I can confirm all the positive reviews (clean/remodeled rooms, kitchen area, nice decor, free breakfast, convenient location), it was missing something... I know, how about good old customer service?! While I can appreciate it was a dog friendly and understood why we paid an additional $75 fee for cleaning, I wish they would have given my dog a treat, provided a water bowl, etc. I'm not sure why management can't buy doggie treats in bulk for $30 and hand out a treat for four legged guests. I also wished they provided some sort of booklet of things to do around the area. On the day we checked out we found a playground attached to a dog park a block and a half away from the hotel. I wish we would have been told about that or that they could have placed a binder in the room for places of interest. These little things go a long way. The nightly rate wasn't cheap so I expect a little more in terms of customer service. Prior to our stay in Vancouver, we stayed at a Kimpton hotel in Portland with comparable nightly rates and superior customer service.

We've traveled to Vancouver numerous times and stayed at other hotels. I really liked our renovated room and the fact that it had a mini kitchen with brand new appliances, however I thought it was overpriced and can use some customer service to make us feel a bit more welcome. I would consider staying again if we found a good deal on the nightly rate.

P.S. Parking rate was really reasonable ($19/night) however there was a $3.99 parking tax fee so we paid about $24/night for parking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seattle2sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and location, but am sorry to hear you were disappointed in our information and guest services. We do offer maps at the front desk and our associates are all "local experts". We have individualized recommendation cards from each associate (including me!) on our favourite local sights and eateries. We also have a local information channel in the rooms (we try to minimize paper/booklets etc, as part of our environmental policy). Thank you for your suggestion on services for pets - we will create a recommendation card for our four legged guests in light of that.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I arrived early (10:30 am) on July 21st and our room was ready and check-in was fast! We had a room on the 14th floor in the back of the hotel overlooking the city. It was very spacious with a king size bed small kitchenette complete with a good sized refrigerator, microwave,coffee maker, hot water maker for tea, plenty of pots/pans dishes etc. if you wanted to cook a meal. There was a large desk and a very nice bathroom with shelves above the toilet to put your personal items along with drawers under the vanity. The shower was great!

The buffet breakfast was wonderful! There were always some kind of eggs, potatoes and either sausage or bacon and usually pancakes or french toast. There is a "make your own" waffle station complete with strawberry or caramel sauce (whipped cream), oatmeal, cereals, yogurt, fruit, breads, croissants. I especially loved the chocolate croissants! And, juice, coffee and tea are provided. Coffee and tea are always available to guests the entire day (and hot chocolate).

If you walk out the door and turn left on Hornby Street and walk to the end, you can get the Aquabus (for a fee - $9? round trip) to Grandville Island where there is a wonderful market and nice shops.

Vancouver is a very walkable city and we walked everywhere and saw every part of the city. We did drive to Stanley Park on the last day since we were leaving to go to Whistler.

We highly recommend this hotel!! You won't be disappointed!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lyoder11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
What a wonderful description of our suites, breakfast and location. So glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Vancouver.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, CA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel has a good location one block away from Vancouver's West End and central Davie Street. We were given a high floor (12) so that we'd have a nice view, and we did. The corridors to the rooms are narrower than we're used to, but that does lend an intimate and exclusive feel, and certainly didn't inhibit us from getting to the room. The room we had was a 2 queen configuration, and was nice and large. There was also a very nice desk with a view out the window of the city, as well as a large flat screen television, comfortable seating, and a kitchenette with a short countertop for dining. There was sufficient closet space to stow all the suitcases, and just enough drawer space to unpack our family of four for the three nights we were going to stay. This time of year, it stays light late (just about 10 pm) so the fact that the curtains were blackout was a good thing in order to encourage sleep for the youngest.
This hotel features a nice breakfast buffet, with eggs, some breakfast meat (we had bacon, canadian bacon, and some kind of sausage patty - maybe chicken sausage), cold cereal and oatmeal, waffle irons, pastries, yogurt, fruit, juices, coffee and tea. It was nice, and though busy, there seemed to be room for everyone in the hotel to find a seat at a table,
We found the location to be a good starting point for exploring the Vancouver region - near the fantastic Stanley Park (though don't try the main route to get there during commute hours; take Davie or Drake instead to avoid the main road), Lyon bridge that gets you to West and North Vancouver (with Grouse Mountain, Capilano Suspension Bridge) or even to drive over to the Tsawassen ferry to visit Victoria.
The room itself was large enough to not feel cramped, and was very clean. The bathroom was spotless, with good water pressure and temperature in the shower. The kitchen had really nice new appliances and we enjoyed having a refrigerator for snacks and drinks.
The swimming pool is indoor, and the room it's in is very warm, almost like a sauna. Just come prepared. The swimming pool is adjacent to a nice gym that had nobody in it each night we were at the pool.
This was a very nice facility that we would definitely consider for our next trip to Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunbunny31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
What a great review with amazing detail. As you are a repeat explorer of Vancouver, let me recommend Granville Island for your next trip - take a False Creek ferry (pick up 2 blocks from the hotel) that does a loop that includes the Planetarium, the Maritime Museum, the Vancouver Museum, Granville Island, Science World and drops you back off on this side of False Creek. The ferry ride itself is great fun, and the stops are too!

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Comfortable living space with a beautiful view and kitchen counter space. I would highly suggest this hotel for visiting families and groups. Though they were performing renovations downstairs, the area was still relatively modern with contemporary designs. There's a spacious pool area as well. I really enjoyed how close this hotel was to Oil Town. It was also just a short trek down to the harbor and park areas for an enjoyable stroll.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindyHopped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear LindyHopped,

Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us again! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our location is perfect for Davie Village, Yaletown, Robson Street and even Gastown! Hope to see you again on your next visit.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1234 Hornby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1W5, Canada (Formerly Cascadia Hotel & Suites)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn(R) by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, located on Hornby Street, is the only branded all-suite hotel in Downtown Vancouver. The Residence Inn by Marriott is designed to provide travelers with everything they need to thrive on longer stays with special features including enhanced work desks, ergonomically designed chairs and luxury bedding. Hotel amenities include an indoor heated pool and an outdoor terrace garden equipped with a BBQ grill and fire pit. This extended stay hotel offers spacious suites ranging from 420 sq ft to over 800 sq ft with fully equipped kitchens, free WiFi and in-room high-speed internet access, and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Marriott, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascadia Hotel And Suites
Cascadia Hotel Vancouver
Residence Inn Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing